We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I went there for 10 days for our honeymoon this past summer. The resort was well kept and and designed. We enjoyed the shows as well as the wide variety of restaurants offered - they were delicious! Above all, the service was incredible and the staff were attentive and friendly. We especially enjoyed the services of our concierge, Roger, waiters Darwin, Freddie and Jesus, and the entertainment staff including but not limited to Manny, Fermin, Miguel, Jay C and Alberto. Thank you so much to all of you for providing us an incredible vacation.
-Kim & Drew

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,573
    935
    241
    87
    38
See reviews for
271
5590
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,912)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Just spent three excellent days at the all inclusive Secrets Maroma on the amazing riviera Maya. The hotel's facilities are impressive, very nice laid out. It was practically at max occupancy and it was not to be perceived. The room cleaning service, at the restaurants, on the beach, at the reception, and overall, is superb. I want to point out that the mexican tourism culture is one of the best all around. Cannot but recommend this great hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited Maroma two years ago and loved it. It was our "ideal" hotel. Our expectations were very high this trip and everything was excellent, but there were a couple of disappointments.

1. The Preferred Club benefits have slipped. Their bar no longer had hot "Happy Hour" snacks. The chicken wings or crabcakes were a great snack to tide us over coming back from the beach before dinner. We recommend the Creme of 1921 Tequila as a shot.
2. I was shocked that you had to be preferred club to get basic internet access in your room.
3. Last time the main pool was heated but this time it was cooler than the ocean. The whirlpools could have been a bit warmer, but they are a great place to meet drinking buddies.
4. The entertainment activities no longer had good prizes. Only at bingo was there a prize. Last time we won bottles of tequila, entertainment staff T-shirts, etc.

NO More sour grapes. Check-in was easy, the staff friendly and courteous. The beach is the best and there was never a problem getting a lounge chair at the beach or pool.

The entertainment staff was great. We enjoyed getting to know Big Willy, Lorena, Mani, Bambi, and Diana. Oscar the tennis pro saw us play and offered to come out to hit with us. That was special.

Overall a great resort and we look forward to returning

Room Tip: Facing the ocean, the balcony for rooms on the left are in the sun most of the day and late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived there on Nov.1 and stayed for 5 awesome nights. This place far exceeded my expectations! This place was beautiful, clean,and the service was beyond friendly (they would do anything for you). The quality of the food was unbelievable! I can't say enough Good about the place and the people who work there, Thank you so much! Special Thanks to our concierge Raymundo and Daniel at the Beach bar! I will most definately be back to this paradise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked our trip 3 months in advanced for 8 people total. 4 Rooms for 4 couples. Booked all at the same time. Called two weeks before twice and re-confirmed our reservations. All was good.

We arrived and there were no reservations. We sat in the lobby for a while to figure things out. They could only offer us 5 nights. The other 3 had to be at a different resort. We chose The Vine in Cancun. All 4 couples got our rooms late after 4:00pm. We were all give rooms with double beds. Such a big bummer. Talked with another couple who were there for their wedding from England. They asked this bride to move on her last day to a smaller room and would give her $200.00 to spend. She asked if she could spend it at the spa they said "NO".You can spend in the gift shop. LOL Poor bride. She didn't move. Also another lovely couple all the way from France had a 19 day reservation. They didn't have their reservation either and she could only stay 5 nights. She was scrambiling to find another resort for the remainder of her vacation. I heard the resort had two hugs groups coming in and out throughout our stay which booked out the resort. BEWARE THEY OVERBOOK THIS RESORT. It sounds like normal practice. Such a bummer..

Ok, The good stuff:

Beautiful Resort and grounds. You really can't see the pool or beach at all from most of the rooms, unless you are in the preferred buildings. It is a long ways to walk from main part of resort to pools and beach. This was okay for us, we love the exersise.

Rooms- were nice and comfortable. The double beds were comfortable too!! He He

Food-The food was excellent. The espresso was superb in the room and at the Cafe. Drinks were very good and high quality.

Staff-Was so nice and friendly. We really loved Fransisco and Dennis(with braces).

Shows-The American Idol show was fantastic.

Beach-Was beautiful. Sand so powdery and soft. Swimming in the ocean was a blast. I'm a huge fan of the Cancun beaches also. Very comparable.

What makes this resort so expensive is the beach. It really is not worth the price. You can get the same look (Beach) in Cancun minus the jungle look.

Entertainment Staff-A blast. Loved beach volleyball everyday twice a day. They made it fun, and what a great beach to play on.

We would return again on "special pricing" A sale or something like that. We would be prepared to go to another resort during our stay. That was afirst for us and this was our 6th all inclusive trip to Mexico and 5 star resorts.

Enjoy, you will love it, just hope you can stay your whole week. :)

Room Tip: Up high to get some sort of view. Preferred Room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After coming back from our second all inclusive experience all I have to say is "it will be hard to top this resort." We went in 2009 and were blown away by the quality of food, service and beauty of grounds and beach. Seriously , if you are going to do all inclusive don't look elsewhere, I doubt the quality has declined since then, we had a horrible experience in Punta Cana just now and always talked about how great our fist all inclusive experience was at this place. Will probably never do all inclusive again since Maroma is adults only and we have a little one now :(

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our second visit to this wonderful resort. The staff can't do enough for you. Special "shout outs" to Andres in the preferred club, Carlos who was our concierge, and to all of the entertainment staff who work their tail off all day long in order to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We really appreciated the efforts of Willy, Fermin, Diana, and Bambi for making sure we were having fun. The food and drink are great, the rooms are fabulous, and the whole experience is really special. We can't wait to go back again next year.

Two suggestions:

1 - Take some extra dollar bills along and reward excellent service. Although "tips are included", these hard working folks deserve more then they are making. They never expect anything more, but they really appreciate it when offered. A few dollars to the servers and maid staff go a long way.

2 - Avoid the sales pitch from the vacation club folks. To be kind, they are "less than honest" when making their pitch. If you even think about buying into their program, you need to Google it very carefully before jumping in. Just saying...

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views for sure, but since we didn't spend too much time there, it was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.