We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time, but not the last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkers Arms

Parkers Arms
Hall Gate Hill, Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe BB73DY, England
01200 446236
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A contemporary country inn with its fair share of history, The Parkers Arms is located just outside of Clitheroe in the prettily sleepy village of Newton in Bowland where, so we���re told ���you can hear the grass grow���. The beautifully traditional whitewashed inn, hung with colourful baskets of flowers and lined with parasol shaded outdoor tables, invites guests in with the promise of glorious regional food and a relaxed but sophisticated atmosphere ��� both of which it delivers in spades. The cuisine is rightfully British, with a few global treats of course, based on local and seasonal ingredients cooked using creativity and imagination as well as a little tradition too (and speaking of tradition we absolutely insist you try the fantastic Sunday roast here at The Parkers Arms). Pints of good local ales are joined by delicious wines from all over the globe, so whether you���re resting after a bracing dog walk or celebrating a special occasion, The Parkers Arms has not only the food but the drink to suit too. Indeed, balancing modern and classic style, informal and efficient service and relaxed and special food, The Parkers Arms appears to have created what could quite easily be the perfect local inn.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First time, but not the last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I have today enjoyed the pleasure of Sunday lunch at Parkers. The black pudding with home made piccalilli was truly scrumptious and my husband enjoyed the pheasant terrine. We both had the roasted belly pork with winter vegetables and could find no fault at all, it was perfectly cooked. We finished off with a cheese board and an almond and orange torte........ Just beautiful. We had soft drinks and coffee and all this for well under £50. AJ hits the right balance of friendliness and the waitresses were lovely and polite. Well worth the fifty mile round trip, we can see this becoming our favourite place. Well deserving of all the good reports it receives.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Delighted that not only did you enjoy the Parkers you also found it good quality and value for money. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us on Trip Advisor and see you soon again.
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    35
    15
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly a pleasurable dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been to The Parker's Arms several times, the most recent on Valentine's night.

The scenery (if you go in daylight hours of course!) is breathtaking - the pub nestles comfortably in The Ribble Valley. It's a little out of the way, but well worth the drive.

The food is magnificent - imaginitive but not too fancy and all prepared freshly using local ingredients. It is served beautifully, and there is just the right amount (for me anyway, and I love my food!). It's not overpriced either, which is a big consideration in tthis time of recession.

AJ the host is gracious and funny and has always gone out of his way to make us feel welcome.

The menu on Valentine's night was well thought out and each course was delicious. Complimentary canapés were served on arrival, comprising Garstang blue savouries, black pudding sausage rolls and smoked Dunsop trout blini. Accompanied by a glass of Prosecco, these were well received and just right to whet the appetite.

To start, I had mushroom velouté with a mushroom feuilleté - a wonderful rich, smooth mushroom soup with accompanying light as a feather pastry heart. Hubby had carpaccio of local estate shot venison with Newton damson jelly - which he proclaimed was sublime.

We chose the same main course - Burholme farm beef Bordelaise, Anna potatoes with confit onions & mushrooms - which was cooked perfectly and really tasty.

We also chose the same dessert - a mouthwatering chocolate heart shaped pudding, which oozed the most delicious molten chocolate.

A plate of local cheese and home made biscuits followed. The wines accompanying the meal were chosen as a package, a glass suited to each course. The Fairview Estate SA 2008, a rich, sweet red which accompanied my dessert was the best sweet wine I have ever tasted!

A bag of little chocolatey meringue kisses was given to us on departure.

Truly a pleasurable dining experience - and it won't be long before I'm back there!

p.s. No photo of the main course, I'm afraid - I was too eager to eat it to remember to take one!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Debbie always a pleasure and since you wrote this review we also hosted your special birthday. Thank you for making the Parkers a favourite destination. Long may it continue.
Many thanks for taking the time to review us and post such lovely photos
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“overpriced soft drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

sunday 24th feb my fiance and myself went to the parkers arms to have a look at the menu as the following saturday we were thinking of dinning there, the restuarant and bar area looked nice and welcoming, a real fire added to the aumbiance, we ordered a small coke, it was on draught, and a small lime and soda, the price was £3.50! we didn.t want to draw attention to ourseleves by questioning the price as people were dinning close by, we will not be returning as we felt we were overcharged, in the this day and age and bearing in mind the closing of pubs in general, i think the cost of soft drinks should be addressed in this pub. i have rated the food on a aprevious family meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We wish you had said at the time as perhaps if you had been overcharged we certainly could have refunded you then. Its never too late to get in touch. As for the price of our drinks they are priced according to what it costs us to to make them available to you in our nice pub with fires, we are renowned for our good prices. Sorry you thought them expensive, we certainly do not want to close down our pub by giving it all away just because its a recession, we have to to pay our bills, after all we are a business and not a charity.
All the best
Stosie.
PS pubs closing down are mainly due to lack of support from people who buy cheap drinks & dubious food from supermarkets and pubs cant compete against the buying power of large supermarkets, Fact! We are grateful to our customers who see us as quality and value for money establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A warm welcome from the owner, and a cosy bar with roaring fire. A little wait for our food, which was all cooked to order, but we did not mind as the owner kept us well entertained and topped up with drinks. All canine visitors are welcomed with a doggy treat and a bowl of water. Food was lovely ( I had the terrine and home made piccalilli with crusty bread. Yum ). The chef can work miracles with potatoes. Try the crispy skins with dip, or the fluffy crisp fries. To die for. Would definitely return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Over the moon that all the part (4 legs included) enjoyed the Parkers. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review and see you all soon again.
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and fed with love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Parkers Arms for an early Valentines treat and couldn't have been more warmly welcomed by AJ. The rooms are warm, cosy and comfortable. Our room did have a damp stain on the ceiling but the room was not damp in any way and I guess we have to remember that this is a very old building - that's where all that lovely character comes from after all! Stosie's hospitality tray with homemade salted caramels and biscuits more than distracted from the damp stain.

Dinner was three courses of the most wonderful food. Stosie and Kathy cook with love, using fresh, local ingredients and the results are some of the best food we've ever eaten. We can't recommend Parkers Arms highly enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersarms, Owner at Parkers Arms, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Many thanks for your warm and lovely review. Customers that love what we do make our day worthwhile and make it easy to care for them well. Reviews like these encourage all of us tremendously. Look forward to seeing you soon
Many thanks
Stosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers Arms also viewed

Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Parkers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.