We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Maine Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaler's

Kaler's
48 Commercial Street, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
1.207.633.5839
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Maine Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were sent here by some of the staff at our hotel. The place is authentic Maine with lobsters on the dock in the rear. The food was very good and quickly served. The chowder is thick and full of clams and was what I needed after a cold August sunset sail! Both the lobster and the clams were well prepared.

Best tip--have a "Dan's Dark and Stormy" an excellent drink

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    113
    98
    41
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delran
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food and service good. Atmosphere is down under. We had crab dip, really outstanding. We will stop here again on our next trip to Boothbay Harbor

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice selection of lunch and dinner options- especially if you want fried foods or sandwiches. Be sure to try the desserts- lots of selections and very cheap compared to other places. The earlier the better- it can get loud and crowded later on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Kaler's - a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was skeptical at first but Kaler's is good at frying seafood without overcooking it like 90% do. It's the first seafood restaurant I've experienced where the clam strips were not just edible but pleasing. Not everything on the fried platter was exceptional but overall it was a pleasant surprise, and I am hard to please.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped at this place as it was close to where we were staying. Very friendly staff. Food was good. Good choice for families traveling to Boothbay Harbor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaler's also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Kaler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaler's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.