We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARM, STYLE AND SUBSTANCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor to your Saves list
Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor
65 Commercial Street, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off 2nd night
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“CHARM, STYLE AND SUBSTANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

CHARM - Well-appointed charm on the water awaits you. Metro, a long cherished canine greets guests, along with the remarkable Jeff and cordial Kim. Need an emergency massage? Kim will arrange for you to have one. Looking forward to a great breakfast? Rhubarb Creme Brulee French Toast was served one morning of our stay. It's like coming home, only better!

STYLE - Anyone who recalls the hilarious movie entitled, "The Russians are Coming," will appreciate McSeagull's, Boathouse Bistro and Mein Oyster restaurants, within walking distance of the Inns. A trio of seafood restaurants ranging from sophisticated tapas to fun Glidden Point raw oysters, all three dining spots carry the mark of an enterprising Russian family who arrived in the village with a splash.

SUBSTANCE - The near-by "substance" comes in two delightful forms. "Women of Substance," in nearby Damariscotta, offers stylish, natural fiber clothing for women who are "Size 12 and Grander." Be sure you allow some time to browse their full collection.

Just up the street from the inns is the newest form of epicurean substance, "Eventide." Kim and Denise offer infused extra virgin olive oils, balsamics, All-Natural pastas, tapenades, spices and the like from around the globe. Their shop is designed in every detail to stimulate the senses with color and taste, both bold and refreshing.

Relax, enjoy your stay, and don't forget gift packs for your friends of substance at home!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    45
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
78
378
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The breakfast was amazing: blueberry French toast and ham with lots of side dishes. I can only validate what all the others have said: you don't want to leave this beautiful place. I also appreciated all the history of Maine that Kim shared. I wanted to stay and read all the books.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Exceeded our expectations. The Admiral's Quarters, proved just lovely The location in the harbor cannot be beat The view from our room took our breath away. Best place we have ever been in!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My parents were visiting from the midwest so my husband and I decided Boothbay would be the perfect getaway. The Greenleaf Inn was exactly what we were looking for - cute, cozy & comfortable, extremely clean (not outdated), and friendly service. We stayed in #6 in Admirals Quarters, which is a 2 level comfortable & clean unit with 2 balconies. Our favorite things: (1) The solarium is absolutely wonderful. The perfect place to relax by a fire, have some wine, take in the spectacular scenery of the harbor, and enjoy the company. If only all Inns had a room like this!! (2) the location of the Inn is perfect to stroll down the main street to the shops, restaurants, etc. It is the cutest little town! Definitely take time to explore by foot and car. (3) Kim made us feel so welcome. Her homemade breakfast was delicious, and so many nice little touches (homemade cookies available, coffee/tea/soda available 24 hrs a day, etc). She is so kind and provided us with great information about the area, dinner recommendations, etc.

There seem to be many places to stay in Boothbay Harbor (and several with consistently positive reviews), but this is the place that can make your vacation go from being "really great" to being "absolutely best ever!"

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This place was truly perfect. I went with my partner for a weekend getaway and the experience was absolutely impeccable. We had room 5 in the Admiral's Quarters. The view from the room was breathtaking, the facilities spectacular (a warm and comfortable reading room, a beautiful solarium, porches all around), and the little surprises like fresh baked cookies, top-shelf coffee available around the clock free of charge, and Kim's incredible helpfulness truly made this experience without flaw. We had an amazing time and will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A wonderful experience, a beautiful place, and talented and imaginative innkeepers who supply everything from wineglasses to homemade cookies. To say nothing of scrumptious breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have once again made our yearly March trip to relax at the Admirals Quarters and wouldn't consider any other place to stay when in Boothbay. We are never disappointed and always amazed that Kim can cook so many breakfasts that are fit for royalty! Thanks Jeff!

Room Tip: We think the Admirals Quarters have the best views around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor

Address: 65 Commercial Street, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both elegantly appointed buildings sit prominently at the harbor's entrance with commanding views of the waterfront. The Inns at Greenleaf Lane set the the highest standard for Maine bed and breakfasts. Your comfort, serenity and relaxation are important to us. We offer our guests luxurious rooms and suites coupled with warm hospitality, personal service and magnificent location...with shops, restaurants, excursions and harbor activities just steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenleaf Inn At Boothbay Harbor Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenleaf Inn at Boothbay Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.