We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Cozy spot for breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama D's Cafe Mercantile

Mama D's Cafe Mercantile
50 Union St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
207-633-3464
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and Cozy spot for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My two sons and I have been going to Mama D's for eggs and waffles for three years each August. It is a wonderful spot - welcoming to locals and summer visitors and we always leave full and happy. Best waffles in Boothbay according to my boys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    77
    19
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to Mama D's for breakfast and it was very good. Service is a tad slow, but overall experience was good and enjoyed the omelettes very much!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you are gluten intolerant, this is an ideal place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Even if you're not it's a great place!!!! Good food! Great service. Especially LOVED Snookie!!! Salads are wonderful. Gluten-free bread is fantastic (thanks Snookie). I had the Crustless Veggie Pie several times and it was awesome!!! Everyone that went with us loved the food. It gets crowded sometimes, but a little patience goes a long way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome breakfast brunch but service inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Love the food. But service can be very slow. They don't tale credit cards which is a bit of a pain, cash or check only. They used to take them. Avoid busy times like Sundays after church gets out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Vibe with delicious food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great little place for breakfast or lunch. There is a front porch and outdoor back patio, for noshing when the weather is good.
The sandwiches and soup are fresh and delicious.
I want to go back for breakfast and try the waffles!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama D's Cafe Mercantile also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine

Been to Mama D's Cafe Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama D's Cafe Mercantile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.