We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for seniors.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Playa Maroma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great resort for seniors.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The resort was clean and the food was very good. The reason we went was for a wedding. The wedding coordinator was terrible. They left the cabanas along the isle where the bride was walking in from. So we had old French balls in the pictures. I know it wouldn't be as private but they did not follow through with what they said they would do. Reception was planned for outside. It started to rain so we had to move everything inside. It took them an hour and a half to reset 5 tables. While we all waited in the lobby starving, they would not get us any appetizers from any of the restaurants. When we checked how much longer it would be until they would be ready, we walked in on the staff standing in the reception room watching music videos. Luckily are group was great so we had a lot of fun regardless. But if you are the type that would let things ruin your time this place can do that. You not able to sit at the restaurant with more than a group of four. So if your the fifth person have fun eating a lone. For a five star adult resort they had way too many rules. Also, I have been to many other resorts in and around Playa and I can honestly say it is over priced. I stayed in four star and five star resorts at half the price and had more options for food, better entertainment, and was not surround by seniors that glared every time you made a peep. If your going to this resort make sure you going with a group of people who will make the most out of it. If it wasn't for the group we went with I would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,492
    921
    238
    87
    37
See reviews for
269
5509
34
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have been to other area resorts but this was our first visit to Secrets Maroma Beach. We LOVED every minute of this vacation and have every intention to stay here again for all trips in the future! The rooms were clean and beautiful. Kept up nicely all day. Felt very safe. The food and beverages were out of this world! We had no complaints about ANY of the restaurants, and the Lobby Bar was a lot of fun each night. Look no further for a better, more hard working staff. Must meet Guillermo--the BEST bar tender on the planet! So polite, smart and friendly! Made excellent drinks and had fun with our group! Our favorite restaurant was El Patio. Our favorite server was there--Gilberto. What a fun, professional and knowlegeable guy. Made the BEST food recommendations! We loved every minute at this beautiful resort. The entertainment was also very good. Appreciated Manny and the others for adding in more fun. Every aspect surpassed our expectations. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our third trip to Secrets, our first to Secrets Maroma. The resort exceeded our expectations, which were already high from our previous experiences. Food was excellent. Pools were quiet, clean, and comfortable. The beach was pristine. Room and amenties were first rate. What distinguished this resort from prior vacations, because we had come to expect all of this, was the extremely attentive and caring staff. From our personal concierge Rogelio to the site manager Rafael, Secrets rolled out the red carpet to make sure that every need and want was taken care. They mean it when they say "welcome home."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this resort!

We just returned from our Honeymoon and I was really upset as we were leaving.

We stayed in a Preferred Club Junior Suite with a soaking tub. While we didn't spend much time in the room with all the activities going on, I loved the room and its features. The soaking tub was a nice private touch for a honeymoon stay.

The food was delicious. We were not disappointed in anything we tried and I am a picky eater. Our favorites were the Mexican restaurant and the Hibachi. The service from the waiters at the two restaurants were outstanding. They really went above and beyond! (Omar at El Patio and Pedro at the Hibachi)

We booked a honeymoon package and participated in everything that was included. The massage and dinner on the beach were great!

We absolutely loved the entertainment team. They were all so friendly and even remembered our names! I had so much fun with them. They will definitely be missed.

The beach was stunning. The sand was white and soft. There were no shells on the sand. I am not much of a beach person, I usually prefer the pool but spent a lot of time on the beach. The pool was great too and the service at both is amazing. You will never be without a drink in your hand.

This was such a great trip and we received a great deal when booking through Expedia. If possible, I cannot wait to return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We traveled to Mexico for our sons wedding, it couldn't have been any better than this. The surroundings, the staff, the rooms, the FOOD, the service, the beach, the beautiful weather and best of all the most BEAUTIFUL wedding ever. This resort left nothing out, they were spectacular in every way! I would recommend this resort and experience to anyone that is looking for a get away beyond their expectations! Thank you Secrets we hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor facing ocean view, wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed everything about this resort. The staff was great. And the food was amazing.

This resort was very accommodating. We were never disappointed.

There is honestly nothing bad I could say about this resort. We will def be coming back again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a (way too short) week at SMB. We had read the reviews religiously prior to our stay and found the resort to be everything that we had hoped for it to be.

We spent our week on the beach and enjoyed the beautiful water, the spectacular service, and the variety of fruity beverages that were available. I asked the server to surprise me each time and eventually settled in on a few favorites (Miami Vice, Mango Tango, Jamaican Star.)

Our room was nice and we enjoyed receiving our turn down service with a printout detailing what all would be happening the next day. Little touches like that were not expected, but were certainly appreciated.

There is no way you can go hungry at SMB. There is something for everyone.

We did the Preferred Honeymoon Package and enjoyed all of the perks that came with it- massages, champagne breakfast, private dinner on the beach, but we agreed at when we return (and we will return!) we will just go with a regular room. We spent most of our time out of the room anyway!

We were impressed with the staff from the concierge to the wait staff and entertainment. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

We can't wait to return for our anniversary!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.