We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the Sun - Stay for the rest!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Playa Maroma
Auburn, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Come for the Sun - Stay for the rest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Maroma Jan 10-16 2013.

Arrival: Upon landing in Cancun we took about a 30 min shuttle ride with Amstar to the resort. It's mostly a highway/freeway ride and the road to the resort from the highway is a little bumpy but not too bad if your driver takes caution. The main drive for the resort is brick paved (which must have taken forever!) and fairly smooth. The resort is pretty impressive from the outside in terms of size. Once there our bags were taken ahead of us to our rooms and we were led into the lobby to check in. **Make sure to keep your passports with you as you'll need them to confirm your check in*** We had heard about the sales pitch for the coupons but we only had a short speech by a representative asking us to stop by sometime during our stay for the coupons and a brief tour. (We also had letters delivered to our room and a few phone calls about the offer but nothing too pushy).

Pools: We stayed in building 14 on the North side of the property in a swim-out room. Our swim out pool was very nice and recieved sunlight nearly all day (however if you were in one of the buildings on the South side this might not be the case). All of the pools on the grounds are salt water (no chlorine) and most of them are heated (exception being the maini infinity pool). The pools are very clean and are routinely brushed on the sides to avoid salt buildup. Be warned that the surface of the pools are pebbles/stones and while this isn't a huge deal we did have a few people with sore feet by the time we left.
We spent nearly every day by the main pool which was very large and nice. The bars open around 10-10:30am and it's usually pretty easy to find a place to put your stuff or lounge. Pool Volleyball games are held every day at noon which are very fun. The Entertainment staff will participate either against the guest or a few will join in with everyone else. Guillermo (Big Willie) and Carlos (Sasha) are usually always playing. The swim up bar is really great and our bartender Philberto was always ready to serve us any shot or drink we came up with.

Food: The 24 hour room service was a great amenity. We never had to wait longer than 40 min from the time we placed our order to it arriving at our room. You could either have it delivered in the box next to your door or the staff member would place everything on your room table for you to eat.
The breakfast buffett at the World Cafe had a great selection of everything you could think of. The Coco Cafe was nice for coffee drinks.
For lunch you could dine at the World Cafe again, or the Barefoot Grill buffett near the pool. You also had the option of the Seaside Grill where you could sit down and order from a menu.
For evening dining we went to Portifino (Italian food, great atmosphere and excellent waiters), the Seaside Grille (mix of steak and seafood, decent atmosphere but the food was so so), Bordeaux (French food, you should try the Filet Mignon and the French Onion Soup) and Himitsu (Hibachi style with a great show and wonderful fried ice cream for dessert).
This was our first time at an all inclusive resort so it's hard to judge the food compared to other resorts. There definitely was a wide selection, but none of our group would consider themselves experts on fine dining so I can't speak to the quality of some of the fancier menu choices. However I will say that the presentation was always excellent.

Rooms: Our room was very large and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable however the pillows were very soft (like flat) - we found extra pillows that were more firm in our closet. The TV gets decent reception (though all analog channels) but the wifi (free of charge) was excellent. I believe the resort must have really made an effort to improve this area because it was much better than any of the past reviews made it out to be. There was a signal all throughout the property and Secrets now has an app that allows for you to make calls (to rooms or outside) through the app and wifi free of charge. Our room was cleaned twice daily with one of those being turn down service in the evening. There's a light button near your door to indicate you don't want to be disturbed.

Entertainment/Activities: We took the jungle bike ride (which is not really through the jungle) which was fun and you really got to see a glimpse of life outside the resort, we tried the archery lessons, and we went to a few of the shows. The first night we saw the Cirque du Sole inspired
Sensuality show (which was a little risque but this is an 18+ resort), the second night was the Rock Show which featured the resort band playing cover tunes of classic rock bands, there was a hip-hop breakdance and beat boxing show which was good, and we saw the Fire Show which might have been our favorite.

Beach:Last but not least I should mention the beach. The sand was amazing....literally like feeling brown sugar under your feet. The beach was much deeper than the resorts next door and never did it feel overcrowded. It was a Red Flag beach for our stay due to winds but it was really quite calm compared to what many would expect a Red Flag to indicate.

