We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect vacation :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Playa Maroma
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The most perfect vacation :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My parents took a friend's recommendation and picked this resort for their 25th anniversary. What an excellent choice! We stayed for 8 days, 7 nights and it was honestly the best vacation we have ever had. My sister and I stayed in a room with two double beds in building 12 on the third floor and my parents stayed in building 25 on the second floor. Both of the rooms were clean and spacious and the view was beautiful. I had called prior to our arrival to let them know we were celebrating our anniversary and my parents were welcomed with a happy anniversary banner on their door along with champagne and fruit in their room. The service was absolutely unbelievable, the best I have ever encountered. Everyone from the bell men, front desk staff, concierge, bartenders, baristas, servers, entertainment staff and housekeepers made sure that our stay was perfect. There was so much good food and we enjoyed every single meal. On our last breakfast, one of the servers said they could make a chicken broth soup for me if I wanted (for my hangover), if only I had known earlier. We ate at Bordeaux, the French restaurant two nights and Oceana, a seafood restaurant a couple times. Every bite was like OMG, this is tooo gooood. The beach was breathtaking and less than a five minute walk from the rooms. We went back and forth from the beach to the pool, or i guess more like from the bar on the beach to the bar in the pool haha. My parents got deep tissue massages at the spa and loved it! Usually, they are picky about their massages! My sister and I just used the spa facilities, the hydrotherapy and the steam room. It was so relaxing and how do they get everything to smell so freaking good?! Overall, everyone in our family was thrilled with Secrets Maroma and we hope to return soon. Hopefully reaallll soon :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,338
    897
    233
    83
    35
See reviews for
258
5359
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cut Off, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I wanted to plan the perfect retirement vacation for my husband & myself. After much research I decided to book with Secrets Maroma. The only negative thing I can come up with is that we have to leave in the morning. We've been here for six nights & EVERYTHING has exceeded our expectations! We are so pleased that we bought a vacation plan so that we can come back over & over. From the food, activities, entertainment, romantic dinner on the beach, spa & the EXCELLENT staff......it has been a dream come true. The service & cleanliness is impeccable! The staff is always willing to help & always smiling. The vibe is so very positive, it rubs off on everyone around & everyone looks so happy! Well worth the cost!!!! Thank you Secrets Maroma!

Room Tip: Swim up suite is well worth it! The 1200 block is near everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our second trip to Secrets Maroma and it was the best vacation we have ever had. The staff is friendly and efficient, the food was delicious and plentiful, the rooms were spacious and clean and beach was great for long walks. Overall this resort is great value for the money. We'll surely will come back to this paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited Secret in March 2012 and still raving about it!! Amazing and clean grounds. The beach was serene and beautiful. The service was unbelievable.. Anything and everything you could want and always with a smile and phrase "it's a pleasure!" Plenty of options for dining and never had a bad meal. Hoping to return for years to come, one of my favorite all inclusives!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were able to stay at this fantastic resort in February of 2012. It was, by far, the nicest place either of us have stayed at. The service was impeccable, the food was excellent, and the rooms are nothing short of amazing. I will use this stay to compare all other resorts in our future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from our 5th annual Christmas vacation at SMB, staying Dec. 15-30th. Once again SMB was beyond perfect. Each year we think there is no way they can outdo themselves from the previous year but they do. They are constantly looking for ways to improve your stay. This year was no exception.

Arrival and Checkin: We lucked out at Cancun airport and got through quite quickly. We used Cancun Transfers again this year and as usual they were ready for us and off we went, arriving at SMB in approx. 25 minutes. Once at SMB we were taken to Preferred Check-in and greeted by the fabulous Sophie, who got all our paperwork done quickly and efficiently. We stayed in Building 27 with Sandra as our room concierge for the 2nd year. Sandra is always there to help us with restaurant assistance and any special requests for our room, and always with a smile.

