We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Grove Service Villa -- like an oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove Service Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Grove Service Villa to your Saves list
Palm Grove Service Villa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kottarathil, market road , Edappally , Cochin | Cochin, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682024, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free WI FI
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ernakulam
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Palm Grove Service Villa -- like an oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I really liked this place. It’s one of the few places in India that I relied 100% on TA reviews and came in with high expectations and they were met. I booked online and things went smoothly. I needed to arrive late in the evening and the management assured me it would be possible, and then they were very helpful at midnight when I rolled in with my family of four. Management and staff were always helpful and friendly. They helped us arrange a car/driver and tour through the tea plantations of Munnar, Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary, and a houseboat.

The rooms, basic and of average size, were spotless – I was in the new wing opened up in late 2013 – both times that I stayed here (beginning and end of Kerala leg of our five week trip). Other reviews complain of mosquitoes, and yes, there are mosquitoes, but Kerala in general has mosquitoes, they come with the territory. The rooms all have good (cleverly designed) screen mesh and the doors have screen doors; we never saw one inside our room.

There is wireless by the office and supposedly they have it in the new wing too, though TBH I was never able to access it. So for now you just have to sit by the office and check your email, not the end of the world. There is also an internet café (so so) across the street.

The owner of the hotel appears to be investing heavily in the hotel and you can see improvements all about. The grounds of the hotel are very pretty with a wide variety of tropical plants and herbs, many of them labeled in English. A couple of bird cages and even a rabbit pen give the kiddies something to look at. There’s even a badminton court.

I would most definitely visit this place again. My only real complaint is that I wish there was some capacity for coffee or tea in the morning, be it self-serve or otherwise. Though there are numerous restaurants nearby where you can eat. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay and very good value for the money.

===============================

Background of our trip through India: my wife and I traveled with our two kids, ages 6 & 7, through India for five weeks in Dec 2013/Jan 2014. On two legs of our trip we hired a car and driver, and took trains and taxis for the other parts of the trip. We are Americans, but live outside of the US in a third world country. When looking for a hotel, cleanliness is a prime consideration for us, followed by location and price. I always appreciate a place that appears to have friendly and responsive management. We consider ourselves to be ‘budget travelers’, but now that we have kids and are more fastidious about cleanliness, we have upped the budget a bit and no longer go for the absolute cheapest option that Lonely Planet and/or Trip Advisor have to offer.

On our trip through Rajasthan, we were rather cold during the evenings and found rooftop/outdoor restaurants to be often to chilly to eat in. Not that it is so incredibly cold in Rajasthan, but we live in a hot climate, so we have become unaccustomed to it being so cold.

When we were with a car and driver, we stayed at hotels for 1-2 night in each city, and the hotel was chosen for us by the tour agency, so we were not aware of the price of the room. However, the quality of the rooms was comparable to what we would have chosen anyways. To give you an idea of our budgetary considerations, in Delhi, Goa, and Mumbai, we were paying about 2000-2900 rupees per night for our family of four, often in a room with one large bed, or a medium size bed with a mattress on the floor, or sometimes three twin-sized beds. Outside of these cities, this type of room seemed to be priced at 1500-2000.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for sparing time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.It is really nice to know that you had a pleasant experience at Palm Grove and that we were able to meet your expectations. l appreciate your compliments about our staff and the same has been shared with all the staff members. We have recently installed WiFi in our new block also.So now the entire property is WiFi.Recently we started a coffee shop also. We are really honoured to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back to our villa during your next visit to Kochi.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    61
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
25
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gandhidham, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Palm grove service villa has , cool comfortable n green property, reasonably in the middle of crowded city, have nestled few birds n a fish pond among other amenities which includes a badminton court, courteous n cooperative staff ready to help always, its tariff is okay , comparing what is on offer, what it lacks is in house dining, I wish Mr . Francis will take note,
all in all nice stay.

Room Tip: Near badminton court
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for taking time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a nice stay at Palm Grove. Thanks for your encouraging feedback . I really appreciate your compliments about our team and the same has been shared with all the staff members.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and sincerely look forward to welcome you back in our villa.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Location is good to lulu mall but far away from fort kochi,but can get transport to all places.
service is nil we have to ask to front room each and everything.Accomadation quiet simple and clean,water for bathing is bad quality need to improve

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to know that you liked the cleanliness of the room.We strive to offer you the very best of services, somehow we couldn’t live up to your expectation and I regret that. Ours is a budget accommodation,not fancy but down to earth with neat and clean rooms surrounded by greenery. We see to it that our guests have a comfortable stay . For any assistance or service the guests have to ask the front office and we immediately do the needful. As far as the quality of water is concerned , we provide water supplied by Kerala Water Authority and till now nobody has brought up such an issue . Anyway I will look into the matter.We really value our guest's reviews as it help us to provide better service in future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the entire place for family and friends to stay during my wedding and for the guests who were from TN, Maharashtra etc, Palm Grove was invariable one of the highlights of the trip. Rooms are very neat and clean, the gardens are beautiful and serene, pet animals and birds are well taken care of and add to the beauty of the place. The staff was very helpful and cooperative. We got food catered for all the guests as there is no restaurant or tea/coffee service. The staff did help with getting some tea/coffee for the guests on order.

