We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklin Inn

Brooklin Inn
22 Reach Road, Rte. 175, Brooklin, ME 04616
207-359-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 restaurants in Brooklin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“okay stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had an okay stay here. The dinner was lovely and reasonably priced, but the breakfast was very inadequate and the room was small for the price.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    8
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Brooksville, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hardest trying place around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Chip the owner has offered quality food for years. Most local and/or organic. Puts his heart into everything. People just don't seem to find it or get it! Wine dinners are a blast. One the 11th of April/12. See you there.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Choose from cozy basement pub or fine dining upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We really like the Brooklin Inn and dine there frequently. The pub is relaxed, friendly and has a homey menu. Upstairs, is all about the fine dining. Fresh, local ingredients are showcased in a changing menu. Excellent wine list and Chip, the owner, can recommend just the right bottle. We have never been disappointed. Great place to take visitors summer and winter.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great wine list, but uneven food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was my first visit of the year to Brooklin Inn and on the night we were there it did not reach its previous standards. My expectations were high, based on last year's visit and while my blue fish was excellent, my wife's tuna was tasteless and cold. The mashed potatoes were lumpy and lukewarm, and our salads were disappointing. Service from our East European waitress was friendly enough, but she found it difficult to deal with our polite request for warmer vegetables. There is an excellent wine list that has an award from the Wine Spectator and mark-ups are fair. If they could tighten up on quality control in the kitchen, this would be a great place to eat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“Worth The Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Didn't stay in a room, but did stop in for dinner one night. Food was excellent. Wait staff was friendly and competent. Nice atmosphere. Quaint and charming setting. I did get the impression that the owner was a bit of a snob. Perhaps we were not dressed up to his standards as we sort of popped in after a day of sight seeing. Owner tried to oversell us. The bill was incorrect and he seemed to be reluctant to correct it. Got the impression he was a bit dishonest but could have just been a bad night for him. Visited the pub the next night. Barmaid was very friendly and competent. Met some good people at the bar. Good conversation. All in all a pleasant experience.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklin Inn also viewed

Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Brooklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.