We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lobster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boothbay Lobster Wharf

Boothbay Lobster Wharf
97 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2220
207-633-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Bath, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here mainly for the lobster, which was good (though expensive). We also had some who wanted other than lobster and had haddock which was good too. Ordering is a bit of a pain; different lines for lobster and non-lobster, and yet another one for beer and wine. Overall very good, but could have been better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    87
    52
    19
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“loved soft shell lobsters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Love sitting right on the harbor, enjoying 3 sweet, fabulous soft shell lobsters for $26, including a couple of baked potatoes and yummy coleslaw. We were warned about the ordering process, so it was no big deal. We also indulged in steamers. Excellent. I didn't like that the wine, Barefoot Bay, cost a whopping $7 for a plastic glassful. Really?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good seafood in a casual setting. It seems popular with locals and tourists. It's set on the harbor so eating local seafood and ice cream and watching boats was a great way to start the vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very Excellent Lobster Rolls and Scallops, Best in Boothbay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I think this is our eighteenth or nineteenth year eating here (the name changed a while back but it is the same restaurant). This is the best lobster roll in Boothbay, fresh, delicate, just a touch of mayo you would swear it was caught just an hour ago. It is a very large portion of lobster meat. The scallops are also a very large portion, sweet, tender and, again, fresh. I had the lobster roll for 16.95 and the pint of scallops for the same price. The others in my party had an excellent cup of lobster chowder with a lot of meat (worth the 8.25) and grilled cheese sandwiches (four bucks each). We sat outside on the dock which has a beautiful view. The only caution is one must be wary of the seagulls. (For comparison, in my opinion, the second best lobster roll in Boothbay is at the Lobster Dock and it is almost as good, it is just that these are better. The absolute best lobster rolls I have had in Maine were from Libby's in Brunswick; see separate review.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, WI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A new favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Haddock sandwich was outstanding. We bought some fresh lobster to take home and the staff was very accomodating in helping us get set up to get them ready to pack and carry ourselves. We loved sitting, watching the harbor, drinking blueberry bear and eating some very good, reasonably priced food!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boothbay Lobster Wharf also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine

Been to Boothbay Lobster Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boothbay Lobster Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.