This is like a piece of the heaven that is Kerala well preserved in a quite property in the middle of the city.

This place only lacks a restaurant... At least a pantry with some basic tea/coffee and snacks could add much value. There may be many more improvements that can be done here. Nonetheless, our experience was par excellence and undeniably fulfilling.

Much more value than money can buy.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with mosquito nets for doors and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Palm Grove for your family and friends to stay during your wedding. It is indeed a delight to have your valuable feedback and we really appreciate the time you spent for posting a great review of our vila on Trip Advisor.I am glad to know that you had a fulfilling experience at Palm Grove.You have mentioned that our place only lacks a restaurant. I am happy to let you know that we have recently started a small coffee shop. Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

The stay is very comfortable, homely environment and good service.
if one has a very short stay at Kerala, then its one of the suitable location, strategically located In the main city
The environment makes it all the more special for group or family stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay at Palm Grove. We look forward to welcome you back to our villa. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgaum, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good to stay. Yes I would stay again definitely. But needs atleast telephone in room (I had to go down to the reception everytime I wanted to tell them small things). Yet the servicing people are kind and humble.As I had read on the trip advisor review, the water in bathrrom was very slow and my shower not repaired for 3 days. They did not serve tea on any day inspite of telling they will. But still the rooms are very clean and I had a good stay. My purpose of visit was official work. Thanks Palm Groove. Yes but scope for improvement present.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same. Ground floor better to choose if you want AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a good stay at Palm Grove.Regarding the telephone that you have mentioned in the review , we have provided the office contact numbers in all the rooms. You have mentioned that the shower in your room was not repaired for 3 days. Whenever guests complain about anything ,we try to rectify it as soon as possible.This is a very serious lapse from the staff's side and the matter has been taken up very seriously. Sorry for the inconvenience. Tea /coffee is served in room only when the guest asks for it.We are really honoured to have you stay with us and please do come back to stay at our villa the next time you are in Kochi. Assuring you the best of attention and service at all times.

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 days. Rooms are shiny and new and definitely very clean. Very close to the Edapally Toll (we got down from our Bus and walked to this place). Points to keep in mind:
1. They don't accept Credit/Debit Cards (there is no display and I had to run to an ATM at the last moment).
2. They don't have any eatery in the premises but plenty of options at a stone's throw. You can get Tea/Coffee ordered to your room.
3. Although the place is around 10Kms from Marine Drive and Broadway, there is pretty good connectivity in terms Buses and Auto-rickshaws. We didn't face any problems.
4. If you want non-ac rooms, you have to tell the management multiple times. Initially they said there were no non-ac rooms available. Otherwise management is nice and helpful.

They have a nice Badminton Court. Though they have a so called Garden, but there's no Grass (only Gravel). Also seeing so many birds in cages made me sad... If the management is reading this, please free the birds..
Management discourages open consumption(in the garden or courtyard) of alcohol, so it's a good, no-nonsense place.
Overall the place will give you a pleasant, quite stay.

Room Tip: Both AC & Non-AC rooms are available. You may have to them multiple times if you want a non-ac r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmGroveKerala, Owner at Palm Grove Service Villa, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Greetings from Palm Grove service villa. Thank you very much for choosing our villa for your stay in Kochi and for your valuable review on Trip Advisor. I am really happy to know that you had a pleasant and quiet stay at Palm Grove. Regarding the issue of Non A/C room , none of the Non A/C rooms might have been vacant at the time of your checking in . If it was available at that time then we would have happily allotted it to you. Anyway sorry for the inconvenience. Looking forward to welcome you back in our villa in future.

Warm regards
Francis

Warm regards
Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Grove Service Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Service Villa

Address: Kottarathil, market road , Edappally , Cochin | Cochin, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682024, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Grove Service Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove service villa - is a budget accommodation located at Edappally , a fast growing suburb of Cochin. This is not a conventional Inn. It is an ancestral house which has been renovated into 6 A/C and 7 non A/C rooms with all modern facilities. The house is on a 1 acre beautiful property with coconut palms, many exotic plants and trees with a small vegetable farm in the backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Grove Service Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove Service Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.