We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Welcome to your new home."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Welcome to your new home."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

That's what they say when you pull up; "welcome to your new home!" Then you are offered a cool fresh towel and escorted to the guest lobby. The front desk is a series of four desk stations, each with two chairs so that you can be seated through your check in process. Upon checking in you are presented with a glass of champagne with a cherry garnish. Everyone is genuinely pleased to assist and meet your needs. Our bellhop was so kind as to not only speedily deliver our bags to our room but also provide us with a quick tour. Our personal concierge (two for each building so they can readily meet your needs) was helpful to assist my husband in making dinner reservations (taken at the Hibachi restaurant) and get tickets to the evening shows. He even made our appointment at the PHENOMENAL spa (more on that later). We promptly got settled into our room and ran to the insanely clean and tidily kept beach. Seaweed and sea trash at a minimum. They have staff to keep their section of the beach clean. The beach concierge were great at taking orders and quickly bringing you whatever you needed; drinks, water, cool towel, moving free chairs to your location, etc. This resort is a little far removed from the "resort strip" you'll see as you get closer to Cancun. This led to quiet nights; all you can hear is the ocean.
Entertainmet staff was excellent. We spent NYE n the resort and the dinner and party was great.
I can't say enough great things about this property. It far exceeded our expectations and we are already making plans to return next holiday. The weather his time of year is PERFECTION!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for using the word PERFECTION on your review! This definitive says it all! We appreciate your comments and the fact that you were so please tells me we will have the pleasure to have you back soon. Please keep my contact information and do not hesitate to send me an email next time you wish to come back.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,876
    987
    250
    94
    42
See reviews for
283
5,890
35
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,051)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Drummondville, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our first time in Riviera Maya... . We're mostly beach lovers and were more than pleased with Maroma Beach...every employee strives to give the best service..smiling people...good food. Best service we ever had. Resort is quiet and peaceful which we enjoyed. The evening shows were quite good...would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for recommending our resort to other travelers and for giving us a five star rating. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited this hotel over Christmas 2013. When you arrive you are greeted by the staff with "Welcome Home", and that set the standard for our 2 weeks. The hotel is set on a lovely beach (although it was quite windy while we were there and the under current in the sea was strong). The pools were always crystal clear and without exception the staff couldn't do enough for you. Our experience in the restaurants was varied, but that was more a case of managing expectations. We could not praise the food in the World Cafe enough. I think most people assumed that because this is where breakfast and lunch is served, that the quality of the meals in the evening would be of a similar standard (good but not exceptional). Anyone who failed to try this venue missed out on a real treat. The molecular / fusion cooking was exceptional. We were also very impressed with the Mexican, French and Seafood restaurants. The others were OK but did not match up to the standards or expectations that were set. It is safe to say that every restaurant was a gourmet dining experience.

Facilities at the hotel were good and we always managed to get a sun bed although if you are too late it can be a bit challenging when the hotel is busy.

There are plenty of lizards enjoying the sun as well as a number of furry inhabitants one of which decided to visit our balcony to avoid the rain.

The only real disappointment was the diving (run by a 3rd party but from within the hotel grounds). The dive (which luckily only my husband did) was a wreck dive and despite 40+ years experience he found it difficult and came back with a badly cut leg and some very bad stings, which he still has although they just look like burns now. He was due to do a second dive on a reef but chose to miss it because of the currents in the water made conditions hazardous. The equipment was also in poor condition and we decided that as I am not as experienced as he is it was safest for me not to dive (unfortunately).

If you want a luxurious break where you can join in with as much or little of the activities as you want, then I would certainly recommend it. For anyone who has been to Sandals and has been put off the All Inclusive hotels (like we were), give Secrets at Maroma Beach a try. It will change you mind - it did us.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the ground floor rooms with direct access to a small pool. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing this wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and we are very happy you had such a nice time in our resort. One thing that I would like to point out is the tour you've decided to take (diving) as you know the resort does not offer any tours or excursions, they are outside companies, however , we do offer our support if a guest is not happy and we will do as much as possible.

I will encourage you to send me an email when you are ready to return so I can take care of your reservation, notes etc myself.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

All is great at the Secrets Maroma. I would like to stress couple of things: the quality and the variety of the activities. We enjoyed especially the bike tour ( thanks to Firmit and Polina) , playing big and table tennis, and going on kayaks trip. The entertainment is also excellent, especially the Pianist Enrique . His music selections were pleasant to listen to and he played them very well. The grand Piano in the main hall should be available though for the guests to use as well. Not only for Enrique to perform on it. The situation with the coupons is deceiving. You actually can not use them as you wish because of the narrow limits for each type of the application of them . Ex. : you are allowed to use $ 10 towards the bottle of wine, or $ 40 for the $ 180 of the spa treatment) Etc. As a result of this policy we had practically all the coupons not used.
The service and the food is excellent. I was there with my grown up single daughter and hoped to find there the activities for the single people. But is was not available. It would be a good idea to have a coffee or a different type of the gathering just for the single people to
meet . In any case we had a great time staying at Maroma over the Christmas time. Special thanks to Mr. Cesar Montoya who responded on my e- mails with the different questions prior to our arrival. Very professional.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1446. There was a view to the sea, but far away. Practically each room gives you a chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for writing this wonderful review! I already thanked Cesar for responding so quickly. I hope we have the chance to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzyq39
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Awesome place!
Beach… Gorgeous swimmable clear
Restaurants ...delicious ..very good food, very good service and willing to adapt to their menus to our tastes.
Service… Probably, some of the best service we have had. Every employee was always willing to do anything and everything it took to please us.
Rooms… A little bit on the smaller side for a suite, but they were very tastefully decorated and we wanted for nothing.
Pools… Clear, immaculate, beautiful and plentiful. I would highly suggest getting a swim up room at this resort, because they are very private and beautiful.
Tips… skip the preferred rooms and get a swim up room instead.

There is horseback riding within walking distance at Rancho Baaxel.

Dress for dinner.

Arrange taxi through the hotel.

Good fitness center

To the right of the hotel is a beach where you can walk for miles without any other hotel on that stretch.

Watch the website for sales.

Go!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review about Secrets Maroma Beach and also thank you for writing your tip's. I hope we get a chance to take very good care of you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you have concerns about all inclusives, forget about it! Secrets Maroma provides a great experience. The room(We got the penthouse), swimming pools, the beach, all very beautiful, clean and just waiting you for relaxing.
The restaurants provide great ambience and the service is very nice. Very good food in all of them. The French one is Top!
The staff are very friendly and try hard to make you feel comfortable.
The gym is well equipp
They have a great spa. Not cheap at all, but the swedish massage worth every penny. Definitely, we´ll come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

We loved your review! Thank you very much for the five star rating! Please keep my contact information and send me an email when you are ready to return to our resort!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This resort exceeded every expectation possible! We went for our 10yr anniversary. Highly recommend the preferred club and a swim out, it is worth the extra money! The staff goes above and beyond anything expected of them. I cannot talk this place up enough! We will be back in another 5 years!! Love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Concierge S, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

I hope you have a chance to be back before the 5 years! I want to thank you for writing this wonderful review and the five stars rating! We look forward having you back home again soon!

Sincerely,

Romina Pizzuti
Social Media
Secrets Maroma Beach
info.semrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.