Overall I would definitely reccommend Secrets Maroma to anyone looking to visit the Riviera Maya area. It is a little more expensive than some of the other resorts but you'd be hard pressed to find the same type of service and relaxation anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4,981
    847
    218
    78
    34
See reviews for
248
5018
31
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Maroma Beach in September 2012 booking an ocean view room although we upgraded to an ocean front suite after three days ( nothing wrong with the first room just fancied something bigger). We have traveled a bit and stayed at some very nice hotels but found the service given us to be of the very best. The staff are first rate and strive for the highest standards always with a smile nothing being to much trouble any time day or night.Food was of a high standard on par with some Michelin Star Resterants we have eaten in (well done chef Eric). It did get a little noisy around the pool occasionally but if people cannot enjoy themselves on holiday when can they. Sara Kelly our concierge in block 27 looked after our every need. It must have been good we have already re booked for May 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

So the reviews are pretty much the same over and over so I will try and keep this simple...I stalked trip advisor as to where to go as husband and I were looking for somewhere to veg out after the horrific hurricane here in NY...we were mentally and physically wiped out from working too hard! Booked ocean view preferred. Was the preferred worth the extra 600. for 10 days? It was for us...we enjoyed the lounge very much....used wifi the whole time in the resort never had a issue not sure why people said they did. Also had access to the spa which was nice for the hydrotherapy. Other great things....The service cannot say enough about that barely put down my drink they were running over to give me more...top shelf if you asked for sure, beach unbelievable...never a issue with finding a chair anywhere they do have the chair police before 10:30 which I thought maybe annoying but I would imagine great in a peak peak time. We were there from 1/3-1/12 and never had a issue. Cabana on beach a great idea for sure but book up fast,....what did we do? A whole lot of nothing which is what we wanted. Food was actually one of the best for all inclusive and we have been to alot of them. Small portions yes but with apps, soup, dinner and dessert absolutely perfect and we like to eat...! Actually since we came home we realized what glutens our society has become lol! Only problem is that my husband was diagnosed as being diabetic the week before we went and they had no sugar free items...???? Shows the Rock show was great wanted to see the Cirque type show but hubby got a stomach bug that night. Yes we did tip probaly about 125 or so over the 10 days but never expected just completely appreciated. Only two nights we waited for dinner one night about a hour the other 15 minutes....but enjoyed a cocktail to the music in the lobby bar area. The thing that as everyone else said blew us away was the service. They work so hard here. Our room was in bldg 25 4th floor great view of the pool and beach..loved the sliding door screens we left it open about a foot every night with the screen closed to hear the ocean. Never had a bug issue but had great wind the whole 10 days...never had a issue with the animals that someone just wrote they never ever came by the pool when we were there...only seagulls which you did have to be careful if eating by the pool. They serve you food by the pool, the chefs coming around with tapas type things by the pool was amazing and in the pool! Really great .....If you are thinking about this place go...we went to Excellence Riviera before and that too was great but I have to say the service here and the whole pool , beach kind of excelled over them...the room slightly nicer at excellence but no ocean views at excellence unless you were preferred which was alot more money there...the horseshape angle of Secrets gives everyone in high floors a fair shot at oceanview! We loved it only negative we had was the tub on the balcony is useless rip it out and put out lounge chairs and its perfect! Thats how far I had to stretch for a negative lol! We had one or two loud party groups but thankfully they went home at one point....there are always some rude people you will encounter but we met the nicest people from all over the world..god bless the workers at this resort they make it the best! Sorry for the rambling.....but I am a bit of a picky one and really research to death before I go somewhere...that being said I have truly never been dissapointed with anywhere I have gone....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We decided to go on our first all-inclusive beach vacation with our adult children, ages 20 and 23 over the Christmas week and had the time of our lives! It was the perfect blend of pure relaxation spending time by the incredibly clean, turquoise beach (raked every morning) with the option of participating in the many activities offered by the top notch Entertainment Team. The Entertainment staff are some of the most hard-working, humorous, talented and caring people and we thoroughly enjoyed them all. Many of the staff took time to learn and use our names. The omelette station chef knew our preferences after a couple days and was delightful. We took advantage of just about everything from beach volleyball, yoga, bike riding, Spanish classes, bungee trampoline, water aerobics, and so much more. The service was exceptional throughout the property and the staff friendly and approachable without being intrusive. While tipping is discretionary, the service was far better than many places where tipping is expected. The motto seems to be that everything is "excelente" which contributes to the feeling that people at the resort care, are willing to work hard, and appreciate your business. We did not at all feel threatened by the adorable small animals called coatis-in fact, we had fun spotting them and they were included in our Secrets Maroma photo album. Other areas of note: the spa facility is beautiful, the restaurants superb, and we met a variety of interesting people of all ages and from all over the world. The only issue we had occurred at the Cancun Airport. Upon arrival, be prepared to be pursued by "official looking" people behind the counter who want you to sign you up to listen to time share talks in exchange for discounted excursion tickets. Still not sure their legitimacy but we finally said "no," wasted too much time, and later heard there is "small print" to take note of. All in all, the beautiful surroundings, great people and attention to quality contributed to make Secrets Maroma Beach one of our favorite vacation spots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My Husband & I just spent 10 days at Secrets Maroma, Jan 3rd to the 13th 2013, We stayed in the Prefer Club room 2631, Everything was amazing. The Staff & Entertainment Team were fun and enjoyable, Jose Lopez, Sugar Reef Bar made our trip spectacular, Andre's in the prefer club bar did an excellent job taking care of us as well.. We thank all of the Staff They work very hard and deserve credit as well, I just simply can not say enough about this property. The Beach is gorgeous i was greeted every morning by Daniel who help be with the beach chairs, Ana & Marco were our servers who promptly catered to all our needs, They were amazing, And very hard workers, So please, Please Tip Them, people don't get it, yes your tips are included in the all inclusive package but let me say and stress how hard they work for you to enjoy your vacation, show them your appreciation for their hard work, a dollar here and there goes a long way! Be kind and patient with them they do their best!!

