We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a cold winter's night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
June Stay Special!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Middleborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On a cold winter's night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went to Boothbay Harbor for a night away from our everyday grind. The one night my friend Marge and I had was wonderful from the rooms to the friendly hosts Chris and Karine. The moment I called and got Chris and his helpfulness in everything I asked about. He went above and beyond printing out directions to the lighthouses and the best restraunts. We walked into a lovely and cozy Victorian home on MLK holiday. It was inpeccably clean, the fire was going and our innkeepers were there to greet us. The rooms were spotless with soft lights. There was all the amenities you would need shampoo, body lotion, hair dryer, and a warm,soft cozy robe. The window dressing shades were interesting, beautiful and easy to use. The bed in my room was a sleep number bed. Marge's room had a little electric fireplace which was nice. All and all we left the Bayberry House feeling that the customer service Chris and Karine brought was outstanding! The breakfast of eggs benedict, juice, coffee, fruit and a sugar free cheese cake was outstanding and made some new friends. I was so pleased when we had mentioned we were diabetic and Chris catered to that request. We will be returning for a longer time in summer. Great place and great little shops close to the ocean........so beautiful!

Room Tip: All the rooms look wonderful. It depends if you want to be upstairs or downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Wow! Firstly, thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review. We love having guests in the winter-time. I know its hard braving the cold, but the beauty of mid-coast Maine in the winter definitely makes the trip worthwhile. We are happy to hear you liked the lighthouses, they each present very distinct aspects of the coastline. We also appreciate your kind words concerning breakfast - we are always happy to cater to dietary restrictions as long as we know what they are. Again, we are overjoyed you loved the inn so much and can't wait to see you again in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
390
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review is overdue. What I have to say is that the bed and breakfast exceeded all of our expectations. From the arrival to the end, everything was perfect. Felt like home, room was clean, AC quiet, bathroom impecable and Chris' breakfasts were like quality restaurant cooked. Boothbay harbor is a lovely little place and Chris recommended restaurants we really enjoyed. The place is definitely quite close enough to all the attractions. Chris, thank you for the memorable stay and we hope to be able to visit again.

Room Tip: Teal room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Firstly, thank you so much for your very kind words. We have been so blessed this past year with such wonderful guests as yourselves. We are happy you enjoyed breakfast so much; Chris loves to cook - especially for guests who enjoy the food! Nous serions ravis de recevoir votre visite encore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I went to Bayberry House in early August. It was a spur of the moment decision, and we could only stay for one night. Chris was a warm, gracious and helpful host. Our room was very nice, and the breakfast was excellent. Chris recommended the lighthouse tour for the day we departed and it was a great tip. I love being able to walk down to the village and harbor, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Bayberry House. We are so happy you enjoyed both the inn and Boothbay Harbor. The Boothbay lighthouses are both scenic and convenient, we love it when our guests enjoy them as much as we do. We hope you will plan to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rooms were even better than advertised. The breakfasts were outstanding! Proximity to town without worrying about parking was a huge bonus. But what really set Bayberry House apart was the attentive and helpful spirit of Chris, the new owner. My wife and I arrived mid-afternoon, and one of his first questions was, "Can I help with recommendations for dinner?" After learning about our tastes and preferences, he recommended Ports of Italy with the caution, "But you'll need reservations there. Would you like me to work on that?" Before we could unload the car, Chris had made the reservations -- and the evening was outstanding. Each day thereafter, we would consult Chris while making our plans and were never disappointed. We'll be back, Chris!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We would love to have you back!!! Thank you so much for your fantastic comments, we are so happy you enjoyed yourselves in Boothbay and at Bayberry House. We feel our ample parking and immediate proximity to everything in town are great selling points for the inn, several guests besides yourselves have commented that these are important factors in choosing us. We're also glad you enjoyed our breakfasts! Helping you have the best vacation experience possible in Boothbay Harbor is definitely our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I went to Bayberry House in early October, just at the end of the season in Boothbay Harbor. It turns out that the place had just changed owners shortly before and I have to say the change has not missed a beat. Chris and his wife are the new owners and the place is very well run. Our room was very nice (on the first floor in the front ... not sure if traffic noise would be a problem in the busier time of the year) and the location overall was only a block or two from the harbor section. Chris recommended two restaurants (Boathouse Inn & Ports of Italy) which turned out to be excellent. Breakfast itself was very good. All in all ... a very nice two nights for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are extremely happy you found your stay with us to be so enjoyable. We are working hard this winter to make our rooms even more comfortable and are constantly looking for other ways to improve the quality of each guest's stay at Bayberry House. We are also glad you found Ports of Italy and the Boat House Bistro to be such excellent places to dine in Boothbay Harbor. We absolutely love eating at both restaurants and share your enthusiasm for their outstanding cuisine. We sincerely hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Bayberry House is a lovely B&B with the most hospitable host I've ever had the pleasure to experience. I felt like I was in my own home. Chris made our family feel very welcome. The place is spotless and very quiet/homey. Would definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1 and 2. There was a common sitting room available in the larger room, and the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderfully complimentary review. We are extremely happy you felt so comfortable at Bayberry House, as we try to make our guests feel as though they are staying with friends rather than at a hotel. We very much look forward to the pleasure of having you share our home again in the near future.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently remodeled, nice rooms and walking distance to town. Chris is a great host, breakfast very good. Chris makes great chocolate chips cookies too! Great place to stay while visiting Boothbay Harbor. Made us feel very welcome. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_and_Karine, Owner at Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for saying such nice things about Bayberry House. We really do work hard to provide our guests with the best lodging experience possible. One of the ways in which we are doing this is we are currently exploring acoustic alternatives to eliminate ambient noises that might lower sleep quality in some of our rooms. We will love to have you stay with is again!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.