We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great photo ops, traditional Maine lighthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pemaquid Point Lighthouse

Pemaquid Point Lighthouse
Bristol, ME
(207) 563-2739
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Bristol
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great photo ops, traditional Maine lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

3 couples visited this traditional Maine lighthouse in September. The sea and the rocks are really the attraction here. The lighthouse is smaller than we expected. There is a small museum underneath and you can go through it and up into the lighthouse, for just a few minutes, where there is a groovy light and you can make funny faces at each other through it. The rocks are amazing. Just be careful, one lady cracked her nose open on them, and the folks who work there love to tell stories of people and children who were swept out to sea and whose battered bodies returned days later. If you take a little path to the side of the lighthouse, there is a beach with hundreds of cairns (piles of rocks), which is stunningly beautiful and peaceful. If you go to the gift shop to the other side, use the porta potties, the Sea Gull makes you pay for nasty dirty toilets that are also outside. Maine is so beautiful and this is a lovely spot to visit in Maine.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    38
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Pemaquid Point Lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is the quintessential Maine lighthouse. Easy to reach, walking required however while there. Nicely maintained with a small museum with possibly the largest lobster I've ever seen, and well preserved! The unique rocks revealed at low tide are amazing and one can walk them, albeit carefully. Truly the essence of the Maine coast right before your eyes. Best part...it's free and if you've limber, you can climb up the lighthouse stairs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hgih Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I love love love this place! It is SO beautiful! Not sure if you are supposed to, but my fiancé and I climbed down onto the rocks and watched and listened to the waves crash against the rocks. It was April, and pretty chilly, but it was such an amazing experience! I am convinced to go back there and take my bridal portraits! It is BEAUTIFUL!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must see in mid-coastal Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pemaquid Point is at the end of a winding road north of the Boothbay Harbor...it is a must-see! The point is breathtaking, especially on a sunny day. Great scenery, lots of surf and rock-walking and the lighthouse is fun historically. Plenty of parking, a wonderful picnic area, awesome picture-taking opportunities. The drive from Brunswick and Bath is a great adventure unto itself...lost of great towns and villages along the way and places to get Lobster and local crafts. About an hour drive from Brunswick and totally worth it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favorite Lighthouse in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

While in Maine this summer, my husband and I decided to see several lighthouses. This one was my favorite by far. The dramatic rocks along the coast that as you climb on them you can stare at this adorable lighthouse, while the waves crash behind you. The scenery is unmatched and the only regret you may have is that you can't stay longer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pemaquid Point Lighthouse also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Phippsburg, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Pemaquid Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.