We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just got back two days ago from spending 3 days at this great resort! Stayed at an all-inclusive in the Cancun area last year, so using that resort as a comparison. Positives- NO KIDS!, no reservations for restaurants needed (except for Japanese table), restaurants very accomdating to a member of our group who was gluten-free. Food well prepared (French, Japanese and Oceana dining) Waiters occasionally a little too anxious to take plates away before I was finished tho.
Our large group was well taken care of at the swim-up bar by Gustavo and Sergio. Drinks light on the alcohol, but that was fine with me. Loved having waiters with floating sushi selection one afternoon! Beach- awesome, although the wind was brisk and surf rough (not hotel's fault!) good beachside service.
Room very nice, although promotions said Jr. Suites would have an ocean view, or partial ocean view, we could not see the ocean from our 3rd floor balcony (building 21) so a little disappointed in that. The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable.
Staff VERY helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
Grounds of the resort very pretty and CLEAN. Would return to this resort without a second thought.
Only glitch was, we tried to get waiter service arranged while playing mini golf well ahead of time, and still didn't see the waitress until nearly everyone was done playing. We were told there was a staff meeting, but our group was a little disappointed.
Over all, fun carefree weekend. THANKS!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so mcuh for the comments and five star rating! In regards to your room, I will invite you to check your reservation confirmation and see wich room category you have booked, and then you will see why you did not had an ocean view.

Next time you are ready to book, please send me an email, I will be glad to call you and explain the different room categories and the views.

Sincerely.

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,890
    988
    251
    94
    42
See reviews for
283
5,899
36
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,054)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We did a ton of research to make sure we found just the right place for our 25th wedding anniversary trip. We are so glad we picked Secrets - Maroma Beach! Everything was perfect - from the room (we had an ocean view) to the food and drinks! Christina was our concierge, and she went above and beyond! We also recommend getting a beach cabana. We ended up with one everyday! Arturo, our beach concierge, and Urbano, our beach waiter were wonderful! We both work a lot, and it was so nice to just relax and be waited on! The beach is so beautiful and you can walk forever! This was our first all-inclusive, and quite honestly we were a little hesitant. But, it could not have been better! We definately plan on coming back to visit soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and this is a great recommendation for other travelers! We hope to see you again real soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place! Service was amazing. Facilities are fantastic. We had never done a trip like this before so it was a whole new experience - and Secrets made it one to remember. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for this wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and can't wait to have you back home.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and our expectations were not great as we were expecting cheap drinks and at best mediocre food and service, but the family wanted 'all inclusive'. How wrong we were. We usually stay in 5star luxury hotels and this equalled the best with regard to the high quality of service, staff, food and rooms. (It is always the little touches that go the extra mile which distinguishes an excellent place from a good one - such as the thoughtful bottles of cold water given us before we all departed and being able to use the facilities after checkout until our transport arrived.) We had a swim out room which was great, and the family in the other three rooms were upgraded to the same - very much appreciated. We used them more than the beautiful and large general pool areas in the resort. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and extremely customer focused, well trained and motivated to make your stay the best they can. We did not experience any 'hard sell' to buy anything as an extra. Our concierge, Antonio, was very helpful and answered knowledgeably and efficiently to any query or want we had. There was a good selection of daily activities to appeal to different tastes and the entertainment staff were fantastic and fun. (Any place which includes a tour of their kitchens as an activity and makes it both fun and informative has nothing to hide with regard to its high standard of cleanliness and operational efficiency.) The quality and presentation of food in all the restaurants was extremely high, even if the portions were small (but you could order as many or few different courses as you liked), and more than sufficient by European nouvelle cuisine standards rather than American mediocre piled on your plate norm. The range and selection of the buffet breakfast and lunch in the World Cafe was extensive and awesome. The other differently themed restaurants were attractively decorated, good ambience and excellent. The 24-hour free room service is the best we have ever experienced in our extensive travels around the world. The food arrived within the stated time with no forgotten or wrong items and it was freshly cooked and hot (not the usual congealed and warm/cold state). Loved the perfectly cooked poached eggs! The only criticism of the room service menu was not much choice for vegetarians but the staff were helpful. There is a vegetarian menu available in all the themed restaurants but you have to ask for it. A negative aspect of the resort is that the outside appearance of the buildings are rather austere and ugly. (Maybe all the resorts are built similarly there.) The well kept and attractive gardens help soften the impact. Not many rooms actually have a sea view but with the ground floor swim out rooms this did not matter to us. Another negative was the discount vouchers given to guests. We did not use any of them towards extra services such as romantic dinner, wines or spa services. We thought these too expensive to begin with (spa treatments) and even with the maximum allowed discount. We also thought the Preferred Guest was a waste of money with no real advantages - plus we did not use the very quiet/few people Preferred Guest lounge - no need, and it had a strange damp smell. It would also have been nice if we had been given an orienting escorted tour and explanation of the resort facilities even next morning as we had arrived late evening - may have been an oversight as we saw other people being taken around. But overall, this resort was fantastic, very well run and organised and an up-market adult only resort situated on a beautiful beach away from the brash concrete jungle of Cancun. It deserves to be Number 1 on Trip Advisor. We recommend it highly - and we don't do that very often.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

