We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay, I'd come back for sure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront to your Saves list
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
75 Townsend Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay, I'd come back for sure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Boothbay Harbor. It has an ideal location, just a few minutes walk right into town, yet its quiet at night. We stayed in one of the fancy rooms on the corner overlooking the water (like on the picture). All very nice and new furnishings, reasonably comfortable.

A couple off things make this a 4 and not a 5 (always have to work to get better!). There was no dresser in the Honeymoon suite! If I was staying more than a few days, I would tire of living out my suitcase. Also limited shelf/counter space in the bathroom. The TV is satellite (which is nice for selection), but the remote is so funky, you give up. And I am a tech guy who has used DirectTV before. Something wrong with the way it was programmed for the TV controls.

However, I highly recommend this place! The staff is top notch, the place is gorgeous, parking is fine. If you are one of those car nuts like me who worry about cramped parking in these kind of places, relax, its fine. Hot tub on the lawn was super to hang out in.

And of course, as everyone else mentions, the breakfasts! OMG, as they say! Not huge volumes, but huge taste and all from local farms. Coffee is to die for.

So other than a couple of minor quirks in the room, this is about as good as it gets! The owners really take pride in the design, construction and operation of the place, that is clear. As you walk around Boothbay, you realize you picked a good spot!

Room Tip: Spring for the bucks, and stay in one of the two upper rooms on the corner that faces the water.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't give a crap about the hotel's environmentally friendly practices. I am here for vacation, not environmental crusading. I assume they are following the rules. Geez.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    29
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
176
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It was a very clean and beautiful Inn, with the nice view of the Bay,
and our own outdoor sitting area. The Inn owners were amazing, and the staff was efficient,and we had great breakfasts prepared every mornng.

Room Tip: The Inn was very clean and beautiful, the owners were very friendly and helpful, the staff was effic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I went to Maine for the first time. As with all of our coastal trips, we require a peaceful, rejuvenating and friendly hotel or inn. Harborage Inn was all of that. The morning breakfast was great too. Thanks for having us and we will see you next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This B&B was a delight. Light airy rooms with attention to all the little details that make life comfortable. Each room has access to a deck as well as chairs on the forefront with lovely views of the bay. Breakfast was a treat with local organic produce. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper level and was perfect.
See more room tips
Green Features: Consistent with their GreenLeaders Silver status. Everything was environmentally friendly
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north conway NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed for one night to celebrate our anniversary and it was perfect! Close to town, easy parking, comfortable room and a view to the harbor!!! Breakfast was delicious!!!! Staff is helpful and friendly - we will defiantly stay here again :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We recently spent several nights at this lovely B&B. The rooms were surprisingly large with a seating area and large bathroom. A china tea service was provided for your morning tea or coffee and a mini fridge. There was a large outdoor seating area for breakfast or just for relaxing and enjoying the view. There was also a hot tub overlooking the harbor's end. Breakfast was very good each day and featured local produce, berries, and breads. Our hosts were freiendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed 6 nights and found the Inn to be exactly as advertised. Talk (advertisement) is cheap, but the proof of the pudding is in the taste (the experience). Given the option of the Ritz or the Harborage Inn, we'd stay at the Harborage Inn. Seriously, we've experienced both; they're both great, but we'd prefer the Harborage Inn. The rooms are spotless and the employees are so very nice, considerate and helpful. It was clear to us that the Innkeeper and also the owners pay close attention to detail, take great pride in their Inn and truly enjoy their work. By the time we left, we felt them to be our friends. You will not BELIEVE the breakfasts; they are honestly gourmet and an event which you will come to eagerly anticipate each morning. It's a very easy, level, short walk to downtown. We stayed here because the Inn which I've used many times in the past could not accommodate us.... from this date on, this is our new 'home' while in Boothbay Harbor. My only suggestion would be the addition of a small waste can for the living area (maybe in the closet?). Think about that for a moment.... the ONLY item on our wish list is a second trash receptacle. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront

Address: 75 Townsend Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harborage Inn, completely rebuilt with new construction in 2009-10, where luxury first class accommodations meet the tranquil peace of the Maine coast. We offer all the modern amenities of a boutique hotel with the comfort & charm of a relaxing oceanfront Bed & Breakfast. Our spacious Deluxe Rooms & Oceanfront Suites with panoramic water views of the harbor, oversized bathrooms, and sumptuous gourmet breakfasts are the reason we have welcomed decades of returning guests year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborage Inn On The Oceanfront Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.