We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 307, Kilometer 51 | Solidaridad, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Magical. Our experience at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa was perfect from start to finish. The staff is genuinely kind and attentive, food was inventive and amazing, grounds are fabulous and the beach is unbelievable. We will definitely return, hopefully frequently.

Room Tip: we loved being close to the main building, outdoor dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Jessica,

I always welcome and appreciate receiving feedback from our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our little paradise, Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa- It is with your encouraging comments that we are able to continue with our efforts of preserving this tiny piece of haven for your enjoyment.

We'll be waiting for your return to this your paradise home away from home.

Warm regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    95
    38
    29
    15
See reviews for
56
488
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I've been all over Mexico and had a hard time finding both charm and old world authenticity balanced with impeccable service and comfort. Maroma does it all. The service could not have been more personal, attentive and friendly. And the beach is one of the best in the world. Did i mention the food? luckily there's a gym as well :)

Room Tip: don't get a room near the bar area........ unless you plan to be one of the people who close it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and your pictures with our TripAdvisor community. There is nothing more satisfying than to learn our valued guests have enjoyed their vacation and that they have had a wonderful time in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa.

I will be very happy to share your kind words with the rest of our Maroma family.

Look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Until then, sunny greetings from this little piece of paradise,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June for a weeks holiday. The hotel is right on a beautiful stretch of beach, blue seas, white sands. However, what really sets this hotel apart is the service. All the staff are friendly, helpful and put service at the centre of what they do, without it being overly formal. We paid for a beach front room and were very glad we did, lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea. All the food we had was great and the breakfasts which were included were superb including freshly made tacos for breakfast. Played tennis, great courts and the beach bar was really good. The only down side is it is a long way to get into anywhere else to eat, but for a week not doing much but rest and relaxation it is perfect. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay in our little paradise. I appreciate feedback from our guests as this provides me with important information that is vital to our ongoing efforts of making Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa a unique and special haven for our guests enjoyment.

It's a pleasure to know that we have met your expectations and that you're planning to come back to your home away from home in the near future.

Sincerely,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This will be a short review. I have absolutely nothing but the best things to say about Maroma. I've been going there since 1997 and through all it's changes and expansions, it has remained a charming, unpretentious luxurious hotel. Many of the staff have been their for years. There's a great feeling of family and nothing is too much to ask for. I try to go every year for a little spa break. It's truly a wonderful place to unwind, heal your tired overworked body and soul and enjoy the amazing food, the amazing spa and the most beautiful beach in the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time of sharing your most recent experience of your stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. As you know I encourage and appreciate feedback from our loyal repeat guests as the information provided aids in our day to day efforts of making Belmond Maroma that special haven you so much enjoy year after year.

Comments such as yours uplift our team’s spirit making all efforts to provide our valued guests such as yourselves with the very best in personalized service and attention our day to day goal. We all be very happy to know you have once again left with great memories and even happier to know you will be coming back in the near future to this your paradise home away from home.

Until then, warm regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a perfect getaway. We found it in Maroma. Perfect beach, phenomenal food-breakfast is FANTASTIC with the homemade tortilllas, service is outstanding. In addition, the property is very special. So pretty and many beautiful surprises at every turn. And a very nice tennis court. We will be going back soon.!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty good---we loved facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with the huge community of TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind words which I will gladly share with the rest of our Maroma Family.

It has been our pleasure to have you with us , in the meantime we look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is not easy to find a NON-ALL INCLUSIVE Resort on the Riviera Maya in the meanwhile; if you belong to the crowd who is not fond of this Holiday concept you should consider the Maroma Resort by Belmond.Fair enough-you also need the money for it ...
We had a look at all room types and believe me: all are beautiful! It just depends if you rather want the garden or beach feeling. Garden ist almost an understatement-it's more like a jungle or park! The beach is one of the finest we've been to; even in the hottest lunch hours you can still walk on it without getting your feet burnt.
Try the Tequila tasting and the Mexican steambath-both are a must!!
We'll come back; that's for sure!

Room Tip: The juniorsuites are the most wanted ones ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that our guests get back home still marveled by their recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community.

You are absolutely right, our garden view rooms and suites that are at the same distance from the beach than the ocean view ones offer a unique experience.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences.

Until next time, sincerely,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Maya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is not an all-inclusive hotel, but as a result it's smaller and the staff has more time to provide good service & get to know you. The beach is beautiful with plenty of places to lounge. The food is amazing, especially the complementary breakfast which (when I was there) included fruits, yogurt, pastries, fresh juice, coffee/tea, hot chocolate, quesadillas, and a proper breakfast entree on top of that! The spa was also really fantastic—even the most basic option. There are a variety of other things you can do onsite and you can easily spend your entire stay at the resort or you can go on some excursions. My wife and I did the snorkeling (left from the beach) and also the excursion to Rio Secreto (which is a big underground cave with water, stalactites, and stalagmites). This resort is really a great spot. As others have mentioned children are allowed, which is generally not a problem, since the resort is so spread out, but noisy children are most likely to manifest around the pools (as they are at any hotel). It can get expensive, but you get what you pay for (in a good way).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, on behalf our staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor community.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. We will continue offering nothing but outstanding food, the best beach and the warmest top notch staff you will ever meet.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation, we look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, to this your new home away from home.

Until then, sunny greetings from this little piece of paradise,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51 | Solidaridad, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.