It is very nice to hear you recommend our resort to other travelers and that you think the number one spot is well deserved. We hopt to have you back in our resort real soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Went on this unexpected business trip. Since we didn't book it I really didn't know what to expect. What a fantastic surprise, our room was extremely spacious, clean and had a walk out to a private patio and a pool. The setting was so relaxing and what a pleasure to wake up in the morning and take a dip right out side our door. There were several restaurants to chose from. It was all inclusive! The food was fantastic! The resort had an entertainment team that was so much fun. Throughout the day and into the night these people were like the energizer bunny. Jordan, Tomas, the furminator lol, Sasqush, Pauliana the whole crew was great! I know I'm forgetting a few but these people were so nice. Every night they had a show it was so much fun! If you chose not to do anything no problem quite little hideways through out the property for romantic quiet time. Private cabanas you can reserve! Can not say enough about this place. They treated you like royalty! So glad we had this opportunity!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the five star rating! I am very happy our entertainment team made your stay! Please keep my contact information and let me know when you are ready to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

After our long flight from Manchester UK we were warmly greeted and whizzed off in a buggy to be checked in in the preferred club lounge. We had decided to upgrade to PC and a sea view as a treat for our special anniversary. Some people said the upgrade was worth it and others say it wasn't. We agree with the latter as I really don't think we got our value from the upgrade. We aren't the sort of people who drink the mini bar dry every day and we only used the hydrotherapy circuit once on a rainy day. We never went back into the PC lounge as it was on the other side of the complex from our room so we didn't feel the need to go in for pre-dinner drinks.
Our room on the third floor of block 16 was lovely and totally spotless. Not even a speck of dust in corners or on mirrors. There was easily enough storage space. We had wanted a sea view because we like to have a drink on the balcony after sunbathing but we didn't really use it because once the sun had gone off it, the breeze was quite cool. A lot has been mentioned in past reviews about the bathroom situation. There are double doors leading from the room into the bathroom but it makes no difference whether the doors are closed or not because there is a large glassless "window" positioned on the side of the bath separating the room from the bathroom. It is covered by a flimsy curtain offering some privacy in that someone in the bedroom can't see someone in the bathroom but they can hear.... It wasn't an issue with us but some people might find it embarrassing. The only thing we didn't like about the bathroom was that if I wanted to use the loo in the night and put the bathroom light on, then because of the window it illuminated the bedroom too and sometimes woke up my husband or vice versa. Also in the room there is a small step down from the main part of the room to the area just before the balcony and even though we knew it was there we both still slipped off the step a couple of times (sober too!!).
The pools were really large and the unheated one next to the beach was about 100 yards long in a curved shape. We tended to stay around this pool as it was quieter and not dominated by the loud noise coming from the drinkers at the swim-up bar. We would often go on the beach in the afternoon which was so beautiful with the white powdery sand but of course there was always a breeze and the sand does tend to get everywhere! We thought the policy of not being able to reserve sunbeds before 10.30 was great. If you leave your things on the beds for more than 30 minutes before that time then the pool concierge guys will move them.
Antonio was our concierge in block 16 and he was great, helping with our internet connection and he had a kettle and tea bags ready for us when we arrived which we had earlier requested from their e-concierge. On the subject of the e-concierge we had emailed Romana Pizzutti to tell her we didn't want to be subjected to the timeshare sales talk and we weren't. We were simply handed the $200 of vouchers on check in.
The entertainment guys and girls were fantastic, encouraging but never pressurising anyone to take part in anything. I did yoga every weekday morning with Lucy and she was brilliant. A bit more challenging than my class at home so I learned a lot. Thank you Lucy.
