We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you look for the perfect beach resort ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 307, Kilometer 51 | Solidaridad, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off + Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersGold level
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“If you look for the perfect beach resort ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is not easy to find a NON-ALL INCLUSIVE Resort on the Riviera Maya in the meanwhile; if you belong to the crowd who is not fond of this Holiday concept you should consider the Maroma Resort by Belmond.Fair enough-you also need the money for it ...
We had a look at all room types and believe me: all are beautiful! It just depends if you rather want the garden or beach feeling. Garden ist almost an understatement-it's more like a jungle or park! The beach is one of the finest we've been to; even in the hottest lunch hours you can still walk on it without getting your feet burnt.
Try the Tequila tasting and the Mexican steambath-both are a must!!
We'll come back; that's for sure!

Room Tip: The juniorsuites are the most wanted ones ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dodo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that our guests get back home still marveled by their recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community.

You are absolutely right, our garden view rooms and suites that are at the same distance from the beach than the ocean view ones offer a unique experience.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences.

Until next time, sincerely,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Riviera Maya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is not an all-inclusive hotel, but as a result it's smaller and the staff has more time to provide good service & get to know you. The beach is beautiful with plenty of places to lounge. The food is amazing, especially the complementary breakfast which (when I was there) included fruits, yogurt, pastries, fresh juice, coffee/tea, hot chocolate, quesadillas, and a proper breakfast entree on top of that! The spa was also really fantastic—even the most basic option. There are a variety of other things you can do onsite and you can easily spend your entire stay at the resort or you can go on some excursions. My wife and I did the snorkeling (left from the beach) and also the excursion to Rio Secreto (which is a big underground cave with water, stalactites, and stalagmites). This resort is really a great spot. As others have mentioned children are allowed, which is generally not a problem, since the resort is so spread out, but noisy children are most likely to manifest around the pools (as they are at any hotel). It can get expensive, but you get what you pay for (in a good way).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, on behalf our staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor community.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our team has created memorable experiences that you have taken back home. We will continue offering nothing but outstanding food, the best beach and the warmest top notch staff you will ever meet.

Thank you for choosing us for your recent vacation, we look forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, to this your new home away from home.

Until then, sunny greetings from this little piece of paradise,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Mo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I haven't been on a vacation without our young children in years. Thus, we were very excited about our five day Belmond Maroma vacation. Our anticipation was rewarded with a five star stay at a five star resort.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with smiles and margaritas -- great way to start a vacation. And it got better. Our ocean front room was beautifully appointed and comfortable. Umberto checked us in while showing us its amenities. Then all was quiet -- a welcome novelty for parents of small children.

There are a lot of staff, always at the ready to lend a hand -- I thought our waiter at dinner was going to impale himself upon a stake when I poured my own wine -- but they are so respectful and quiet that I only noticed them when I needed something, which was not often (I have poured many glasses of wine in my life, and it only happened once) as their service is so stellar that most of our wants were anticipated.

We spent our first day with drinks on the beach, which, I swear I am not lying, was being raked by resort workers so that nothing got on my feet as I walked to the clear, turquoise ocean which was a delight to swim in.

The hotel has beautiful grounds, activities and arranged for us to tour Mayan ruins with a great company.

A yummy breakfast is included and the guacamole is particularly stellar.

Now, paradise is not cheap but hey, it's less expensive than marriage counseling or divorce so we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest Amy:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. It is always a true pleasure to host our guests and embrace them in our handmade hospitality and nothing is more satisfying than to learn we have met our valued guests' expectations.

Maroma Family looks forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband back soon in your home in this sunny little paradise of white sand and pristine water.

Best regards,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first trip to Maroma as we usually go to Cabo and never thought any other resort could compare to the ones in Cabo such as Palmilla and Esperanza. Well to our surprise with the exception of the mountains and desert the Maroma compares in every aspect. From the driver meeting us at the hectic Cancun airport to the friendly way we were greeted at registration and of course with a cold towel and a great margarita the Maroam never disappointed. The rooms were lovely, well appointed, the food was always fresh and delicious and the room service breakfasts were very special.We had all our meals at the hotel and the El Sol rest for dinners were superb. The wine lists offers some great Mexican wines that are not available in the USA. The spa and the services there were out of this world. The only other accolade I can mention is the quality of the people that are there to help you enjoy your stay,they are extremely friendly and willing to cater to your every need.
We will be back as soon as possible

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest Gregg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with our TripAdvisor readers, definitely comments such as yours uplift our spirit. There is nothing more rewarding for us to see than a satisfied guest.

I am pleased to learn that we have surpassed your expectations with our seamless service and that you enjoyed your stay while being embraced by the magic of this privileged little piece of paradise and being pampered by our friendly staff.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your second visit in your paradise home away from home.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my husband for our anniversary. This is truly paradise. The beach is gorgeous, and I can't say enough about the staff. It seems like everyone knew our names and were so friendly. The food is excellent, drinks are creative. I love how authentic this place is, feels like we're in Mexico and not some anywhere resort. Breakfast is amazing. Grounds are amazing. Would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our biggest satisfaction is to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, on behalf our staff, thank you for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that your stay at our hotel was perfect and met your expectations. Your little paradise home awaits you for more amazing experiences.

Until then,
Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at Maroma this past March, and it was such a wonderful experience that we're planning on returning again next year. The staff are amazing and the food is fabulous. There are just two comments I'd like to make that I think if addressed, would prompt me to rate this hotel as Excellent. First, there were a few families at this resort during our stay. I believe that in order for this hotel to remain a luxury relaxation destination, children should either not be allowed or there should be an age minimum. We overheard one guest complaining about hearing an infant crying in another room in the middle of the night, and I personally don't want to be splashed in a pool filled with kids while I'm trying to relax. Perhaps have particular hours when children are allowed in the pool - then have adult only hours. My other comment is about the abandoned hotel next to Maroma. While Maroma staff keep their property exquisite, right next to it is a beach filled with trash and debris, and some of the debris had floated over where we were trying to swim. It would be worthwhile to work with officials or other groups to keep that beach clean even though the hotel was never completed...it detracts from the beauty of the Maroma resort.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main part of the resort, but be careful you aren't too close to the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa with our TripAdvisor readers.

I am happy to learn you had a wonderful experience. Additionally, know that I have taken note of your constructive input that aids us in our day to day efforts of providing personalized and pampering attention.

All best to you and look forward to welcoming you back in our little piece of paradise.

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Maya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Belmond Marona Beach Resort and Spa is difficult to express in words - it is an other-worldly experience from the minute you are met at the airport, to check-in, to dining, to room accommodations, to the most exquisite beach, and BEST spa experience you can imagine. Such peace and quiet! You feel as though you are staying in your best friend's home instead of a resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaromaResortandSpa, General Manager at Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest Maria,

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that our guests get back home still marveled by their recent stay in Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa. Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor community.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back in our little paradise for more amazing experiences.

Best regards,

Federico Echaiz
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#4 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#14 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa

Address: Highway 307, Kilometer 51 | Solidaridad, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa, an award-winning luxury beach resort hotel on the Riviera Maya, Mexico. Experience the magic and the beauty of profound well-being in an eternal paradise located in a breathtaking corner of the Yucatan jungle on the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Belmond, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maroma Resort And Spa By Orient-Express Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Maroma Resort Spa
Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing