We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with free NoFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacationland Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vacationland Inn to your Saves list
Vacationland Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auburn
1 review
“Nice place with free NoFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Have stayed here several times and like it very much. We have stayed in the suites as well, good value. Over the last year we have stayed there 3-5 times. A relative was in the hospital, it was close and affordable.

The WiFi has not been reliable on the outer buildings. On a recent visit, there was practically no WiFi. I am pretty knowledgeable on computers, tried all the tricks to get it working, to no avail. I was told "well, some computers have trouble getting on" and "no one else has complained" (a second complaint did come in while onsite). Using my smartphone as my "hotspot" was my only option, which worked splendid. ( morning UPDATE - upon management investigation, a router truly WAS down).

The offer was made to use the breakfast room for connectivity, but my wife had a myriad of books to complete homework assignments and dragging books around was not attractive.

Evening staff was apologetic and understood our plight and did what he could, Thank you Matt. Morning staff was morning staff, not pleased with the demeanor two days in a row.

It is a Great Place, we do like it there, but between school and work, reliable internet access is a necessity for us when on the road.

No hint of compensation for the lack of internet was offered, this would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: The Suites are great value with the in room Jacuzzi tubs. Different themes in each room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

It was a pleasure to meet both you and your wife this past weekend. We value and appreciate your business. I remember you stayed with us when our WiFi was down this past summer. This was a very frustrating issue for us and our guest. However it was out of our control. We replaced every router, every wi-fi connections etc. We finally discovered that it was our Cable / Internet / Phone provider that needed to run all new cable from the utility poles to our facility. They were getting wet and were frayed and touching a power line as well. This caused all our issues. Several alternatives were offered to you and your wife to use the breakfast area and/or move you to the main building to help you so your wife could study on her computers. She said she was using e-books and needed computer access. We did discover on Monday morning that one of the WiFi Routers had disconnected from its power source causing this issue. We apologize. We simply put the power source back into the router. This was not noticed when resetting our system. On a return stay, feel free to contact me, the manager, directly to discuss this inconvenience. We apologize for this and know in the future you are welcome to use any other part of our facility that is available. Feel free to contact me directly for any other questions. We want you to have an ultimate stay and know that we do have Wi-Fi. Thank you for your lodging with us and we hope to continue to serve your lodging needs in the future.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    140
    30
    15
    16
See reviews for
104
139
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Victorian suite and we absolutely loved it! The staff were awesome and so helpful and not to mention the jacuzzi tub was amazing! I would definitely recommend vacationland Inn for a couples night in one of there suites. I've stayed in the lodge which is another amazing room available. The fire place really sets the mood on a cold winter night :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for choosing Vacationland Inn's Themed Hot Tub Suite. You have reserved the Lodge and The Victorian Suites....on a return visit may we suggest the Camden Summer or Seaside Suite for a feel of being on the Maine Coast in the wintertime. The Hot Tubs are extra-large and fit two adults comfortably The warm air circulating into the tubs amazingly massages your entire body relaxing you completely. A Date Night you both truly deserved. We are pleased you stayed with us and hope to see you again soon. Ask about our special ad ons such as Chocolate Covered Strawberries or Honeycomb, Dozen Red Roses, Sparking Cider and planning your dinner and making reservations for you both at Schooner's Restaurant. One Call and we will take care of all your date night details. Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very clean, quaint place to stay. During the ice storm/power outage in Dec 2013, we had a warm place to stay. All the staff we met were friendly and professional even though the weather was awful. Waffles and blueberry sauce were amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

There were so many people without power during the holidays. We are glad that we could accommodate so many during this ice storm. Fortunately the power in Brewer stayed on without even a flicker. Very thankful that we had the pleasure of meeting you and hope you choose to return again for just a night of relaxation and some more of the homemade waffles with wild Maine blueberry sauce. See you again soon. We will share your kind comments with the entire staff. Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I stay here often. It is clean, quiet and the staff is wonderful. The owners are so nice and considerate and make you feel like family. You won't be disappointed. Oh, and it is a straight 10 minute shot to the Bangor International Airport.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful and so comfortable. Lots of stores close by for shopping, restaurants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for your kind comments and especially for staying with us often. We value and appreciate your business. We will share your comments with our entire staff. See you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

When my niece and I became stranded in Brewer on our way to upstate NY during the ice storm my brother suggested staying at the Vacation Land Inn and it could not have been a better choice. We thought it would only be for one night, but it turned into 3 nights (including a birthday.) The staff is fantastic and allowed my pet that they usually would not, because of our circumstances. Fresh Belgium waffles kept us happy every morning! And the staff also kept us updated on road conditions and continually maintained the parking lot and even sprinkled salt around the car so it wouldn't be slippery. So nice to see everyone going the extra mile to make sure everyone enjoyed their stay. If I could give a higher rating, I would!!! And, by the way, the Coach Inn next door has excellent food, also!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

The ice storm was tough on Maine and all the travelers during the holidays. With everyone teaming up together, we got through it with some memorable fun. We are glad you stayed with us and hope to see you on many return stays. Thank you for you kind comments. We will share with all our staff. Happy New Year!

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have always been pleased with the friendly service and accomodations at the Vacationland Inn would definately recommend this place to stay. It's very clean, and I myself, love the hottub suites, very cozy and inviting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

Thank you for staying with us in the Themed Hot Tub Suites. If you haven't stayed in either the Victorian or the Camden Summer Suites since September this year, this is a must. We just redid both of them. We thank you for your lodging with Vacationland Inn and look forward to seeing you again on a future stay.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Christmas 2013 is one we will never forget. A massive ice storm had caused power outages all over our area in Maine. By Christmas Eve we decided to go to a motel, with our dog, and called the Vacationland Inn. They could not have been nicer in giving us a warm welcome, immaculate room, and breakfast the next morning. While it was not where we wanted to spend Christmas Eve, we were happy to be able to sit in front of the fire in the lobby, complete with Christmas trees and decorations all around. On Christmas morning, the pat on the shoulder and the query as to how we were doing was icing on the cake. Thank you, Vacationland Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, General Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest(s):

We thank you for choosing Vacationland Inn to help you with lodging during the ice storm power outages. We are pleased that you took advantage of the lobby fireplace and enjoyed the decor. We look forward to having you join us again and again for future stays where you know you can have a local get-away. Thank you for your very nice comments about the inn. Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Leeanne
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Address: 453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vacationland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacationland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.