We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Callous and inhospitable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Point Inn

Spruce Point Inn
88 Grandview Avenue, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
207-633-4152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spruce Point Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $95
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Linekin Road
Description: Food & Wine Magazine came up with the idea of “Collaboration Nation” to describe chefs working with customers, vendors and each other to bring the best flavors and experiences to those who love food. The principles of Chefs Stiles and Weinerth are sourcing, preperation, and enhancement.Here at Spruce Point Inn in Boothbay Harbor, Chefs Stiles and Weinerth have operated on these principles from the beginning, sourcing the locally fished, farmed and harvested ingredients from the best seasonal farms and producers in Maine. They then prepare the menu with cooking techniques that preserve the foods integrity and nutrition. The final product is enhanced by optimizing nutritional value via product combination and menu diversity.Midcoast Maine is the beneficiary of a cornucopia of retired/relocated professionals who have left banking or IT to go back to the land and Chef Stiles – who grew up on a farm in local Lincolnville, just up the road -- has built relationships with local farms and other food purveyors, sourcing ingredients like the fresh Aroostook beets and lavender-honey chevre from Tourmaline Hill Farm, greens from the hothouse built by a drummer from the band Phish and cheese from the State of Maine Cheese Company, a business created by a Manhattan banker in Rockland.It's an exciting time to be in the restaurant business and especially exciting to be part of what’s happening here, says Chef Stiles.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Callous and inhospitable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We visited the 88 restaurant to view the dining room and made a dining reservation well in advance of our family event. We made a specific seating request, and were told that our request would be granted. As the date of our event approached, we contact The 88 to reaffirm our reservation and seating request. It took a couple of queries to get a confirmation that our seating request would not be granted. Our party was to be seated elsewhere. We were really upset that they misled us, and canceled our reservation. No establishment should treat its patrons this way, and especially one that is upscale such as this one.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, BUT....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I'm a "local" and this was my 5th or 6th visit to The Spruce Point Inn this season. The location/ambience of course remain spectacular - a must see if on the peninsula. It is a first-class destination. The restaurant, however, continues to suffer problems with waitstaff (variable and inconsistent), which in no way matches the quality of the food (consistently fine). On this most recent visit a wait of at least twenty (20) minutes for drinks to arrive, followed by one person's appetizer and soup arriving at the same time (the soup was not what was ordered), followed by a glass of wine ordered when the plates arrived being delivered when the meal was nearly concluded. All of this is not acceptable when one is paying above-average prices. Again - the location, the ambience, the food - all wonderful. But someone needs to have some serious oversight of the dining room staff.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not up to par with past experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We've stayed at Spruce Point Inn for the last 5 summers but decided to do something different this year. When we heard they had formally opened a "cafe" on the deck (they used to serve full menu there in good weather) we decided to meet family there since it was a midway point between their home and this year's destination in Belfast. It was a real disappointment. The Inn supposedly has had a face lift. The lobby does look better but the restaurants look the same ... and the menu for the outside cafe at lunch was extremely limited. Service was curt and inattentive. Food was "just OK" we've enjoyed better meals there in the past. Overall a huge disappointment ... the Inn is living on its former reputation. What a shame. There's no more beautiful location in Boothbay Harbor.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You must eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Breathtaking ocean views from the dining room of this first class resort in Boothbay Harbor begin the dining experience. The staff is courteous and very capable without being intrusive. The menu has something for every taste, from casual to elegant. Starter of oyster stew followed by most recently the entree of sauteed grouper with Maine shrimp, cooked to perfection, accompanied by delicious al dente asparagus, and a baked Maine potato that defined the vegetable. The baked stuffed flounder and the marlin were flawless and the scallops were worthy of applause. Be sure and leave room for the dessert creations; you won't be disappointed. The wine list is unusually extensive, especially for a summer resort on Maine's coast, and you'll be surprised by the quality of the entertainment in the lounge area. You won't be disappointed by your visit to the Spruce Point Inn.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Go only for the View”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

What a gorgeous old fashioned resort, gorgeous grounds seaside pool, well kept old grand dame... Went over by boat for Sunday Brunch. There is none offered, in fact the young hostess did not understand the term "brunch". Anyway, the breakfast was pretty poor. Huevos Rancheros had no spices no black beans, no tortillas-- served on greasy home fries, really unappealing. Staff appear to be young students, earnest but unled...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spruce Point Inn also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Spruce Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.