We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocktide Inn & Restaurant

Rocktide Inn & Restaurant
35 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
207-633-4455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food was absolutely delicious and the ambiance of the restaurant was top-shelf. If you enjoy model sailing ships, this is the place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely restaurant, filled with intricate model ships, overlooking the harbor, Part of the restaurant requires men to wear jackets which is a bit old school. But most of the restaurant is devoted to the rest of us casual diners. Huge cozy bar, with club chairs, and another library room, to enjoy your cocktails. The seafood was excellent, one of us had the fishermans feast feature a selection of fried clams, scallops, haddock and shrimp.....the portion easily could be two meals. On our second visit we ordered the appetizer version which was more then plenty! I had the broiled fishermans platter which was perfectly prepared, light and fresh. Our server, Sarah, was so delightful we asked for her the three times we ate here. Really a wonderful experience each time.. Even though the restaurant appears somewhat formal, it was very relaxed and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Humm.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely waterfront "seasonal" restaurant in a vintage motel. The lobby has an interesting collection of model ships and the restaurant ambiance is quite nice. However, the idea that men must wear a jacket in order to be seated in the waterfront area located in full view and only a few steps from the the other diners is ostentatious on the part of this "seasonal" establishment. Very few men pack dinner jackets for vacation in a seaside village. This motel also hosts bus tours. I took notice that those people were assigned to a different level of accommodations and service. The motel management needs to make some changes or "at least" advise those who are staying at the motel that jackets are required for waterfront dining. Extensive menu, expensive entrees...do not order lettuce salads.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabattus, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“we have been coming to rocktide for many,MANY years andwillcotinue to doso. marylou treats us like old friends,not jus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

best resturant in the harbor PERIOD, marylou our hostess treas usllike old friends not just another diner. we will be coming down today. lobsterlovermaine

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced and "stuffy"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The atmosphere is the only thing I would recommend here. The food was OK, but extremely overpriced. The staff could use lessons on smiling. If you are independently wealthy, by al means go here just to see the harbor. But, you can see the harbor with great food elsewhere and still have enough money to eat tomorrow...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocktide Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Rocktide Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocktide Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.