We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family owned motel on Highland Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Highland Lake Resort to your Saves list
Highland Lake Resort
115 No. High St., Bridgton, ME 04009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family owned motel on Highland Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at this old fashioned, family owned lakeside motel at the end of July and had a wonderful time. The rooms were simple, charming and well-maintained, and worked well for our family of 4. The Highland Lake Resort is located right on Highland Lake, with a beautiful beach, picnic area and access for canoes, rowboats, paddle boats and kayaks, which guests can check out for free--a wonderful amenity. Our two boys loved the game room (ping pong, pool table), too. The Highland Lake Resort is a great find in the Lakes Region of western Maine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
I'm so glad your family had a good time! We try to maintain that "New England Lakes" atmosphere while providing as many amenities as possible. We also like to let our guests use all of our facilities for free, without "resort" charges or other hidden costs. After all, the idea is for everyone to have the entire Maine lake vacation experience! Thanks again for visiting with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
12
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a local event. We heard great reviews... Not what we received! There were people tailgating in the parking lot, the lake front was crowded and loud and the visit was far from peaceful! It was quiet in our room but the amenities were so outdated! The manager was non confrontational and let the wild guests run the show! The value and the product received do not match. The view was lovely though and housekeepers are very kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
In this case, I have to agree with many of the writer's comments. The weekend she is discussing was the date for a group's family reunion, which has been held at the Resort every three years since the early 1990's. This year, all but 5 rooms were taken by the family members, while non-reunion guests had booked earlier or taken a last-minute cancellation. Sadly, the family had found more "branches" since their last reunion, and dozens of people who were not our guests "visited" with their relatives. While we were somewhat prepared for this by allowing them use of our function room at night, many were invited (without our knowledge) to come visit during the days.

After the first complaint, the family members were asked to park in the public areas (not in front of guest rooms), to make sure that other guests had use of the beach and other facilities, and to stop their festivities after 10PM (as we ask all guests to do). According to all the non-reunion guests who were talked to by my staff, the reunion members complied. Sadly, it's hard to tell people who have been coming for decades that they can't visit with other family members on our property. We can only ask them to be respectful of others when they're here.

Since this last reunion, we have decided to allow no more than 60% of our rooms to be rented by any one group during the summer, and any non-guest reunion members may only gather in our function room in the future. This unusually-big group, and this reviewer's comments, have helped guide our new policies. We apologize for the reviewer's bad experience, and invite her to contact us for a free (and, I'm sure, much quieter) stay next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Highland Lake Resort midweek in early July. It it situated right on Highland lake which makes for some amazing views! The people that work are friendly and were ready to help us with any request. We had a problem with our key and the gentleman was very friendly and was apologetic for the mishap. The room itself was comfortable and clean but a little dated. The bathroom was very small. It was very quiet though and I can not stress enough how beautiful the view was. The resort offers canoes and pedal boats which people can take out onto the lake free of charge. The Resort itself is about a mile from the downtown area that has some good restaurants and shops. It was a nice, quiet and peaceful stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woody W, Owner at Highland Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
OK, I'll admit it. Some rooms are still a little dated. And the bathrooms in one building are... well... a bit compact. After all, the buildings were built in the 1950's. The fixtures, though have all been updated.

We've been redoing the rooms every year, and have to chose between a "rustic" lake resort look and a "modern" motel look. The one thing we've done is make sure the beds are comfortable, the amenities are modern (free WiFi, Keurig coffeemakers, A/C, etc.), and there's plenty to do on site at no extra cost. And, of course, we have great staff, always willing to help and always with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

After a long drive, I felt any stress melt away once I climbed into the resort's lakeside hammock, The view of Highland Lake and the White Mountains is breathtaking and extremely calming. I was even treated to the sight of a Common Loon who swam right up to the shore twice.

The resort is centrally located in the lovely town of Bridgton. Restaurants, shopping and an art gallery are within a mile and a half. I had an especially good breakfast at Beth's.

While in the area, I enjoyed a sightseeing boat ride (Naples, ME) and even saw a Black Bear (Denmark, ME).

The hotel room itself was immaculate, everything worked and the young lady at the front desk aimed to please. A nice touch to the room was a Keurig coffee/tea maker. The wireless was easy to use and very fast.

Highland Lake Resort did not disappoint. I'm glad I added this weekend in Bridgton to my business trip during the week.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We would like to thank the Woodwards and their staff for a fantastic vacation. The resort is in a prime location; close to town and surrounding attractions, although the resort itself has enough ammeneities to make you want to park yourself there and not leave the property. The rooms are immaculate. The lake beautiful and warm. The Woodwards and their staff could not be more hospitable. They go above and beyond in providing guests a welcome stay. It's proven to be the first time my husband's been totally relaxed from his stress-filled job. We had a handicap accessable room which was perfect for my handicapped brother-in-law. The only complaint we had was that we didn't have enough time to spend there. We highly recommend this resort for people of all ages and groups. You won't be disappointed. You might even be lucky enough to get a cruise around the lake with the Woodwards on their boat as we did. Thanks, the McNulty family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I rented the Deluxe Suite sight unseen and didn't tell my wife. We were going to Brigton from Presque Isle to attend our grand daughter's graduation from high school. She was thrilled with the room, the accommodations, amenities, and most of all the staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Check their website, info@highlandlakeresort.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this quiet and quaint lakeside resort. Even though we went a bit before the season started (1st week of June) Highland Lake was set-up for the season and we were able to take advantage of the kayaks, beach, lake swimming, tennis court, and dock. It was obvious that the owners care about the facilities and your stay. Our room was newly painted. The bathroom also seemed to have been updated recently. All in all – I would go back to the resort. It provides a great alternative to a rental house as you can do it for a weekend getaway. Also, the Deluxe Suite has a kitchenette which saved us money on breakfast and lunch. Each room comes equip with a Kerig coffee machine which is also a nice amenity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Lake Resort

Address: 115 No. High St., Bridgton, ME 04009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bridgton
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bridgton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable, Friendly, Affordable! Owned and operated by native Mainers, this family-run resort motel features modern amenities with a lakeside inn atmosphere. Only 50 minutes from Portland, 35 minutes from North Conway, NH, and 3 hours from Boston. Private sandy swimming beach, free use of boats, canoes, and kayaks, picnic area, tennis court, game room, fitness center, health spa. All rooms have a covered deck with lakeview, color TV, phone, radio, A/C, heat, in-room Keurig coffeemaker, and free WiFi. Kitchenettes, Executive Rooms, and Deluxe Suite with fireplace and Jacuzzi tub available. Only 7 minutes to ski slopes and golf, on snowmobile trail. Walk to downtown shopping and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Highland Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Lake Hotel Bridgton
Highland Lake Resort Bridgton, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.