We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Maine Lighthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pemaquid Point Lighthouse

Pemaquid Point Lighthouse
Bristol, ME
(207) 563-2739
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Bristol
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks
Attraction details
Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quintessential Maine Lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Finally, after years of living in Downeast Maine, we made a meandering trip out to Pemaquid to visit the lighthouse and park. Really a wonderful experience. The setting is dramatic with beautiful rocky coastline and ocean views. Easy climb up the lighthouse stairs to the still functioning light and prism. The lighthouse museum has lots of interesting artifacts and historic notes and photographs. When we were there, an elderly park volunteer was gladly answering questions and sharing old-time stories. This is a worthy "off the beaten track" side trip and we're glad we finally made the effort to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    38
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have to visit this lighthouse every time I travel to coastal Maine. It is in such a beautiful setting and the grounds are extremely well-kept and so very picturesque! On this trip the weather was perfect, so it made for a totally enjoyable experience. Artists were lined up on the grassy lawn creating their own interpretations of Pemaquid Point Lighthouse and the amazing ocean vista. I have been fortunate enough to take many photos of the light and its grounds, including photos from the vantage point of the rocks below which offers a truly awesome perspective of Pemaquid Point. If you have never visited, please go, and climb the tower if it is open. If you have visited before, go again and re-experience the adventure!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Pemaquid point lighthouse was somewhat crowded, even on a weekday, but it was well worth the drive and the $2 entry fee. You can climb to the top of the lighthouse, but I wouldn't recommend it for those who are very tall, have broad shoulders or are uncomfortable in tight spaces. If the tide is going out and the weather is good, ramble around on the rocks below the lighthouse. There are tide pools and the rocks themselves are interesting. They also have a museum in the lightkeeper's house. .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You cannot go wrong coming here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

You will be transported to the prettiest coastal Maine postcard you can find. just go there....
Cannot believe one person actually gave it an "average" rating.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth it to climb the lighthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Beautiful park. Climb the lighthouse it is well worthit. Ultimate maine experience. View is just like the postcards. All the volunteers are locals snd were very freindly gave us great tips on where the locals eat. That alone was worth the two dollar entry fee.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pemaquid Point Lighthouse also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Phippsburg, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Pemaquid Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemaquid Point Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.