We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eagles Nest

Eagles Nest
1016 N Main St., Brewer, ME 04412
(207) 989-7635
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Brewer
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gross.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

So, I knew it wasn't going to be gourmet. There have many times that my boyfriends mother has recommended the eagles nest to us, stating how good their seafood platter was and that it was a great meal to split. So, we decided to try it out.
We had called in our order after checking the menu out online. Their seafood platter was listed for 23.95 and said it came with haddock, shrimp, scallops and clams, fries, and cole slaw. We arrived there a few minutes early and waited in our car, since there was NO room to wait inside. (It is a very small diner with maybe 20 seats)
The service was not bad considering they have one cook, one waitress, and one extra hand working there. When we finally got our food to go, we were rang up and the total came to $31.98! I did not say anything about the price difference... Sometimes things don't get updated as quickly online?
When we got it home (maybe 10 minutes later), we started to get into it. Though the portions of seafood were definitely enough for both of us, the food was not worth it at all. The fried seafood was all in one box and the French fries in the other. The food was all stuck together. In total there were 8 scallops, a handful of baby shrimp, a handful of clams, and a filet of haddock. The scallops were so rubbery and tasted like nothing. The clams were slimy and gross. The shrimp had no flavor. The haddock was the same. All the seafood was over cooked, tasteless, and greasy. The French fries were the best part of this meal.
I would not recommend the eagles nest to anybody looking for seafood. Absolutely the worst I've ever had in my life... Hands down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great local eatery, huge lobster rolls and river view, not haute cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A small local restaurant frequented by locals and savvy travelers and tourists a couple of miles out of town on Route 9. Features diner, comfort type food and deep fried seafood dishes. We live less than a mile from the restaurant. I have had the burgers and seafood and everything tastes great and fresh. The french fries are perfectly done and just the right softness inside without a hint of fried fish, old oil or other foods fried in the same oil, a problem at other less careful places targeting the tourist trade. They will treat you like a local and don't be alarmed if a stranger strikes up a conversation. The lobster rolls are market priced, overstuffed with meat, but a great value. This a very casual small place, with a great view of the river. This a family diner type place and the service is not fast, but not too slow either. Try to get the window table a least once, when you go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The food, service and prices at the Eagles Nest are great. The view of the river is awesome. The lobster roll is overflowing with meat and almost no mayo to speak of, you actually need to eat it with a fork! The onion rings are great and the pie is homemade. You are missing out on a good meal if you pass by the Eagle's Nest.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Long line..short wait on fathers day.. staff great ..food awesome..needs a good cleaning but not dirty..just worn by large volumes if ppl eating great food.. overlooking river..we will be back...ASAP

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived at the Bangor airport during lunch hours and were starving. The guy at the counter of Budget rental car suggested this place and even gave us a map of how to get there. It's a tiny mom and pop type restaurant. If you want fancy, then keep driving, but if you want an outstanding lobster roll then this is the place to be. There were only a few tables in the entire restaurant and only a couple were near the back window where the river was rushing by. It's a no frills kind of place with little signs posted all around. For example, one sign read "there is only one server and one cook, so please be patient as the food is worth the wait." We couldn't have agreed more. The lobster roll came with cole slaw and a side of fries for $16.50 and it was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagles Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagles Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.