We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Maroma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, the service was amazing. Loved the room service, i usually dont like room service food but this time it was really good!! The buffet is great, and they are always doing something different at the pool (food), the a la carte restaurants are awesome and you dont have to make reservations( except for the tepanyaki show) the beach is beautiful!! White sand and crystal clear water! The room was very pretty and we had a jacuzzi and partial ocean view. The spa was really nice aswell, very good massage and the service amazing! I loves this hotel and i would totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,817
    978
    247
    91
    41
See reviews for
279
5,835
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,020)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband gave me a budget and seven days of his vacation time and said "plan something for the two of us." We've been cruise addicts, but the budget this time wouldn't cover anything new and exciting. After mucho research, I recommended Secrets Maroma Beach and we made the reservation.

It was one of our best vacations ever.

The hotel is top notch - there were no surprises because I read LOTS of reviews on tripadvisor. In addition, the property's promotional communications are accurate - things are just as presented...there's no need for enhanced photographs or hyperbole because the experience is exceptional.

We arrived on Saturday, October 27 and reluctantly checked out on Saturday, November 3. The room (swim-out, preferred club) was clean, spacious, very comfortable and private. Housekeeping must have ESP because we never saw them; yet they cleaned and refreshed our room twice each day. The pool outside the room is a sweet, shady retreat in the afternoon when the sun becomes hot and you wish to have some quiet time.

All of the pools are super-clean and inviting. We never lacked for a chair, umbrella, towel, pool float or service - the area is well managed and most people are considerate of others, not "saving" chairs or floats when not in use. BTW, the hotel was at full (or near-full) capacity while we were there. The same was true of the beach.

Speaking of the beach - no words can describe how perfect it is. Powder-fine clean sand, clear turquoise water, gentle but noticeable waves, palm trees, almost no commercial development...can you see the picture? Idyllic.

Food is excellent, service is way above average...if you're thinking about going to Secrets Maroma Beach, stop thinking and make the reservation.

Room Tip: Our end-room swim-up in Building 26 was highly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first time experiencing an all inclusive resort. We were on our honeymoon (Nov 2012). We were very very pleased with everything about the resort. The staff was especially hospitable and friendly. The food was amazing, even the lunch grill. You could tell all of the fruit and vegetables were fresh. Every restaurant had great food and a great atmosphere. It was great to have such a variety of restaurants so that the week did not get boring. Room service was excellent. The room was very clean and luxurious. The views around the resort were exotic just as you would hope. They even had exotic wild animals that would come around searching for food. We did our fair share of drinking and felt like we got an awesome value considering the quality of food and beverage selection (top shelf liquor).

The only setback was that a corporate group of 500 came in halfway through the week. That is no ones fault, it was just bad timing for us. It went from being a quiet luxury resort to clogged and crowded...but still very luxurious.

Room Tip: Swim out rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowerAlabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A nice van took us from the airport to the resort. Since we arrived after dark, it was somewhat disconcerting to turn down this small road at a tiny convenience store and proceed into the jungle--honestly. The road was gravel and pretty bumpy, which was hard on us old folks. When we got to the gate, the first thought was 'Jurassic Park' as the entry was really rather forbidding at night. My husband is handicapped--uses a walker--and when we got to the entrance of the hotel, all he could see were stairs. Fortunately, there was a ramp off to the side, and the porter was extremely nice and helpful. That is the resort's main resource, in my opinion: their staff. More on this later. In the lobby we were seated and the check-in began. We were offered wet towels and champagne. In just a few minutes we were ready to go to our room. The porter took us in a golf cart, rather than having us walk, which was much appreciated. He showed us everything about the room, even how to work the fan--which had to be programmed--and about the 'do not disturb' light which NO ONE would interrupt. He delivered our luggage promptly, not expecting a tip. (THIS IS AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT.) We gave him one for exemplary service. The room was certainly nice. Four poster king-size bed, jacuzzi, shower, two wash basins, seating area, large tv, balcony. In the morning we saw the view including a little of the Caribbean and lots of green and quiet--definitely an adult resort. Breakfast at the buffet would become a ritual for our eight day stay. The food was great--anything you could ask for was there. Coffee was excellent. Service was impeccable, especially the maitre 'd. This was our best part of the day. Most of the rest of the days, we had little to do. We were waiting for the rest of our wedding party to arrive. We planned to take some excursions, but a taxi was $44 to anywhere, so we gave it up. There was a nice swimming area, with a bar and we tried that, as well as the beach. It was definitely a pretty place. We drank more than we usually do--after all it was included, right.

