We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maroma Beach Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Playa Maroma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Playa Maroma to your Saves list
Catalonia Playa Maroma
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal #307 | Pto Juarez Km 360.250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Maroma Beach Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed a week at this resort November 24th. The Staff at the resort are just great...Enrique, Alice, Roberto, Jesus...5 Star staff for sure!!!
The resort is Mexican style in decor and kept very clean. Not a modern resort...room had mini fridge with beer, pop and water. The beds were very comfortable. Our room was close to the beach and we booked with Expedia in the Privleged rooms. The beach was just wonderful...as mentioned by others. We were at the beach everyday!! They served drinks at the beach and the service was excellent!! We always gave a tip!
The buffet food was average...great cappuccinos and crepes by the beach!! Lunch at Tapas was yummy and a fabulous view! The Italian, Mexican and Steak House restaurants were very, very good. We found the service 5 star quality. We ordered wine from the Menu and it was great. We tipped well at these restaurants as the food and service we received was excellent!!
There were plenty of activities during the day if you wanted to join in and each night there was either a show in the theatre or music/acitivites in the Lobby Bar area,
We are Canadian but most of the people at the resort were from France or Italy. We would return to the resort if we were to great a great deal again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    1,245
    322
    147
    99
See reviews for
796
1,761
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled to Catalonia Playa Maroma (January 2011) with a group of 9 persons ( 2 middle aged couples, 14 and 16 year old kids and 21, 24 and 22 year old young adults) and we all loved practically everything in this hotel!

The location. We liked the fact that the hotel was a bit off from everything else. it was nice to be surrounded by trees and other plants! And if we wanted to go to Playa del Carmen, Cancun etc. the taxi was easy to get from the boys at the main entrance.

The rooms. All of the 4 rooms our group had we very tidy, lot of space and the cleaning ladies did a great job every day, no complaints! We had our rooms on the 1st floor but still we didn't have to worry about bugs or anything when we kept the terrace door open. Only guests we sometimes got in our terrace were the coatis that live in the hotel area but they went away quite easily if you wanted! The hotel seemed to locate the same nationalities in the same area, and for example we were in the same area with the other finnish and also swedish customers.

Hotel area. Pool area, lobby, beach were all clean and lovely. No complaints. There was so much staff all the time making sure everything was tidy! The beach is AMAZING! The best beach I have ever been to! The water, the sand.. everything! It was lovely to swim in the sea and we also saw starfish and small rays !

Restaurants.We only used the main buffet restaurant (breakfast, dinner) and the Tortuga (lunch, snacks). Oh and the Creperie near the pool! The crepes were delicious, I highly recommend! We found the buffet restaurant more than enough for us since there were different themes on different days and the food was always clean and tasty. We ate everything from seafood and chicken to raw veggies, eggs and dairy products and no-one got stomache ache. Especially the dessert buffet was excellent! I think I ate more desserts than anything else! :D

The staff. The receptionists, consierges, bell boys, cleaners, entertainers and all the others were friendly and helpful during our whole stay. We managed with english just fine. The only difficulties we had during our stay were when 2 of our group members (the 14 and 21 year old)) got sick (ears and throat) and needed antibiotics. The doctor was easy to get from the hotel and he even came to our room to check the boy since he was so sick. The doctor spoke english and we had no communication problems. We got the prescripton for the medicines and we were told to take it to the consierge and they would take care of everything. Well, they couldn't find the other medicine anywhere and it turned into a big mess because they charged us everything and so on... and made us actually pay 2 times and we rude and no apologies were given to us.. We went to Play del Carmen ourselves also and tried to find the missing medicine but they didn't have it anywhere! But the whole case was solved after we gave feedback in the general feedback paper they gave us one night at dinner. And already the next day they contacted us and wanted to talk to me (I gave the feedback) and everything was solved. It was great how fast they reacted to the feedback! Last something about the tips: when we gave our waiter a good tip once, we got such fast and good service and never had to ask for attention again..The service was good before the tip but excellent after!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We originally were staying at the catalonia yucatan. We arrived monday night, on tuesday around 4pm the power went out, at 9 pm the power was still out and there was no way to know when it would come on. After discussing with the manager Jamie at Riviera maya my husband requested that we would like to be transferred somewhere else, Jamie was very helpful. We were sent in a taxi, paid for by the hotel to the Catalonia Play Maroma. When we arrived it was late but we were greeted by Debora at the front desk who was sooo helpful and kind. Because the hotel was fully booked for the regular rooms, we were given the honeymoon suite, talk about being upgraded, it was only supposed to be for 2 days and then we were going to be given a regular room. But again it was fully booked so we got to stay for the whole time in this beautiful room, go online to view how nice it is. I reccommend taking a honeymoon there.

We never did swim in the pool, though it looked very nice. We spent the whole time on the beach.
It is sooo beautiful, Sand so smooth and white, Lots of lounge chairs to choose from, there are shaded area's. When you go out into the water about waist deep these nice white angel fish with black tipped fins may come and swim around you, it definately is a cool experience. There are no rocks or coral pieces to step on just smooth soft sand, the waves come crashing in but are not too big.