I was appalled by the Americans who visited the resort the week we were there, I am American and was embarrassed by the behavior of a few, They were rude, drunk and obnoxious to say the least but the staff kept smiling, there is NO need what so ever to treat the staff so badly, Those few Americans should be ashamed of themselves I was totally disgusted by their actions.

All I Can say is go and enjoy the beauty of this resort and enjoy the friendly Staff, They will make your Holiday/Wedding/Honeymoon over the top!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Secrets Maroma 3-12 January 2013. We have stayed at some excellent resorts around the world. This is certainly the best all-inclusive we have been too. We were staying during peak season, but the hotel is very well laid out so that people are spread out and the hotel doesn't seem that busy. I chose the hotel on the basis of tripadvisor reviews. I can't add much to what has already been said by other reviewers. The hotel really was excellent, and we would stay there again if we return to the area. I can't understand some of the negative reviews about this hotel - I wander if these are malicious - they don't represent anything we experienced. We are picky, and expect the best, but our expectations were exceeded at this resort.

We stayed in a junior swim out suite. Our suite was excellent - couldn't have wanted better, Iwe used the jacuzzi bath which is a nice addition. One of my main worries was that the swim out pool would be cold and that we wouldn't use it. It wasn't - they are heated and warm, and we used ours every day - so don't worry about that. Its worth getting a swim out - in January, it gets dark around 5:30/6:00pm so its nice to return to your room and use what feels like a private pool. Its also good that the mini bar is free so you can help yourself with no worries there. If there's anything you don't like in the mini-bar, just tell your concierge and request something else. For example, we asked to replace the diet cokes with budweiser. This was done immediately, no questions asked.

All the staff are so helpful. The entertainment staff are good fun. You are not pressured to join in the activities during the day, but they're there if you feel like it. We did the pool aerobics and ping-pong competition. On the last day, there were some fun games at the side of the pool, and I won a T.shirt.

The nightly entertainment is worth a mention. By far the best we have experienced in a resort - really excellent so well done Secrets Maroma. There was good variety and the standard of the shows were very high. They had some really talented people come in for the shows.

Food is also worth mentioning. There is loads of choice. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant. Some reviews have mentioned small portions. It's true - they do not give you large portions. But when you're eating so much food during the day, you don't want big portions. My wife and I put on about 3 kilos each during our stay. The breakfast buffet is superb - the best - everything you could possibly imagine. If you are too lazy to get off your sunbed, or to get out the pool, the staff even bring food at lunch time right to you (including by canoe in the pool) from the poolside grill.

Weather was good at this time of year. Averaged 29 degrees celsius while we were there. Very nice indeed.

The pool areas and beach were 10/10. Don't forget to go in the sea! (we found ourselves in the pool most of the time until the end of our trip)

There was only one thing I would change - if you eat at the restaurants by the pool in the evening, and you want one of the romantic tables next to the poolside, you must purchase a bottle of wine from the wine list. This was silly - nobody was sitting at these tables for this very reason. After paying what I had for this all inclusive holiday, there was no way I was paying for a bottle of wine. This policy should be changed.

Other reviewers have mentioned the timeshare talk. When we checked in, we were told about the resort vouchers, and that we should collect them once we had settled in. We knew this would involve a sales talk, so we simply never went to collect our vouchers, and that was that. They are not worth collecting unless your using the spa anyway.

Other than that, we wouldn't change a thing about our holiday.

Thanks you Secrets Maroma - it was a pleasure.

Room Tip: Get a swim out suite - so worth it. Prior to arrival we requested a suite at the end of the row - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Everything from the attentiveness and quality of the staff, to the facilities and layout were outstanding, and went way above and beyond our expectations.

The hotel itself is on a private white sand beach with beautiful blue water. The beach waiters are friendly, very attentive and make sure you always have a cocktail or juice in your hand. By the poolside the sun loungers, beds and amenities were incredible and there were always loungers available.

We visited the spa facilities for some treatments and were really impressed with the range of treatments available and also the quality of treatment. We thoroughly recommend going to the spa if possible as this was just a fantastic way to spend the day together.

Most restaurants were of equal calibre and consistency and generally the food is excellent. The Japanese restaurant was particularly good and the tappanyaki show table was one of our highlights of the holiday. The quantity and quality of food and drink was way above what we were expecting.

In summary, Secrets Maroma beach was simply the best place we have ever been and we would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others considering staying in the Mexico.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Orbitz, Venere, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.