We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Stay and Nearby Shopping Period!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent for Stay and Nearby Shopping Period!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a 5 hour car trip from Vivanta Taj Resort in Kovalom, I arrived tired and haggard at the Gateway Hotel.

I am pleased to say the from the Hotel Management to the Room Service staff to Dining Room staff; my stay was positively relaxing and memorable.

I would particularly like to thank Jaffar Ali (Executive Chef and his staff) for a memorable dinner and service. Also the General Manager S.D. Sharma for running a seamless operation.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Gateway for your stay in Kochi/Erankulam. Also, note the superb location for shopping. I highly recommend getting your "Spice" needs from the GM store (Gujarti Store), which is only 100 metres from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Superb location for shopping. I especially recommend getting your Spice needs from the GM store (Guj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    209
    51
    17
    4
See reviews for
132
102
41
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi, Kerala, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Taj gateway hotel is the best hotel to stay and meet your business clients. The location at the picturesque marine drive in the centre of city makes the hotel the primary choice of my business meetings inside city. The decor and the premises are up to date. The three great dining options Sian the pan Asian restaurant the bubble cafe and the Deli coffee shop makes the experience a real treat for the taste buds. The staff is very friendly and helpful to make your stay the best business stay ever. I always recommend Taj Gateway for my patients from abroad for a good stay and dining experience

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We called in at the coffee shop on our return visit to India and Kochi.. this has always been a good place for a coffee and ice cream... (we do also stay at the hotel from time to time) .. it was so disappointing.. the ice cream selection was poor and was melting... we had some and the waitress told me it was almond fudge.. but when I tasted it .. it was coffee ... I said that to her and she disputed it and said it was definitely almond fudge... I said no it was not.. by now the chef joined in and said it was the way they burnt the almond... eventually they looked at the box and it was coffee... but no apology.. no offer to replace... It was not a big deal but it was just the nature of the interaction is not what I would expect from a hotel like this...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A business hotel with great views, a small pool and a large restaurant. The main feature of our (smallish) room was a glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom - just why would you? At least there is a blind that could be operated electronically between the two sheets of glass. The rooms are also equipped with home cinemas (luckily neither of our neighbours availed themselves of this facility).

The staff here are extremely solicitous and keen to practice their English. Chatting to one of them revealed that they offered a complimentary sunset cruise around the harbour, which was well worth doing, even if it did take more like two hours than the one suggested.

A good spot for a touch of high end luxury.

Room Tip: Try and get a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Right smack on the marine drive in Kochi, we had a short but memorable stay here. The untrammelled view of the Arabian Sea was magnificient. Rooms were compact, but very clean and smart. Good dining options too. Staff were courteous and went out of their way to provide assitance and at the same time respected our privacy. Typical Taj, and better than most Vivantas I have stayed at. Definitely has good repeat value, and I would not hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A beautiful hotel with large,well appointed and comfortable rooms which has the best customer care I have ever encountered. Our room (Sea view, Queen) had a fantastic view over Kochi harbour. We were treated one night to a spectacular storm and spent hours watching the power of nature displayed before us.
Staff could not have been more helpful in every way, from the smiling and ever cheerful Daisy and Francis at the entrance to all management,they could not be faulted.
Food was good, especially the lunch buffets. Only slight let down was the pool which was very shallow and quite cold. Otherwise, first class.

Room Tip: Worth the little extra for a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On a business trip to Cochin stayed here. On arrival got a welcome drink with the evergreen Taj warmth but did prefer a glass of water. The room was a bay view. The small balcony was real awesome to stand and watch the sodium vapor lamps from the port. The marine drive adjacent to the hotel is a "must do activity", took a walk along the promenade. There is a short cut to the marine drive through a small gate which was opened with a smile. The breakfast menu was a mix of Indian and Western offerings and was really awesome. The best part is the view from the restaurant. Overall a fantastic stay. Will recommend strongly.
The only negative was the TV - most of the channels were blocked as I wanted to desperately tune in as there was some issue back in Mumbai. It was reported and corrected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.