We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view of the Cochin bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Save Saved
You added The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Ernakulam
MUMBAI
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome view of the Cochin bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Gateway Hotel is a relative old property of Taj but is very strategically located in Kochi. The rooms facing the bay offer an amazing view of the harbour and the sea. The rooms are well maintained and spacious. Sleep quality is excellent. Bathroom are neat, clean and have all the basic amenities. They have to restuarants - Multi cuisine at the ground floor and Pan Asian at the 1st floor. Both of them offer good variety of food. Service is excellent. Only posssible drawback is that the rooms are slightly expensive as compared to similar properties across the country.

Room Tip: Ckose higher floor rooms facing the bay / sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    153
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
94
71
34
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Decent , but dont expect 5 star treatment . Please dont get confused between taj and gateway group. Service is not that great , but its average . Ive been here many times , mostly found it empty. We can loiter anywhere in the building , this shows weak security. Food is average. Rooms are pretty expensive if you dont book in advance. Also pls dont choose this place for weddings , the food can be disastrous

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one day and I have decided that i will never stay in this hotel again. This is a hotel constructed by the Govt. of Kerala and given it on lease to TAJ. In the toilet/bathroom no mug was available. I think the tata's wants us (Indians) to clean in the western way after using the toilet as we are supposed to use tissue paper only. No mug or bucket or hosepipe was available. I can understand their way of aping the westerners in every way as they are still slaves to Europeans in their mentality and that is why when they tried to takeover some western hotel chain, the western owners of that chain made fun of them and refused to treat them as equals.
In India, we should not allow this slavishness to western methods any more. I request all patriotic Indians to boycott these type of hotel who thinks they are there only to cater foreigners!

Room Tip: Never stay in this hotel unless they change their attitude towards Indian customs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was staying in this hotel with a 8 month old baby, i will recommend this to anyone with a small child or without, the staff will go the extra mile to make you comfortable, special mention to the room service and the restaurant where we got the baby food heated to the correct temperature and with a smile.
Only drawback was the booking of the hotel itself, i tried to do it through the hotel website but was told the rooms was not available and even called the hotel for booking, but was not available, but through some of the hotel booking sites i was anyway able to book it.

for foreigners who are used to a big swimming pool at a 4 or 5 star hotel, at this hotel swimming pool is a small pool, because most Indian customers do not use it, and they have somehow covered it up from public eyes, which is good and an issue in India.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First time at a Gateway, was a good and nice stay. Rooms were comfortable, and the new asian restaurant is a must try. Heard it opened very recently, sure it will do very well. The bar too looked great though did not get a chance to have a drink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivakasi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Being a Taj property my expectations were high. They disappointed with the room being too small. I stayed with my wife and kid and thus it was too small for comfort. However the service was excellent and the food was divine. swimming pool was pretty ordinary though. At this price and the taj name, it is not up to the standards. Only the staff service saved this hotel. I can honestly say everyone had willing smiles and help was offered at every opportunity. Overall a good stay, could have been better if the rooms were better.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room, the view is too good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

When we stay over in the Kochi area, we always stay at the Gateway in Ernakulam. This time we spent two days over Christmas and had a delightful time. Our 6th floor room overlooked the harbour, a great view; the staff, as everyone has mentioned, are superb; being Christmas they had a great dinner buffet with both Indian and traditional fare. I should also say that the kitchen staff produce a great buffet, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Being in holiday mood, we took the harbour boat cruise and watched the sun setting behind the Chinese fishing nets.

Situated on Marine Drive, shops, restaurants and activities are just a short auto ride away, and at the ferry terminal on Marine Drive you can hop on a ferry across to Fort Kochi.

Comfortable room, great staff, excellent food, central location, oh and the occasional cocktail, is why we always come back..

Room Tip: Harbour view, as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#1 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.