There are various free things to do there as well as paid for trips to sites.
I would recommend this place for singles, couples, and even families, many people from around the world were there, and alot of the staff speak 2 - 4 languages.
The jungle surrounding the buildings is real nice to walk through on the many paths winding from the rooms and reastraunts, the lobby is real nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kewaskum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at CPM from nov. 7-17 in the privileged part of the hotel,the check in for the privileged guests was a breeze as you were led to a separate room,a real plus since the last time we were their,3 years ago.Lots of improvements since then the best being the beach bar area with better outdoor seating & canvas shading above.Juan the beach bartender was by far the best we've ever experienced at any resort { spoke very good english and alway's winked when he saw us approaching}The staff couldn't have been better,the only issue we had was our refrigerator went out the second day,it was replaced within a couple of hours no big deal as we were at the beach anyway.As far as the food went the steakhouse was our favorite,the tenderloin was choice angus { I'm sure being formerly in the beef industry }The Mexican was second the pablano cream soup was outstanding. The buffet lacked flavor and was hard to be seated for breakfast 8:00 and no where to sit { the resort was 90% full,which was unusual for early Nov.}We didn't go to the shows as we were on the beach from 9:00-5:30 ,still the best beach around. Secrets Maroma was next door and for the price difference wasn't work it to us.The privileged guests also had their own beach if you preferred ,with a shorter walk to the beach. The drinks were never an issue, you just had to tell them to add more booze.One thing others have commented on was the drive in to the resort { a gravel & dusty road ,I say big deal }however they are putting in pavers which while we were there they made progress of about 20 yards.This paving will take some time to complete but the owners are very concerned about the overall appearance of the resort.Yes it was mostly Italian & French but they were more polite than our last visit.We met a lot of American's and some great people from Germany. The staff was really excited to talk to us as they are used to Europeans and this was actually a plus.The Maroma beach is still the best for beach walking,nice and wide and miles to walk. The specialty restaurants by the way you can wear anything but beach wear.We will be coming back as it was a flawless vacation.

Room Tip: stay in the privileged part of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Catalonia Priveleged beach. Our travel dates Nov 4th -16th 2012.
We booked with Expedia with the Catalonia priveleged side and was amazing!

Room:
Bathrobes, slipper, beer, pepsi, sprite, orange, water bottles, plasma t.v. turn down service.
Free Wi-Fi ( great connection)

Pros: Amazing room and maid service. Never out of towels.
Very comfortable double size beds

Buffet: Everything from Sushi to Italian, mexican, french theme food

A La Carte: Italian,(very good) Mexican
Service at a la carte , excellent !

Lobby service: great !

Animators: Carlo, Filippa, Nicole - Amazing hard working, pleasant and try very hard to fill out your day.

Gym: 1 treadmill , weights, (good a/c gym)

Aerobics: Zumba, bachata classes, spanish lessons given in the jacuzzi

Premises: Extremely clean. Coatis to be expected wondering around. Free Wi-fi all over resort.

Cons:
Beach chairs are mostly caved in. Need to be replaced. They added some type of sofa chairs 2 seater couch on the beach which was wasted money where they could have changed the chairs instead.

Bathroom: Poor shower pressure during our stay

Lobby desk: Did not accept american money to pay your bill.
Net should also be put around the lobby area to avoid coatis to jump on your table.

Animators: too many animators for the amount of people on the resort. They were only doing their job but there were days where we were constantly interupted to chat (although they did not know that only a few minutes before there was another animator with us.)

Priveleged desk: Misinformed us that we were offered a no charge upgrade to priveleged room, when we already paid for it.

N.B. If you reserved with Catalonia "Privileged" beach side you are entitled to what I described above.

I would definately recommend this hotel!

Thank you Catalonia for making our stay enjoyable !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4222(2nd floor) which is a quiet area and close to the pool and beach, but further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely resort, beautiful poolside beach,white sand. The beach games ,beach olympics, salsa,aquasise etc organised by the hotel animation team were great and the team did a very good job of getting everyone involved.
The hotel itself is very clean with large rooms and a walk in wet room type shower. Each room has a safe to keep your valuables in .
The main restaurant has a wide selection of food, all buffet style. They also have theme nights eg; mexican , Holloween night whilst we were there. There are also 3 other restaurants to eat in, the Mexican being especially good.
Most evenings the animation team put on dance shows which were excellent, well put together and performed. A great effort by everyone involved. :)
After each show there is a disco, also run by the animation team who dance with the holiday makers, which goes on until after midnight (as the hotel is spread out, the disco can't be heard from the bedrooms). The bar and it's staff are good and will serve till the early hours.
Anyone looking for more nightlife, there are nightclubs in Playa del Carmen, go by taxi.
All in all, it was an excellent hoilday, we were made very welcome by all the friendly staff . We were glad to have members of the animation team eating with us for most meals, Alice ,English, Jusus, and Brenda, both Mexican. They gave us tips of what trips to go on and what to see in the area etc, good company.
We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: standard room with a balcony are good,sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent 5 night trip. The beach is the reason we picked this resort and we were not disappointed. The restaurants could have a better quality of food. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The rooms were clean and well appointed ( the shower area could use some updating, the grout is a little dingy ). Yes there bugs and lizards and strange raccoon / monkey creatures. It is humid and you will get sand on all you clothes and in your shoes. Most days it's hot and it smells like ocean and dampness here. If you want to complain about those things you shouldn't be going to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Address: Carretera Federal #307 | Pto Juarez Km 360.250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Playa Maroma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.