We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Winter Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lion Hotel
Main Street, Easenhall CV23 0JA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice Winter Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here on business third week December and stayed in one of the four poster rooms, which was quite pleasant.
Nice room with large bathroom well fitted out. Meals and bar area were welcoming and the food was very good. Ample parking although up a slight incline unless you can park at the front. It was raining when I arrived, so got wet unloading the car, but the warm room made up for it. I will be staying again.

Room Tip: A good choice of hotel for business or visting the area, well outside Rugby in the country nestled i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    34
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
13
39
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

A special occasion and we were cramped in a small space.
The staff could have been friendlier were not keen to go out of their way.
Food was average and a little over priced.
Would only go back to meet up again with family not because it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

this pub is situated in a very pretty village and is nicely presented inside and out. service was very good, and with a baby and rather large buggy in tow (which i'd forgotten to mention) they managed to find us a really decent sized table out of the way.
three of us went for the carvery- which was totally decent and a lot better than most i've been too. the fish and chips was apparently spot on, as was the brie sandwich, and the puddings were all demolished in no time.
nice pub, good service- even when very busy as it was- and good food. very nice, would definitely recommend and we'll pop in again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed overnight in one of the double poster bedrooms which was lovely, really homely, well furnished and very clean. We had an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant the food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. All the staff were really friendly and could not do enough for you, the service was excellant. Would highly recomend visiting both the hotel and restaurant, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good food, good beer with guest beers, lovely rooms with friendly staff who provide excellent service. Definitely one not to miss. Recommend the hot rocks restaurant at the end of the week, book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks Alec, great to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I arrived on Sunday eve, and was met promptly and shown to my room, which turned out to be spacious, clean, and very comfortable, with a very clean large bathroom, with a "proper" bath.
The bed was large and comfortable, soft duvet and pillows.
I ate in the restaurant and the sirloin steak was superb, absolutely melt in the mouth with lightly battered onion rings.
The second eve I had the pan fried hake with lumpfish sauce, a real revelation. Delicious.
The hosts/staff were marvellous and friendly very courteous.
I had full breakfast two mornings and it was great.
My only niggle( there's always one) and its minor in the scheme of things. The tv in my room was temperamental, with two controls, one for the tv and one for the digi box, both had backs missing so the batteries kept falling out, and the picture was poor and kept cutting out.
But the bar and company was very welcoming so watching tv was not a priority, but updated TVs would be welcome.
I stay in many hotels, and this is one of the nicest I have been in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks Ray for your positive feedback. You were right to point out your niggle with the TV and I have passed this on to the owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stay at the golden lion a couple of times a month for work and its become one of my favourite places to stay, the staff really make you feel at home and are very friendly, the rooms comfortable and the food great. My only criticism would be that the towels are very small, but that's nit picking, it's a great little hotel and worth going off the beaten track for

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your feedback Natalie, we want all our guests to be as comfortable as possible whether they are staying with us for business or on a romantic weekend away. Please ask at reception if you need anything and we will always try to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, Easenhall CV23 0JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Easenhall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the atmosphere of this 16th century village inn, its welcoming bar, range of traditional ales and delicious, freshly cooked food. Menus are available throughout lunchtime and evening, offering a wide range of food from light snacks to a la carte meals, complimented by an extensive list of fine wines. The en-suite bedrooms are individually styled to suit the character of this historic inn and have been rated 3 Stars by the AA. Two bedrooms feature Four Poster Bed and Spa Baths. A lovely rural location just 4 miles from Rugby, 13 miles from Coventry. Enjoy a romantic break with your partner, here in a beautiful tranquil village location. Package includes bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, three course dinner from our a la carte menu, one night overnight accommodation in one of our four poster bedrooms featuring a spa bath and traditional full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Rugby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.