We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Ice Cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downeast Ice Cream

Downeast Ice Cream
1 By Way, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
207-633-3016
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First night in town, line was out the door, second night no problem and worth the wait. Friendly serice, great Ice Cream flavors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    30
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Very Tasty Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I love my ice cream and Downeast Ice Cream did not disappoint. My husband and I tried the blueberry cheesecake which was delicious with chunks of cheesecake. The chocolate lovers was super tasty too. Great portion size in a waffle cone. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped at Downeast Ice Cream to taste the homemade ice on a rainy weekday in June. I ordered the peach ice cream and it was quite ordinary. I would not have guessed that it was homemade. The serving was generous - especially for a kids cone. I tasted my husband's chocolate cone and again I didn't think it was anything special. I kind of wish we hadn't bothered, but I was influenced by other reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert and come here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Make sure that you come here or you will miss out on incredible ice cream! It is some of the best we have ever had! Tried the chocolate lovers, wild Maine blueberry and black raspberry temptation on several visits. All are homemade, so creamy and amazing! Their portions are huge and the single scoop is more than enough! Great prices, too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinna, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We each had 2 different flavors in a cup. Each of the flavors was excellent. The only problem is they have so many good choices.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downeast Ice Cream also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Downeast Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downeast Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.