We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Save Saved
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Playa Maroma
Derby, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I spent a week here for our tenth anniversary. We loved everything!! With this being and all-inclusive resort, I was expecting a lower quality experience, but everything was great!! The food, the drinks, the service and entertainment were all top notch!! The beach was the most beautiful beach we had been on, and our massages at the spa were awesome too. Even though we would be tired at night, the entertainment they provided was well worth staying up for. Our room was cool, with a soaker tub on the balcony and everything was very clean and taken care of. The most impressive thing was the different "themes" they would have every night for dining options or entertainment. There was always someting new going on and kept it very exciting. Highly recommended and I would definitely return in future!!

Room Tip: We had an excellent view of the ocean from building sixteen, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,775 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5,492
    921
    238
    87
    37
See reviews for
269
5509
34
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,877)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

To be honest maybe we had high expectations of this 5 star(after being to a 5 star in Dubai!)and it was part of our honeymoon for eight nights.Overall we did enjoy the stay.The drive up to the hotel was a little shaky.We were greeted with a warm welcome at reception and had no problems checking in or out and all the staff at all times were informative and helpful.It was our first time to stay in an all inclusive resort.The food was good and there was a great choice of food and restaurants,we both loved breakfast! The omelettes were amazing!Our bedroom had a "honeymooners"sash on it which was a nice touch after we arrived.The room itself was only ok.It was clean and spacious but I expected a more luxurious feel for what we had paid.Unfortunately it rained for 2 days really heavily while we were there.Some of the other guests complained of water running under their bedroom doors and the staff struggled to keep the water away from the restaurant doors at times.One of the restaurants had a few leaks while we were eating dinner one night!The pool area was nice but I was disgusted at the local lizards who looked for food off the guests by the pool and who also used the pool!Are they toilet trained??We used the beach much more.The sand was soft,the beach was clean and the water was great!Service on the beach was good aswell.We tried to give a tip as often as we could but we didnt feel it was expected of us all the time.The spa was fabulous,the choice of treatments and the staff were excellent!It was a bit pricy but well worth it!Nighttime entertainment was in a theatre but the water got through here aswell.I found the seats damp at times and could see some of them had mildew.The actual entertainment was hit and miss but we really enjoyed the rock show.We did enjoy the stay but in general I feel the hotel overall needs a little updating!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Put simply, this is a wonderful hotel. By far the best we have experienced. The room, beach, hotel decor, gym, cleanliness, service, people, food & drink is very, very good. If you have the weather to go with it, then you WILL enjoy yourselves. Staff cannot do enough for you. If I had the money to spend on a holiday next year I may well consider elsewhere but if I were to recommend anywhere in Mexico I would not tell you to go to anywhere other than Secrets Maroma Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cheap room which faced the jungle & did not miss much. The partial sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Beach was one of the nicest I have ever been on, the Food was out of this world, and the staff and service was over the top. Never once waited for a drink or waited in line for food. No matter what time of the day you could get a chair at the pool or on the beach without an issue. Fabian at the pool was the best the minute we would show up down there he was right there getting our towels laid out on our chairs and asking what we wanted this guy knows how to treat guests and is a HUGE asset to Secrets great job Fabian!! Overall I did not encounter bad staff. Know for the entertainment... the entertainment staff is some of the best I have ever seen they had so many activities and the shows were wonderful. Also I would recommend the Coco Bongo excursion through the resort it was a blast and thanks to Bambi and Sasha we were in good hands and they did a wonderful job! Last but not least The Ferminator was one of our favorite people to do activities with always smiling and making us laugh you do a wonderful job at what you do!!! Thanks Secrets and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Open debate between the group that traveled here as to whether or not prefered club was worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, the service was amazing. Loved the room service, i usually dont like room service food but this time it was really good!! The buffet is great, and they are always doing something different at the pool (food), the a la carte restaurants are awesome and you dont have to make reservations( except for the tepanyaki show) the beach is beautiful!! White sand and crystal clear water! The room was very pretty and we had a jacuzzi and partial ocean view. The spa was really nice aswell, very good massage and the service amazing! I loves this hotel and i would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband gave me a budget and seven days of his vacation time and said "plan something for the two of us." We've been cruise addicts, but the budget this time wouldn't cover anything new and exciting. After mucho research, I recommended Secrets Maroma Beach and we made the reservation.

It was one of our best vacations ever.

The hotel is top notch - there were no surprises because I read LOTS of reviews on tripadvisor. In addition, the property's promotional communications are accurate - things are just as presented...there's no need for enhanced photographs or hyperbole because the experience is exceptional.

We arrived on Saturday, October 27 and reluctantly checked out on Saturday, November 3. The room (swim-out, preferred club) was clean, spacious, very comfortable and private. Housekeeping must have ESP because we never saw them; yet they cleaned and refreshed our room twice each day. The pool outside the room is a sweet, shady retreat in the afternoon when the sun becomes hot and you wish to have some quiet time.

All of the pools are super-clean and inviting. We never lacked for a chair, umbrella, towel, pool float or service - the area is well managed and most people are considerate of others, not "saving" chairs or floats when not in use. BTW, the hotel was at full (or near-full) capacity while we were there. The same was true of the beach.

Speaking of the beach - no words can describe how perfect it is. Powder-fine clean sand, clear turquoise water, gentle but noticeable waves, palm trees, almost no commercial development...can you see the picture? Idyllic.

Food is excellent, service is way above average...if you're thinking about going to Secrets Maroma Beach, stop thinking and make the reservation.

Room Tip: Our end-room swim-up in Building 26 was highly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time experiencing an all inclusive resort. We were on our honeymoon (Nov 2012). We were very very pleased with everything about the resort. The staff was especially hospitable and friendly. The food was amazing, even the lunch grill. You could tell all of the fruit and vegetables were fresh. Every restaurant had great food and a great atmosphere. It was great to have such a variety of restaurants so that the week did not get boring. Room service was excellent. The room was very clean and luxurious. The views around the resort were exotic just as you would hope. They even had exotic wild animals that would come around searching for food. We did our fair share of drinking and felt like we got an awesome value considering the quality of food and beverage selection (top shelf liquor).

The only setback was that a corporate group of 500 came in halfway through the week. That is no ones fault, it was just bad timing for us. It went from being a quiet luxury resort to clogged and crowded...but still very luxurious.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.