We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the perfect getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Military Discount Offered
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We had the perfect getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This inn is the perfect bed and breakfast experience. Wonderful, warm hosts who know the town and give great advice. Cozy and comfortable room with great amenities (we had a Sleep Number bed) and super-comfy bed linens. Everything spotless! Special little details like fresh flowers and chocolates. And a fabulous breakfast each morning. This was a mini-vacation for us (just 4 days) but we came home feeling relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
385
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

We've stayed in many b & bs in many places and always enjoy their ambiance and friendliness. Bayberry House exceeded our expectations on every level. The building is tastefully and beautifully decorated, the rooms are comfortable and elegant with new en suite baths. The owners are personable and charming but give you space and encourage you to relax throughout the downstairs, including sitting and visiting on the lovely porch. They are enthusiastic about helping you know the sights to see. The breakfast menus were different each day and each plate was delicious and delivered hot and cooked to perfection. The location is close to the sights, shops, and restaurants, yet far enough for quiet at night.
Boothbay Harbor is a little piece of heaven; Bayberry is a heavenly home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

From the time when we arrived until we departed, out hosts were there to provide us with the best they could offer. The breakfasts were excellent, and when we needed advice to as to where to dine or tour they were extremely knowledgable. Our suite was comfortable and the sleep number bed a dream. Our room had hdtv and wireless access. We look forward to staying at the Bayberry again and enjoying the scenic Booth Bay area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

From the second we arrived Ted and Tim were the gracious hosts "with the mostest". With dinner recommendations to the top sites to see, both of the guys were right on top to make sure our visit was perfect and it was.

Sue and I stayed in the Sage room and it was splendid and very warm and relaxing.

We stayed for 3 nights, and 3 scrumptions breakfasts.

Heading to Boothbay....you must stay in this B&B!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My wife and I were on a road trip through Maine and we had decided to stay in Boothbay ME for 1 night. We never stayed at a B&B before so we contacted Bayberry House. It was the best decision we made. Bayberry House is beautiful. Our stay was the best we've had in so long. Despite the fact that we only stayed in for 1 day, we felt like we stayed there for the whole week. The hospitality we received was outstanding. Ted and Tim were wonderful. They were the best host and the nicest guys we had ever met. Our stay was memorable. The rooms were beautiful. We stayed at the Sage Room. The accommodations were 5 star and we would stay there again everytime we visit Boothbay. The breakfast were delicious. Both my wife and I are chefs and we appreciated the taste and presentation of the meal they had provided us. We will forever be a B&B patrons because of the experienced we had at the Bayberry House. They had raised the bar for our future B&B stay across the country. We plan to visit Tim and Ted again in the near future and stay longer than a day. Thank you Ted and Tim!!!!!!

Rich and Samantha, Pottstown PA

PS recipes are coming : )

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

My partner, mother and my two teenage children spent a wonderful evening in Booth Bay and were DELIGHTED by the atmosphere and the hospitality that we found at the Bayberry House. We stayed in the blue and sage rooms. The accomodations were spacious enough for all of us. Ted and Tim were a wealth of information and couldn't have been more charming and gracious. They even served us a fantastic breakfast of creme brulee bananas foster french toast. Wonderful! Thank you gentleman for making a leg of our journey together even more memorable. It was a once in a lifetime trip for my mother and I and you certainly helped make it what it was. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this beautifully restored home, which is spacious and elegant without being stuffy or overdone. The bedrooms are bright and well-decorated based on the impressive collection of Wedgewood china the owners have gathered over time. The beds were extremely comfortable (2 of our rooms had sleep number beds), and the private baths are the best of any B&B I have ever stayed at. The common living space is open and inviting and our group spent many hours there and on the front porch enjoying the cool Maine evenings before heading to the best local places for lobster (recommendations of our hosts). Ted and Tim are amazing hosts who made our stay wonderful in every respect. They each made fabulous recommendations for planning our days, as well as delicious breakfast meals to start each day. I truly enjoyed our early morning chats over coffee and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.