Pool: This was where we saw the most significant change, for the better. Every year there are always some guests who like to go out very early in the mornings and save loungers. Sometimes this can be up to 6 loungers. The annoyance comes when the actual people don't get to the pool until much later, 11 am or even afternoon. Meanwhile there may be a couple who want 2 loungers and can't get one. The resort now has a policy that if you don't occupy your lounger for over 30 minutes, the pool concierges' will remove your item (s) and that lounger will become vacant again for others to enjoy. Seems pretty straight forward and fair. But, of course some still not get it and will argue and kick up a fuss with the pool concierges'. This policy is posted at several areas around the pool so there shouldn't be any confusion. The worst is of course when a family, such as the one we witnessed 5 days in a rows, refused to abide by the policy, even though it had been explained to them. I'm not sure I understand where some people would misinterpret this policy, thinking it applies to everyone but them. The outstanding pool concierge staff, Paulo, Jamie and Fabien have so much patience when dealing with this problem and they deserve a lot of credit when dealing with this issue. If you need assistance with your lounger, umbrella or anything, they are right there for you. It was also a pleasant surprise to find there weren't too many FO's there (Floatie Obssessed) hoarding their floats by their chairs. It was nice to see that we can all share :)

Restaurants: It was wonderful having our 1st meal at Himitsu and Felix as our waiter. Another of our favorites. It was also delightful to go to World Cafe the next morning and see that Edgar was there. What a great guy. He was assisted by Gretal. The buffet was as incredible as always, offering pretty much anything you wanted or needed. Portifino (love the lamb), Bordeau and Oceana all met with our expectations again this year, offering great service and food quality.

If you stay in the preferred, and are early risers, drop by the Preferred Club at 7am for an amazing cappuccino from Andres who is just as cheerful at 7am as he is in the late afternoon.

Well in closing I just want to say that if you choose SMB, you won't be sorry. You will always be greeted with a smile and a sincere willingness to assist you. Mr. Gino and his team should pride themselves on having the most outstanding service anywhere. Special thanks to Rafael Cordova and Ivan Santos for all that you do to make our vacation perfecto! Now we just have to make it through 11 months for our Dec. 2013 vacation!

If you have any questions feel free to send an email and we will respond.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've been to Secrets Silver Sands twice, and decided to check out a different property with this chain. It's about half an hour's driver further from the Cancun Airport than the Silver Sands, which isn't really an issue, since both are less than an hour drive time.

We got a preferred room this time, which gives you access to a private club area that has wi-fi and a few computers, along with a private check in. The hotel rooms themselves were basically the same as the non-preferred ones, and although they offer a short walk to the beach, they are as far away as they can be from the main hotel building. The concierge was attentive, and knew us by name at the end of the first day. We never actually used the concierge, but other guests raved about his attention to detail.

The beach is spectacular and vastly superior to the beach at Silver Sands. The pools are numerous and large, and although the hotel was full the week that we were there, there was never any problem getting a lounge chair at the pool.

The swim up rooms were rather interesting. There were four or five swim up rooms on each swim up pool, but there was virtually no sun getting to the rooms because they are visually blocked off from the rest of the resort by a high fence and some heavy vegetation. I would not have been happy with a swim up room here-- at Silver Sands, they are more open and lots of light gets to the rooms.

The brochure lists the same restaurants at both properties and they are the same in name, but neither the food nor the menus were as good as Silver Sands. The service in the restaurants ran the full gambit from "lovely" to "marginally surly", and some of the dishes were really not very good. The French restaurant and the Asian cuisine are definitely the best of the group but the Mexican restaurant is nowhere close to the equivalent at Silver Sands.

The one thing we really missed at Maroma is a good bar where people gathered before or after dinner. Silver Sands has a great square-shaped bar in front of the main building which was perfect for meeting fellow guests and just "kicking back". The main bar at Maroma is up a large set of stairs and indoors, and is not conducive for meeting people at all. It basically looks like a long hotel lobby with small tables for couples. There is another bar referred to as a Sports Bar which is small and uncomfortable and a a pair of bars both in the main pool and beside it.

Entertainment was so-so, but on the same level as the Silver Sands.

Bottom line, if we went back to Cancun to a Secrets, we would go back to Silver Sands rather than Maroma. We really don't see why the resort charges more for this property, and had we not been to Silver Sands first, I'm not sure we would have gone there, based on our experience with Maroma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.