We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Thistle Inn to your Saves list
The Thistle Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
SE PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wife and I had a lovely 4-night stay at The Thistle Inn B&B in Boothbay Harbor, ME. Excellent, convenient location, and the inn-keepers were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Book Online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is a lovely inn, located right in the heart of Boothbay Harbor. We stayed in the Appledore Room. It was lovely -- the bed was very comfortable, and the room included a sitting area separated from the bed area by a vintage closet. The room is on the top floor of the three-story building, which means the ceilings are fairly low, but this made the room feel cozy rather than cramped. The room included a small window air-conditioner and fan, which did a decent job of circulating air and keeping the space cool.

The innkeeper was very friendly and had many useful suggestions about how to spend our days in the Boothbays. She was also able to accommodate our late arrival.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious and is served in the "library" room or on the large, leafy terrace. We didn't get to sample the dinner or happy hour in the restaurant/bar, but the room looked very inviting.

We will be happy to stay here again next time we're in the area. It's a great inn, and the rates were extremely reasonable (especially given the deliciousness of the breakfast!!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

We were so pleased with our experience at Thistle Inn. Our room was on the first floor and very convenient.The manger and owner made our experience exceptional.They treated us like friends not guests.
Do not pass up a dinner on their patio. At first you may think it noisy but they play such good dinner music you aren't bothered by it. Overall a perfect Maine B&B evening.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I just stayed here, in the Appledore room, for 4 nights. The room was fantastic, spacious, and had everything we could ask for. Being on the 3rd floor you'd think it'd be hot in early July, but we were perfectly comfortable with the A/C and fan.

Every day Jessica would ask what we'd prefer for breakfast the next day, "sweet or savory?". You could tell the food was well thought out, and prepared with extreme care. Blueberry pancakes with bacon IN the pancakes anyone? Simply delicious.

We saved the restaurant in the Inn as our "last night in Boothbay dinner". It was the BEST meal we had in Boothbay. Again, it was apparent the food was prepared with real care.

From the moment we called to let them know we'd be arriving after checkout hours, we felt well taken care of. The Owners and Innkeepers all made us feel at home from the moment we got there and offered up ideas /directions for how we should spend our time. The staff was fantastic and next time we're in Boothbay, we'll definitely be staying at the Thistle Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Having read the reviews on trip advisor we were looking forward to our stay at the Thistle inn, although when i booked our 2 night stay the alarm bells should of rung when 100% deposit was taken even though it was 5 months before our stay. On our arrival we were shown to our room on the 3rd floor up some very steep stairs, we were then ,i felt pressurized into booking a reservation at their restaurant, because we had only just arrived and had eaten at lunch we declined.As for the room , for $149 i would of expected coffee in the room and toiletries in the bathroom none were provided unlike other inns we had stayed at. The breakfast offered was orange juice and coffee, no fruit or cerial and no choice, both mornings a quiche type pastry , not to everyones liking first thing in a morning.All in all because we did'nt eat in the restaurant i felt we were made to feel uncomfortable. I would not stay at this inn again .

Room Tip: Dont book the Appledore its in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleInn, Owner at The Thistle Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try to give our guests options for breakfast and will always accommodate requests, like simple toast and blueberry jam, which I was happy to provide you. We do have cereal available (it was on the table by the coffee, tea and juice selection). We understand that everyone has different tastes for breakfast and we are happy to provide alternatives when asked.

All of our rooms are stocked with shampoo, soaps, cups, hair dryer, towels, refrigerator, Direct TV, air conditioning. We have a self-serve toiletry cabinet on the second floor if you have forgotten anything. We stock water, popcorn, candy bars down by the guide books and brochure area. I'm not sure where we missed the mark here. We do not have coffee makers in the rooms - but are happy to supply coffee in the Mary Day Room.

We never want our guests to feel pressured to dine with us. Not at all. The restaurant holds a wonderful historical character of Boothbay Harbor. There is everything from pizza/burgers with a pint of beer to a nightly specials of fresh caught halibut or salmon. We try to help our guests find their way in Boothbay Harbor and we are very sorry if this came off as pressure, it was not meant that way at all.

The Appledore and Heritage rooms are on the third floor, as indicated on our website. It is an old building for our area (1865) and the stairs are steep. There is not much we can do about that other than enjoy the history and character of the building. We do however wish we could have catered to your needs better. If we knew there were issues, we would have been happy to resolve them.

Sincerely,
Jen Ross
Owner of The Thistle Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Arrived thirsty and hungry and the Dory Pub was an oasis in the desert. Great libations poured by the owner himself, Max, and the food was really fresh and a tasty experience with our lobster spring rolls and watercress salad.
Room was very nice and had been updated, but still with a Sea Captain aura.
Breakfast was a treasure, homemade peach sour cake ( so light and yummy) and omellete of your choice of ingredients, which was perfectly made and delicious, with a side of fresh fruit. A very accomadating host is Jen, and we enjoyed all the offerings.
Donna Whitney & lyn Linz - 6/08/2011

Room Tip: stairs to 2nd and 3rd floor are steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

awesome! Zach and Jessica are amazing! The service was great. The breakfast was in some ways the best part of the day! The food was great but the company was even better! Loved this Inn!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captains home that offers 5 elegantly appointed rooms in addition to a fine dining restaurant, pub and wine store. A continental breakfast starts out your day of exploring the beautiful coast line and town of Boothbay Harbor. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thistle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.