We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vacationland Inn

Save Saved
You added Vacationland Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vacationland Inn
453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
MAINE ADVENTURE TRIPS
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mill Cove, N.B. Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

When we go to Bangor, Vacationland Inn in Brewer Maine has become our favorite place to stay The staff are very friendly and helpful The rooms are wonderfully clean. I really am very happy to stay at this Inn. It is close to restaurants and stores that we visit. I was there on one occasion and wanted a fridge and microwave in the room, it was after hours and the night staff actually called the maintenance man from his off duty time to set up a fridge and microwave for me, now how accommodating is that?
The only disappointment that I have is when I call for a reservation and there are no rooms available for the time period that I will be in Bangor, .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guests:

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this positive review. We are very delighted that you enjoy your stays with us at Vacationland Inn. Your review will be shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Leeanne Hewey, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    118
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
91
123
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

A mate and I stayed here on a trip we were doing round the east
Coast. We had stayed at really nice places all the way.....until this one. Our room was at the rear of the property. To get to it we had to cross a barren gravel car park with stuff all lighting. The doors were open. I don't think this place had ever heard of security.
The room was a filthy dive. The bed was crumpled and looked like it hadn't been cleaned. The toilet had not been cleaned. it looked like someone had spewed in the bath and it hadn't been cleaned in time so it was caked on the bath itself. Our view was terrible. Of a garbage heap which we could smell.

I thought breakfast might be this place's redeeming feature but even that was crap. I got burnt waffles.

I am kicking myself for not taking photos. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationland_Manager, Manager at Vacationland Inn, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guests:

I have emailed you a few times hoping to get your feedback. Please know you can call me directly at any time. It is unfortunate that our front desk staff or management was never made aware of your dissatisfaction with the room. As with all hotels, the earlier any dissatisfaction is reported, this allows us to move you to another room. Know when you return that you may ask to see your room prior to checking in. Again, feel free to contact me directly with your concerns.

Thank you
Kind Regards,
Leeanne, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Clean, quiet, comfortable & a wonderful breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We had gone downstate for a wedding without making a hotel reservation in Bangor. There was nothing available for us in Bangor so we drove over to Brewer and happened upon this lovely hotel. Wow, very nice people at front desk! We had a room for 4 in the anex building in the back. Lovely room with fireplace, fridge, microway, coffee. Very neat and clean, very comfortable beds. GREAT free breakfast back in the main building with lovely ladies keeping everything tidy as people came and went. Would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Traveled to Maine to see our son in college and needed a place to stay. We didn't book a room in advance as it was a spontaneous trip and we were a little hesitant. We were pleasantly surprised when we booked a room here. The rooms are a little outdated but the beds are comfortable and the rooms were VERY clean. We choose an economy room - it included 2 double beds, a table and chairs, dressers, microwave, mini frig, and free wireless internet. A bargain for the price! (Fifty-nine dollars after taxes with a coupon from Roomsaver that we found on the turnpike rest stops) We actually paid thirty dollars less a night than the other hotel that we usually stay at. The breakfast buffet was out of this world! Very extensive. Make your own waffles with Maine blueberry and strawberry toppings, several different kinds of toast, bagels, cereal - hot and cold, coffee, milk and juice. We WILL stay there again!

Room Tip: They offer suites that cost a little more but are back away from the road and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

nd made you feel at home. thankyou for a wonderful stay. if we get this way again we will defintely stay here and we will recommend you to othere. sincerely, Roger and Sue McCauley, Traverse City , Mich

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We checked in very late as we couldnt drive any more and were desperate for a hotel. We got a good price on a single bed room. We just needed someplace to wash up and sleep. The price was good $65 rack rate. We got a metal key for our room, which was a little surprising. When we got to our room I was a bit concerned with the decor, and the furnishing in the room. This room was absolutely retro ... (orange carpet color, painted walls, tiled bathroom - 70's, box tv, old style phone, pictures, entire bathroom ensemble, etc). Usually, a room this outdated would be hard to clean, and have lots of issues. I scrutinized every nook and cranny, every potential dripping fawcett, toilet flushability, etc....This room although like stepping back in time was meticulous. VERY VERY CLEAN, and fully functioning. The TV was about 12 years old and did have a basic remote. Also, our room did have a fairly new refrigerator, and the bed was super comfortable. My initial expectation to be disappointed was proven completely unfounded. The room was great. As others noted the breakfast was excellent too. As I was checking out, I noticed a photo album at the front desk...they are currently updating some rooms. Its a bit of a shame, as our room was like a museum....it was fun to take that step back in time, especially considering how clean and maintained the room was.

Room Tip: For nostalgia....try room 142 - quick before they renovate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacationland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacationland Inn

Address: 453 Wilson St., Brewer, ME 04412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five (5) Beautiful Themed Suites with hydro-massage bath! Over 40 Drive up rooms. Vacationland Inn offers a variety of rooms to meet travelers needs (Economy to Themed Suites). A home away from home experience. Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Home-made waffles and Wild Maine Blueberry sauce, strawberry sauce and syrup. Vacationland Inn's Organic Coffee freshly roasted by local roasting company and privately labled just for our guests. Juices, toasting breads, cereals and more. Friendly staff that will always go the extra "Smile" to serve our guest needs. The Adventure begins at Vacationland Inn. Your first or return visit - experience the newly remodeled lobby and breakfast room. See you on your future stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Vacationland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacationland Hotel Brewer
Vacationland Village Hotel
Vacationland Inn Brewer, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacationland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.