We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel in the middle of Cochin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel to your Saves list
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vivekananda Lane, Near MG Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ernakulam
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel in the middle of Cochin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was my second stay at Beaumonde The Fern since the first time was such a good experience and at such an amazing price. I'm happy to say that my second stay lived up to the first one. This time I stayed for two nights and was able to make use of the excellent roof top pool facilities which is a great place to go to watch the sunset in the evening. I would reiterate what another reviewer has written and request that they install some more heavy duty barriers around the roof though as it's not very child friendly at the moment. They could also make it a little better if they had a bar and food service up on the roof!

Once again the food was great, the breakfast buffet might not be as lavish as larger hotels, but the food is excellent, especially the omelettes! When we arrived, the receptionist that greeted us was pleasant and helpful. We even got upgraded to a suite room which was awesome and totally unexpected! We ordered room service which took a little while to come, but we were ordering for 8 of us!

Last time I rated this hotel with 5 stars, this time I'm giving it 4 stars because there is some wear and tear, particularly on the carpets, in the rooms and the tiling around the pool. That said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    62
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
34
31
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
pune
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had been staying at this hotel on a business tour. The hotel location is very good, very near to the Main Market i.e MG road and Station. The hotel look is quite modern and soothing. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Though I did not like the food. Also the Spa was not there which is surely a turn off. Overall a satisfactory stay

Room Tip: Overall an OK hotel to choose for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests and we are glad that you found our staff very helpful and attentive during your stay with us and your comment will be a great motivation for all staff.

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Near M G Road alwYs catches ur imagination as being central! Central it was but too. Lose to the railway lines in a byline which looks shady! The Gym was hardly ready and u have to be careful not to bump your head while going there!
After pouring out some bath gel I realized that there is no place to keep the bottle, so I had to keep it on the floor
Otherwise the ambiance was ok but reception also acts as telephone operator and hence check Chechi out was clearly an ordeal

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Overall the stay for one night was ok. The interior of the hotel is great, and the rooms are spacious and well organized. Unfortunately we had a room towards the backside of the building where a pump or a generator created a strange penetrant sound. Luckily it stopped at nighttime. The food a la carte was great. The really negative I want to mention is the staff at the restaurant. One guy and two women were arguing in front of the guest who is doing what job, instead of passing the orders to the kitchen. Even when it took quite a while (50minutes) that food was ready they were busy on the phone or watching news on the tv instead of serving immediately. Us and other guests had to ask them several times until they payed attention and take up orders. No smile from staff at all...
The pool is good. Only concern was the safety for children, as they can easily lean over the balustrade which would lead to a fall from the 8th floor. Please install a railing!!
Overall good food, nice room but useless staff at the restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had booked this hotel through make my trip after a long research done on web. I had read lot of mixed reviews about this hotel, some people loved it and some didn't. We are very satisfied with this hotel. The location of this hotel is little turn off, as it is bang opposite to Ernakulam Junction, but rest all other things are of 4 star standards. Rooms are very spacious, We had booked wintergreen room, it has 1 bedroom and 1 living room, both rooms has seperate TV, this room has 2 washrooms. The food is very good, When we travel to places, we like to eat local cuisines, so we had good food here. I have read some reviews about food here, some people were not satisfied with the food here, but we did not face any problem. Staff is very helpful and cordial.

Room Tip: Winter Green room 301, it has 2 bathroom, with a family it is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Excellent hotel good location a walk to the main shopping areas.Hotel is clean & modern rooms.The staffs at the restaurant are very friendly and always serving with a smile.Breakfast&Dinner spread has excellent choices.We will definetely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DILEEPCHANDRAN, Front Office Manager at Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank for giving us an opportunity to serve you. It was our pleasure having you here and getting a feedback like this always motivates the team. I am glad that you enjoyed hotel services. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests

We pay lot of attention to all our staying guests to ensure that they are very well looked.

It is our pleasure to serve you in our hotel and we will continue this good work.

Thanks & Regards,
Dileep Chandran
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel

Address: Vivekananda Lane, Near MG Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEAUMONDE The Fern - First 5 star Ecotel hotel in Kochi boasts 70 aesthetically designed environmentally friendly rooms, 2 dining options – Cilantro (Multi Cusine Restuarant) & Gravity (The First Resto Bar in the City), Mordernized equipped Health Club, Infinity Swimming pool with prodigious entire city view. The property is equipped with eco-friendly toiletries and amenities, energy-saving lights and panels.The spacious air-conditioned rooms at the hotel come with a 32-inch flat-screen TV, a Minibar, an electronic safe, Iron and Iron Board, Weigning Scale, Powder Room, an elegant bathroom equipped with a hairdryer and magnifying mirrors. An executive Fern Club to enjoy club lounge access and benefits like internet access and dining.Beaumonde The Fern Hotel is located about 35 km from Cochin International Airport and 5 km from Vallarpadam Container Terminal. Kochi Infopark is about 8 km away.The hotel has a travel desk and a business centre, 2 conference halls to take care of your business needs.The Cilantro, the hotel’s all-day dining Multi Cusine Restaurant serves a selection of international dishes with Indian specialities.Gravity The Restobar with inbuilt live kitchen serves grilled foods and a wide variety of selection of beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.