We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We returned for our second stay at Secrets Maroma the beginning of March. The check in was smooth and speedy and we did not have to wait long for our room. We were on the second floor in building 23 and had a view of the ocean in the distance. Room was spacious and quiet. This time we went on the bike tour and enjoyed it. The entertainment staff did a great job for Academy Awards dinner. It was wonderful sitting outside watching and having dinner under the stars. They also had a beach party on Fat Tuesday which was fun. Only disappointment was the Mexican restaurant, slow service and very bland food. All other restaurants were fine. Everyone we met were friendly and interesting to talk to. There was a business group there for a few days, but they kept to themselves. Beach is spectacular, also did kayaking out to the reef. Loved our vacation, and will return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

I'm happy to see you took advantage of the activities offered! We hope to see you back soon.

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,303
    1,078
    286
    99
    47
See reviews for
310
6,293
43
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our third consecutive year staying at various resorts on the Riviera Maya. The SM staff was exceptionally friendly and courteous helping make this one of our most memorable vacations. From the moment we walked through the doors we were pampered. Our resident concierge Roberto was fantastic making sure every need was met. The resort was beautiful and our beach front room was superb with an amazing view. We ate at all of the restaurants and each had good food as did the 24-hour room service when we just relaxed at our swim up room. The pool area had plenty of seating along with numerous activities while food was available poolside all afternoon. The beach sand was incredibly soft and clean making it ideal for activities. The coastline was unimpeded permitting long walks from the resort possible in either direction. Lounge chairs were always available on the beach and you never had to wait for cocktail service. The spa offered a ton of amenities and was an added bonus to start off or top off the end of a day. Absolutely would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Loved the last sentence of your review! thank you so much for your comments!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

At the recommendation of a friend, my husband and I pulled out all the stops for our 25th and booked a junior suite for 6 nights/7 days. Our expectations were exceeded by the beauty, the service, the cleanliness, the gorgeous beach, and the hospitality of the staff. From the first moment, guests are greeted with "Welcome home," and the staff is very well prepared to make their guests feel it. Speaking of staff, there is not one staff member to whom I would not give 5/5 stars, but most notable were:
Christina, our gracious and attentive concierge
Diana, Jordan, Miguel, Tomas, Cesar, and the rest of the "Excellente Entertainment" staff
Alberto and Limberto, for the romantic dinner on the beach
Pablo was an outstanding waiter in the Seaside Grill
Guillermina provided excellent room cleaning service
Oscar, the tennis pro, provided a fabulous opportunity for my husband to get in some much-desired tennis practice

The food was outstanding, and unlike American restaurants, the portions were reasonably sized, which we appreciated. Of course, if your goal is to gain weight, there is more than enough on the buffets.

The beach was the main attraction with white sand that felt like confectioners sugar and never got hot on bare feet. Floating in the surf was a delight in those warm, turquoise waters. This was a very special memory to savor for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: We loved our room, 1540, because it was so quiet with a breathtaking view of the beach from both bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for remebering everyone's names and for deciding to spend your anniversary with us! We hope to see you next year for more beach time!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

almost everything about this place was amazing... The beach, Rooms, Staff and entertainment except for the French restaurant. Maybe the were trying to be authentic French because the staff was very rude and the place was horrible. But if you can avoid that your good.

Room Tip: the closer to the beach the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, it is very rare we get a comment on one of our staff being rude, so I would loke to elabotrate a little more and find out what the name of this person was and the situation.

I look forward receiving your email.

Regards ,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for 12 nights and loved every minute of it. The staff are great across the whole resort and the entertainment staff have activities all throughout the day and night.
Food, accommodation...everything was of a very high standard and we really felt pampered.
Would definitely recommend this resort if travelling to Mexico. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Last sentence was my favorite! Hope you send me an email when you are ready to return!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NJ
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Secrets for our honeymoon
PROS:
Food at all restaurants was GREAT!! The only meal I didnt enjoy was the Mexican restaurant, my steak there was very rubbery. The Italian, French & steakhouse were all sooo good! Try the onion & cheese bread! The Japanese was exceptional, you must try the tempura ice cream!! Breakfast buffet was amazing, huge selection and very tasty. Lunch was kind of repetitive but good. One really nice thing was they come around poolside to serve you fresh tacos, appetizers or ice cream. You dont even have to get out of the pool! The service was very good as well, although the swim up pool bartenders werent that into serving you if you werent tipping. Fernando & Freddy for dinner were sooo great & Samuel for breakfast. The beach was PHENOMENAL!! We would bring bread in the ocean and fish would eat out of our hands. Many chairs and palapas and bartenders wait on you hand and foot. You truly feel like you are on vacation. Pool was great as well. Rooms were so upscale and beautiful. We had a honeymooners banner put on our door..they had so many lovely touches.
CONS
Really almost none!! The only things they can improve on is landscaping, it felt very barren and not lush and tropical. I also think they can change up the lunch menu here and there.
I recommend going to Tulum, we did and it was definitely worth seeing. We also went snorkeling right from the resort out to the reef, pretty good we saw a sea turtle. We went to Wet & Wild in Cancun to swim with dolphins and I dont recommend them. That was my 4th time swimming with dolphins, and that was the worst one. It was so regimented and not worth the money.
Overall, SM was an upscale and beautiful vacation. You wont have many complaints here!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our resort and for spending your honeymoon here! We will be specting your for your firt anniversary!

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

After having stayed at many quality high end resorts and hotels over the years, I can say my wife and myself were surprised by the quality of the resort, it's service and amenities. This was part business trip and part pleasure trip. Having not chosen the resort, we were incredibly pleased with every part of our stay here.
From the facility itself, the incredibly friendly resort workers, the great food at some exceptional restaurants and the overall experience, we could not have been happier. My wife loved the spa and was very pleased with her massage. Not being a big fan of an all inclusive resort, I had my apprehensions about this one. I can honestly say my apprehension was unfounded.
We have recommended this resort to family and friends already and would recommend to anyone that if at all interested, book it, you wont be sorry.
We found the resort an excellent value for what we received and felt that the 3 days I extended our business meeting was well worth the cost.

Room Tip: I felt all the rooms were great from speaking to others in our group that were in different parts of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the comments and five star rating! I hope we have a chance to serve you again in the near future.

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.