On the downside, getting our room made up was a chore. We get up around 9 am and the maid had already left a note that she had been there. I thought she would be back, but no. By 4 pm the room had not been touched. I called housekeeping and they thought I wanted to have a turn down service, but I told them I needed the room cleaned and bed made. Someone came after awhile, but she wasn't happy about it. This happened the next day as well. Each building has a concierge, so I went to ours (although she was off duty as much as on) and had her make a note to have our room made up after 10 am daily and turned down before 8 pm daily. This almost happened. We mostly got the turn down service and the room was made up later--at least after we went to breakfast. Our room was freezing and the thermostat could not be adjusted. I used a blanket sitting around most of the time. I did spend a lot of time on the balcony where it was warm and not too humid. The concrete walkways seemed great at first, but soon began to hurt our legs. There was no relief unless we went to the beach. Grass would have been welcome anywhere. The restaurants--eight of them--had excellent food, I understand. We did try Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood and room service. All were excellent, with excellent service. BUT no air-conditioning. There were fans, but mostly they were open to the outdoors. It was really too hot and humid to be very comfortable with this, which is why we chose room service. I can't imagine how this would be in the summer. There was entertainment every night, BUT the times changed without notice, so if you had dinner and expected to go to the show, you might have to wait an hour or more before the show or your found that the show had already taken place and there was really nothing else going on. IT WAS VERY DARK WALKING AT NIGHT. Maybe this is romantic, but it is also dangerous. We had a very difficult time getting from one place to another at night because the lighting was so very poor. Now about that 'do not disturb' light. It appears the maid is the only one who takes notice of it. The person who replaced our drinks knocked and came in to take care of that; the concierge did twice--once to put a Happy Birthday banner on the door and once to replace coffee we didn't use; and we also got phone calls asking if everything was all right when the light was on. Maybe I'm asking too much when I want privacy. Finally, before we checked out, we asked for a comment card. There were a number of staff we especially wanted to thank and we did want the resort to know of our concerns, also. We were told we would get a comment card at check-out. Guess what? No comment card. Also, no email, so that was not the excuse. I know many others are raving about how wonderful this place is, and it DOES have some great things to recommend it, but for the price, it leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: You can request a swim out room, probably at a lower rate than an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Serects Maroma and we really liked it there. The rooms were great. The veiws were great. The foods was very good. It was a great place for a romatic getway, honeymoon or anniversary. We went there for a large group business meeting and we will go back on our on someday so we can enjoy it even more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for ten days at the beginning of November for our honeymoon.
We had a swim out room next to the main building.
I could not rate this hotel any higher. The staff were amazing and could not have done more to try and make our stay any better. The quality of the rooms and amenities were top notch. The choice and standard of food was like nothing I expected, everything was to the highest restaurant standard.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and I would definitely be happy to return myself.

Room Tip: The swim out room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were there for 8 days and the facilities and staff were amazing. You will not be disappointed booking a vacation to this location. All of their restaurants are worth going back to each night. But I highly recommend trying each and every one there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Puerto Juarez | Km 306.5 S/N Punta Maroma, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen CP 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun is tucked away on secluded Maroma Beach, voted the World's Best Beach by the Travel Channel four years in a row. This unlimited-luxury heaven provides opulence to the most discerning traveler with a pure white sand beach, stunning ocean views stretching as far as the eye can see, elegant suites providing 24-hour room service, daily refreshed mini-bars and several of them with swim-out access to twelve smaller pools plus a shimmering infinity pool, gourmet dining options and chic lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun Hotel Playa Del Carmen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.