We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a quite area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deshadan Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deshadan Plaza to your Saves list
Deshadan Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Avenue Road | Near Passport Office, Panampilly Nagar, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682036, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ernakulam
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a quite area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed there for a night. Rooms were big and clean and staffs were helpful. The breakfast was very nice. We also enjoyed our dinner in their restaurant. The rooms don’t have wifi connection. The nearest taxi stand is about 3km from the hotel. Other than this I found this hotel excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your comments.

We have taken note on the WI -FI concern; necessary remedies will be taken to rectify it.

Looking forward to having your support at all times.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for a night during our Kerala tour in December.Rooms were neat and clean and staff were courteous.They allowed us to have a check in at 5:00 in the morning without any issue.
Their morning buffet is very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Deshadan Plaza is a perfect 1 night stay hotel in town.

We hope our valued guest can enjoy Deshadan hospitalizes at all times.

We thank you for your kind support and comments.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

If someone is looking for a place with clean and good rooms to crash just for a night and not expect any good staff response, then this is the place.

Pros:

# the rooms are clean
# the bathroom looks neat.
# located in a calm locality, so some peaceful sleep, that you are going to get.

Cons:

# poor room service - one masala tea took 40 min to reach the room, but the tea tasted good.

# the breakfast menu was horrible so we wanted to order apam nd stew which we couldnt because the dont take a la carte order for break fast. " EVEN IF YOU ARE READY TO PAY, YOU WONT GET WHAT YOU WANT FOR BREAK FAST"

# The staff wont give my sick wife even a coffee or tea at 22.40 becuase the restaurant closes by 22:30 and they say 24 hrs.

# if any of you hotel admin are reading this, please take action on a reception guy,, who is dark nd has a mustuche, he is showing too much attitude to the guests. All i asked was for some hot water which never reached the whole night.

Over all a poor experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Group but at the same time we are extremely sorry for spoiling your stay a Deshadan Plaza. We are getting the issues sorted out and we hope such incidents does not occur again.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Deshadan Plaza for 2 nights, once while starting our vacation in Kerala and another night on the return journey. Both the rooms provided were excellent. The rooms were clean and had all the required ammenities. The staff was also attentive and friendly.
The food quality was decent - could have been better.
I have a small child and the little play area in the restuarant was useful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Group.

Deshadan Plaza acts as the entry and exist point to Deshadan properties.

Looking forward to sharing Deshadan hospitalizes with all our guest.

Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

In brief:
1. Pillow covers which do not match
2. Bathroom exhaust does not work & no other opening.
3. No hand towels, inspite of reminder
4. Room looks like it had been converted from a open balcony. There are 2 exposed beams criss-crossing the ceiling. I doubt any architect could have designed this place
5. Lumpy mattress
6. No food (not even a sandwich) avbl. after 2230. But they advertise a 24hrs. restaurant. I even took a photo of the board advertising the same. Wonder where the same dissapeared to (photo attached)
7. Bed linen was unwashed and appeared reused. It also had a smell
8. Wi-fi is restricted to the minuscule lobby area
9. Wash Basin had no hot water connection
10. Breakfast choice was non-existent. Even what was avbl was of poor standard.

Room Tip: Do not go. I cannot suggest otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

At the moment we want to say Extremely sorry for the entire happenings.

We have taken note on the necessary remedies to be taken to overcome the issues.

Looking forward to serving you better during the next visit.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had a very good room (large with good AC and cable TV), the room had nice amenities, a very helpful staff that was very nice and assisted us with restaurant reservations, the only negative was that wi-fi was only in the lobby, but it worked well and was free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are thankful for your great comments and at the same time we have taken necessary steps to
clear the Wi- Fi problem.

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Group.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night in December 2012 and would definitely recommend it. Check in was fast and the room was spotless with a great bathroom. The geyser switch was in the room so we could have hot water whenever we wanted it. Staff at reception were friendly and very helpful with any queries. The hotel is located away from the main street which was great for us as we are both light sleepers - MG road is just a short rickshaw ride away

The only negative thing we have to say is the service at the restaurant was terrible. We had been travelling for more than 24 hours when we arrived in Cochin and were exhausted so we decided to just eat at the hotel restaurant. Even though there were only 2 others in the restaurant at the same time as us it took over an hour to bring us our food. Service at breakfast the following morning was no better - not a single person greeted us when we arrived, we had to try several times just to get their attention and then ask more than once for the same thing. Also no-one replenished items from the buffet until we asked multiple times. When we eventually got food, it was of good quality but the service was a big let down.

Overall, this is a great mid-range hotel and I would stay here again

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Plaza, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comments and but at the same time we had an eye opener with your concerns regarding the standard of service.

We are looking into all the angles to make sure Deshadan proves to be the best in town.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deshadan Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Plaza

Address: Main Avenue Road | Near Passport Office, Panampilly Nagar, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682036, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Deshadan Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Deshadan Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deshadan Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.