Someone recently wrote that she didn't like the aqua aerobics class taken by the entertainment guys because they embarrassed people and played the fool. Well I thought the classes were brilliant. Cesar your arm workout was the best and thanks too to Jordan (loved the mini golf tournament), Fernando, Fermin, Tomas and Mani from the Moon. You created a great atmosphere in the class and made us all want to work really hard. OK we had to shout Excellente and stuff like that at the end but it was all part of the fun. In total contrast I thought the guest instructor we had after our first week was terrible. I saw her do the Zumba and toning classes and she seemed fine but you can't really do Zumba in the water which is what she had us doing! A new guest instructor arrived the day before we left and she seemed much better.
We only went to a couple of shows as we ate quite late and they were usually half over by the time we left the restaurant. The ones we did see, the Beatles tribute band and the cirque du soleil type show were really professional and of course the entertainment staff worked their socks off at the shows.
Breakfast was in World Café and every taste was catered for. We tended to walk there for lunch too as the salads were the best, so much choice and also fish, meat, pizza, pasta and lots more. Oh and not forgetting the cakes!! Carla looked after us so well and Edgar, looking every inch the English gentleman ran the place so efficiently.
We loved the French, Italian and Mexican restaurants best and if there was a wait at one of them we would just go next door. We never had to wait longer that five minutes for a table at around 8pm. I have to mention Felipe who was always our waiter at the Mexican restaurant. Such a great, friendly guy always ready to advise on what to order. The filet mignon in the French restaurant was out of this world and so was the sea bass.
We thought the house wines were really good and certainly didn't feel the need to shell out $30 for a bottle of their "recommended" wines. We drank the Argentinian Malbec or the Chilean Merlot at night and at lunch we had the Sauvignon Blanc or the Chardonnay.
After reading lots of reviews before we came to SMB we took the advice of other reviewers and we tipped in dollars which was greatly appreciated though never expected.
We loved seeing the iguanas basking on the rocks by the pool and the coatis too. One day we saw about 20 of them feeding on the grass near the Sugar Reef bar. Everyone was rushing up with cameras.
A lot of the reviews are from honeymooners or young couples in their 20s and 30s. Don't be put off going to SMB if you are older. We were older than most of the guests but we never felt out of place, indeed there were guests who looked to be in their 70s.
Also if you live in the UK just bear in mind there is a departure tax to pay of (currently) 900 Mexican Pesos per person (about £50). If you haven't already paid this to your holiday company then you have to pay it before checking in at Cancun airport and it has to be paid in cash in pesos.
We really loved our two weeks at Secrets Maroma Beach and wouldn't hesitate to return. Thank you to everyone who helped to make our holiday wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! You actually emailed me saying you did not wish to be invited to the sales presentation, so I'm glad you were not. I hope to receive a similar email from you saying you will be coming back!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Real wow factor, you only have to speak to the staff and see how proud they are to work there to know that this is a World Class Resort. Loads of entertainment all day long, constant cleaning going on so everything spotless, a concierge to deal with all your requests and a spa that is up there with the best. Not to mention a host of excellent gourmet restaurants and a white sandy beach that you could also dine on. Fabulous service from everyone we spoke to right from the start of our stay to the end. Roger our concierge ensured a fantastic stay was well organised. The entertainment staff keep you amused. Fabien around the pool made sure we always had what we needed and waiters such as Felipe and Hector ensured a 10/10 trip. Apologies for not remembering many more staff names as the service was very consistent everywhere.

Thank You.

Mr & Mrs McCormick

Room Tip: Use the preferred club. Junior Suite ocean view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanky ou for much for submitting this winderful review. And yes, we are very proud to work here and we show it by taking care of everyone who comes to stay here!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.