We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for 10 nights in a swim out suite. Hotel appeared to be very well managed. For an all inclusive, the quality and generosity in the provision of food, drinks and service were both surprising and excellent.
We have stayed at many hotels in the Caribbean and normally only those with tennis courts. Unfortunately we have found those courts are sometimes unplayable for serious tennis or even dangerous. That is certainly not the case at Secrets Maroma although the floodlights are in need of upgrading. We much appreciated using the services of Oscar, the tennis coach, who was both friendly and helpful.
In particular we liked the house band and the associated entertainment which were excellent.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very happy to see we have exceeded your expectations, as that is what we aim for. Please be sure to send us an email when you are ready to return home.

Regards,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,901
    991
    253
    95
    42
See reviews for
284
5,912
37
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our vacation at Secrets was amazing! The staff is very friendly and professional. We have traveled to the same area numerous times over the years, staying at different resorts, but we will definitely be returning to Secrets. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food was fantastic! The beach is amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful words, I trust this was your first time of many more to come. Please keep my contact information for when you are ready to return.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My stay at secrets maroma was excellent. It was completely stress free and the employees went as far as remembering my name. The food was great and the beach was amazing. The ocean water is as clear and warm as the pool. Room service was great and the bend was turned down every night. There was always something to do if you didn't want to just relax. The drinks were endless and as well as the food. I already miss being there and its only been 2 weeks since I left. They really do make you feel at home. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our resort to other travelers! We look forward having you back soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We have not long returned from our honeymoon at the Secrets Maroma and it was fantastic. Our room was fantastic, everything you could want was in it & if it wasn't they would do all they could to get it to you ASAP.
The beach is white baby soft sand with warm aqua blue sea and you are waited on hand on foot by the brilliant waiters.
The grounds, pools, toilets, bars are wonderfully kept and the staff are so attentive, they are a great to this property.
I would recommend this hotel over and over as it was a dream and well worth the 11hr flight.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our resort to other travelers and for giving us a five star rating, please consider Secrets Maroma Beach always as your second home!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed a week in Feb. upgraded to Ocean view in bldg 26 upon arrival. Beautiful view of ocean and pools! Really nice room with tub on balcony.
We were amazed at the breakfast selection in the World Cafe. Omelettes, crepes, fruits, many hot options and sashimi, every juice imaginable and terrific cappuccinos!
Then explored the hydro spa which was the best part of the preferred pkg.
Terrific facilities and so relaxing. Nice gym too.
The beach was the best we've seen with fine, powdery sand and no rocks in the water either. Super Bowl on the beach was so unique, on the large beds, usually in the private cabanas. Multiple screens and BBQ with beers! They put a lot of effort into making it fun and enjoyable.
The activities team were fun, full of positive energy, but not too hyper. Beach and pool volleyball with Jordan and Cesar and tennis with Oscar vivar Rodriguez kept me active. Hit with Oscar the Tennis Pro was really fun!
Lots of a la carte restaurants but they weren't always open. Arrive by 7:00 to get in or there might be a long wait. Ate twice at Himitsu, it was great to have Pedro both times and definitely book the chef's "show". Most memorable was the Filet Mignon and lobster at the French, Bordeaux! The steak tartare didn't have the spices and favour. The seafood stew with scallops, mussels and shrimp at the Oceana was great! The food was a high quality and the service terrific.
The house wines were OK, but inexpensive, yet many high end liquors are included? Enjoyed the German beers at the lobby bar.
Nice that they organized coffee, wine and tequila tastings, yummy.
Little disappointed that the cabana rates and dinner on the beach rates went up.
Too $$.
The shows that we saw were really well done, saw the Rock, Fire and Circus/trapeze Shows! So glad to have the entertainment at night!
To sum it up, great resort and staff! Weather was in the high 20's C/ 80's F every day!

Room Tip: Preferred in bldg 26, 3rd floor, nice ocean and pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for submitting your review and giving us a five star rating! There is one point in your review I would like to clear up.

The price increase on the beach beds and the romantic dinners: The beach bed rental went up by $10 usd (there was a tax increase in Mexico so all the prices are a little higher. On the other hand, the menu on the Romantic Dinners had been modified, we are not including a more expensive bottle of champagne.

I hope that helped you clear out your concerns.

If you decide to return in the future i would love to help you arrange your visit.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our second time at SMB was even better than our perfect first. We stayed for 7 days last year and 8 days this year. We stayed in a Preferred room and used the Club several times every day. We thought it was well worth the few extra dollars. We also rented a Cabana twice and were very pleased.
The thing that makes SMB so special is they make sure every detail is precisely attended to. The entire staff is exceptional. Paulina, our concierge, always helped with anything we needed. The entertainment staff is incredible. All of them are engaging and seem to make it their job to make us guests feel welcome, Thanks to Miguel (MC baby), Thomas, Cesar, Beunita, The Ferminator and Sasquach, to name a few of them. Osbaldo did a great job at the Cabana for us both days. Andres of the Preferred Club was great and Jose in the Preferred Club makes a mean Manhattan. Lucy in the coffee shop was also terrific.
Our room was on the 4th floor and we loved the view. Room was always clean and stocked with their standard list of drinks and candy.
Check in and check out with the Preferred was another exceptional perk.
We used the AMSTAR delux transfer. We had a car pick us up at the airport and return us. It was the easiest travel experience we have ever had. Highly recommend it.
Beach was perfect. Plenty of chairs and towels all the time. Bathrooms always clean and well attended to.
Food where ever we ate was exceptional. No complaints there.
We would like to see them improve their wine.
We will be back next year for 9 days.!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and for giving us a five star rating. We are truly happy you've decided to come to our resort for the second time and sincerely hope there will be a third.

Remeber we are always here to pamper you!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weyburn, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We recently had a 10 day stay in the beginning of February. The resort was beautiful and the food was fantastic. We found the staff extremely friendly and wanted to give out a big shout to the ones we enjoyed the most as they made our trip even more memorable. Our concierges Fabiola and Roberto for building 17 were very accommodating with any requests that we had. We were greeted at our favorite restaurants by the smiling faces of Fabiola, Veronica, Karla and especially Edgar at the World Cafe. Once inside we had remarkable food served to us from wonderful people like Freddy, Francisco from the World Cafe and Renee, Hector and Manuel from the Bordeaux. Juan from the spa booking and Tennis Pro Oscar were previous acquaintances but were excited to visit with us again and offered great service.
The entertainment staff kept people busy (only if they were so inclined) having fun and we enjoyed the conversations of Jordan, Paulina, Fernando and especially The Ferminator were a pleasure to have around poolside. Nancy from the Concierges Front Desk really helped us out when there was a small problem with our transport to keep us happy.
My wife went to the salon and spa and Martha and Willem at Spa Reception were very accommodating and hairstylist Blanca provided exceptional service on 5 occasions.
Miguel at the Front desk was easy to talk with about exchanging money and also very accommodating. We were well taken care of at poolside by the courteous and friendly staff like Balbina, CeCe, Erika and Cecilia. The staff was excellent ! The wifi was hit and miss for reception. KT and Gregorio

Room Tip: The views closer to the ocean are awesome and if the rooms farther back might not have such a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It was so energetic! I will be sure to thank all of those who provided such a great service to you and made sure you had a wonderful stay.

Below find my contact information, be sure to let me know when you are coming home again.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.