We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Save Saved
You added The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Ernakulam
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Practically perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A beautiful hotel with large,well appointed and comfortable rooms which has the best customer care I have ever encountered. Our room (Sea view, Queen) had a fantastic view over Kochi harbour. We were treated one night to a spectacular storm and spent hours watching the power of nature displayed before us.
Staff could not have been more helpful in every way, from the smiling and ever cheerful Daisy and Francis at the entrance to all management,they could not be faulted.
Food was good, especially the lunch buffets. Only slight let down was the pool which was very shallow and quite cold. Otherwise, first class.

Room Tip: Worth the little extra for a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    152
    37
    14
    2
See reviews for
95
72
34
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On a business trip to Cochin stayed here. On arrival got a welcome drink with the evergreen Taj warmth but did prefer a glass of water. The room was a bay view. The small balcony was real awesome to stand and watch the sodium vapor lamps from the port. The marine drive adjacent to the hotel is a "must do activity", took a walk along the promenade. There is a short cut to the marine drive through a small gate which was opened with a smile. The breakfast menu was a mix of Indian and Western offerings and was really awesome. The best part is the view from the restaurant. Overall a fantastic stay. Will recommend strongly.
The only negative was the TV - most of the channels were blocked as I wanted to desperately tune in as there was some issue back in Mumbai. It was reported and corrected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very warm welcome on arrival by Guest Relations executives ( GRE's) Jayashree and Chinju.They also looked after our needs during our stay and were always friendly and courteous.Room allocated was very good on 1st floor but due to noisy huge extractor fan operating outside above kitchen just below our room it was not comfortable on first night but they promptly change to a better room at a higher level .Room was spacious very very good ammenities.

As it was my wife's birthday during our stay Jayashree and rest of the team organised a surprise birthday cake for her and we were very greatful for this extra effort they put in to help us celebrate this special occassion.We are very thanful to the whole team in Gateway.

The Bubbel cafe was very modern and food was good but expensive.As we were vegetarians we had to make special requests for our meals and at times chefs were were very polite and said they would provide the meal requested but when brought out iit was different to what was requested.Staff in the restuarant were helpful but at times they lacked attentiveness.and had to request for items that should have been provided as part of the meals.Catering manager Deepak was helpful and looked after our needs as best as nhe could.

The whole team at Gateway were very helpful and made our stay there very comfortable and pleasant and we would certainly go there again.Our sincere thanks to GRE's Jayashree,Chinju and Reema.Also duty manager Mithun,Karthika in cafe,and all service staff

Room Tip: Rooms at higher level on the left facing the sea are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was an extremely pleasant experience staying at The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam. The trident staff are amazing and prepaired to go the little bit extra to make you stay as perfect as possible. the rooms were clean the facilties clean and the food was fantastic. We ordered breakfast to be packed and the chef who prepared it for us did it with "Patience" and one of the most delicious sandwich we had and Club sandwich is one of my favorite wherever I travel and this was one of the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We prebooked this hotel via, hotels.com and drove down from alleppey. From check-in till checkout everything was handled with promptness and efficiency. housekeepers, restaurant personnel and front office- every one seems to be taking that extra mile to make us comfortable. it was very important to us as we were travelling with our baby boy who was 3 months old then. the only itch on this hitch was non-availability of baby sitter when ever we requested for one. however while we were having our breakfast the restaurant hostess offerd to take care of him which we politely refused. food is delicious. the breakfast buffet could use some sausages and waffles and pancakes. (i wonder why they were missing)

Room Tip: we paid for sea view, but they all are harbour view except a few. so choose carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there as a whole group as part of a wedding celebration. the staff were extremely helpful.They even arranged for a beautician at the last minute. The breakfast buffet had great variety and the view outside simply wonderful. Only concern was the size of the suites. They were pretty cramped up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Location of the hotel is very good, its very close to Shopping Centre and next to the sea. we had taken the 2 sea view rooms, 1 suite and 1 superior deluxe room, for which they charge more than the rooms on the other sides. The rooms are neat and cozy, well equipped, with all basic amenities and essentials, the suite is a bit small and doesnt serve any pupose . The harbour view from the large glass windows which are safely sealed is really good. One can see 1.the ships in the sea, 2. the ferries plying to and fro carrying trucks with goods from the ship can be seen all through the day, 3. fishermen on their boats with fishing nets.
But, the sea is dirty and filled with weeds, so dont expect the feel of staying next to a blue sparkling clean sea with beautiful waves and dolphins splashing in the waters.Even in the nights, i could not see nice lights or the light house or the flash lights.
But there is a beautiful walking street behind the Hotel, between the sea and the Hotel. if you tell the hotel staff they will open the locked gate for you, when you come back , you will have to ring the tiny bell. On the walking street you can sit on those benches, take a walk in the evening and from this walking street one can enter all the small malls next to the hotels.
The restaurant - "Bubble Cafe" is cozy and is located with sea view and the quality of food is good, but, nothing extra ordinary. the staff is sweet, specially the cute smiling girls in kerala sarees. The recreation area needs a lot more than just table tennis, carrom and Playstation (My nephew will not agree me on this, This is all he wanted-A Playstation-:)).
Overall it was a nice and pleasant stay. We Liked it! We will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam

Address: Marine Drive, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682 011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Ernakulam Kochi
Taj Residency Ernakulam Hotel Kochi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.