We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
June Stay Special!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Bayberry House B&B this past Memorial Day weekend. Although the weather was less than appealing, the hosts were extremely pleasant and made for an exceptionally wonderful stay. Breakfast was delectable each morning with fruit salad, yogurt, granola, coffee, juice, and a main dish. The innkeepers were both very helpful in offering insights as to where to eat and what to visit. The room had its own private bath, a/c, and my room had a Sleep Number bed which was very comfy. I highly recommend you visit Bayberry House very soon.

Room Tip: The Sage Room which I stayed in is on the first floor at the front of the house. It had some traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
390
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, ME
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This past weekend, we stayed at Bayberry Bed and Breakfast in Boohtbay Harbor. First, the house is great! Everything is warm and welcoming and with modern conveniences. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are charming. Ted and Tim, the owners, are very welcoming and friendly. We really enjoyed meeting them. They make you feel very welcome and are helpful with recommendations of the area. The breakfast each morning was the best! We walked away from the table full and happy. The breakfasts are higher than restaurant quality! Outstanding stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A fine inn, well managed by experts who know the right places to visit and the right places to dine in the area. Our suite was comfortable in every respect, tastefully designed and furnished, and literally spotless throughout. Breakfast was a creative and leisurely experience, tailored to our wishes. Our hosts worked hard to make sure that we had a pleasant visit to Boothbay Harbor and the surrounding area, and gave us just the right tips for day excursions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way back to Boston from Arcadia and would very happily have stayed longer. Ted and Tim are great hosts and were very helpful in terms of suggestions for eating and exploting the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our second visit and we brought along our friends
Ted and Tim are wonderful hosts----breakfasts were enjoyable and we could help ourselves to the afternoon cake and beverages as well as fruoit
They have a beautiful house and make one feel very much at home
Till next time guys
UK friends

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A great experience. The room was spacious and super clean. The breakfast was complete and very good. And most of all, the two owners were focused on our satisfaction and were most pleasant and fun to be with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Boothbay Harbor was the last stop on our Maine vacation. We've stayed in Boothbay a number of times, and we try to stay somewhere different all the time. We decided to stay here when we found out it was the #1 B&B in town. We can see why! The inn was immaculately maintained both inside and out. We could not be made to feel more welcome. The fresh tea with fresh mint was delicious and welcome as it was very hot outside. Ted showed us around, and then left us to explore. The room was spacious and immaculate, and the gardens were beautifully in bloom The next morning, Tim prepared one of the best breakfasts we've had in a B&B--tasty and filling. Before we left, Ted took our picture as an old friend would do. A few weeks later, we received an e-mail with the picture and a thank you. What a nice surprise! We would definitely recommend the Bayberry House and look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 106 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538 (Formerly Lion d'Or)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayberry House, built in 1886, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years to incorporate 21st-century comforts into its distinctive Victorian charm. There are four rooms and a guest suite; all have private marble-tiled bathrooms with a complimentary range of luxurious eco-friendly amenities by Algotherm. Every room is equipped with AC, Wi-Fi, HDTV with HBO and Showtime, and mini-refrigerators. Most have gas fireplaces. Some have Sleep Number beds. Rates include full gourmet breakfasts, served in three courses. Special dietary needs are readily accommodated by prior arrangement. The inn provides free parking and is conveniently located just steps from the harbor, shops, and restaurants of Boothbay Harbor. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayberry House Bed And Breakfast
Bayberry House Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.