We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Okay Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Wharf Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fisherman's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Okay Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes, the place is a bit dated but Maine is a rustic place! The room was fine but could use updating. It was, however comfortable and acceptable for a short stay. Try to get a harbor view room, it is worth the extra cost. The large boats do not run at night so there is no sleep problem.
What is to be most commended is the staff. They were all helpful and friendly and ready to make the stay wonderful. I would stay here again for the view and the staff alone. The high rating is for the amazing view and the accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room with a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    107
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Although this place is older they continue to work on upgrading to stay up with the times. LOVED our room. Staff have always been kind and accommodating. We go here every year for our anniversary and have not been disappointed. Love the central location, valet parking and just the overall friendliness of the staff. It's not the Ritz, but in our opinion, worth the stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Mass.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yearly trip for 30 yrs. Rooms are very tired and need to be updated.Only one chair to read or watch TV. It was old and very low to ground. Partner had to sit on bed, not very comfortable.Location and view of harbor cannot be beat. Will return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister wanted to stay at Fisherman's Wharf for our two-nights in Boothbay since she had been to an impressive wedding reception there several years ago. We had come by boat in the years past and always stayed at Brown's Wharf Marina on the other side of the harbor, so this was our big "car" adventure. We booked a waterfront room and the "Cabbage Island" package. I really didn't know what the Cabbage Island Package was except that it was a clambake. It turned out to be a marvelous trip to a family-owned island with a boat tour on the way out. The whole 4-hour adventure was very relaxed and the meal was served with precision. In addition to the clambake our package also included a (surprise to us) two-hour sunset b.y.o.b. sail on the boat that was docked right under our window! The waitstaff in the Inn's restaurant couldn't have been nicer. The views were great, the traditional food was good, but the decor again was dated. Our room was clean, but very simple. There was no mini-fridge in the room until we asked for one, which they found and brought to us. We had to get our own ice from the bar.

Room Tip: There are waterfront rooms v.s. waterview rooms that are set back over the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at Fisherman's for several years now and were disheartened after this year's stay for a few reasons:
1. Our king room is smaller than a 2-queen room, yet this year they were the same price- not quite sure how that is justified.
2. Our bathroom has been modernized but the room has not- too much old furniture for a small space.
3. The room next door has been updated in terms of furniture, but their bathroom is extremely out of date with a toilet so small it looks built for a child- not easy for an elderly person to use without help.
4. Last year there was a lavish buffet breakfast- this year was very limited and basically the same variety of food every day. We finally ended up going elsewhere for breakfast.
5. There used to be a complimentary harbor tour included in the price of the room, but this year, even though the room rate had increased, there was no complimentary tour.

We go to Boothbay Harbor every year, and at this point are starting to look elsewhere for our stay next summer due to the lack of consistent upgrades and constant changing of what is included in the price of the room. It is a true shame, because the location is perfect but the lack of consistency is frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the outer harbor have fantastic views- very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Fisherman 's Wharf Inn for ourselves(parents of the groom) and 2 additional rooms for family members for our son's wedding. We were very pleased overall with the setting, staff, and restaurant services. I would have rated it 5 stars except for one thing. When we arrived we were given room 231 with king bed and had been told this room was a discounted upgrade due to our son's wedding event discount and for also scheduling the rehearsal dinner at Fisherman's Wharf. This first room was a big disappointment, not only because it was totally in need of updating, with a small bathroom with tiny sink, but it had water damage with the carpet soaked in a 3X4 area right in the center of the room and musty smell throughout. (Also, this room was more expensive than the second floor double queen bed rooms my sons had which were roomy with nice views and updated in comparison.) We reported the water problem right away and the staff was very attentive, inspected the area, gave us towels to get us by temporarily until another room was made available. Later in the evening we were offered to be moved to another room. However the new room was described to us as a downgrade, not as nice as this one!! (No thanks). However, the next day Mrs. Honey, the event manager, had us moved to room 102 which was just beautiful! I can't say enough good about Mrs. Honey. She provided us with excellent service and was easy to work with in planning our rehearsal dinner event, having to do the planning long distance with no prior visit to the establishment . Everything at the event was top notch including the menu, décor, seating area near the harbor windows and service. Thank you again, Mrs. Honey for making our stay and our dinner event memorable. We certainly plan to return to Fisherman's Wharf whenever we visit Boothbay!

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The property is dated and long overdue for upgrade. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in downtown Boothbay Harbor. Valet parking is not a problem. The rooms were clean, but....mattress old, carpeting is older. water pressure in shower is best I have ever had anywhere. Wifi worked great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisherman's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Wharf Inn

Address: 22 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fisherman's Wharf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown Boothbay Harbor, the Fisherman's Wharf Inn has been a Maine summer tradition since 1946. We offer 54 guest rooms with harbor views, exquisite waterfront dining, and a central location convenient to all the harbor's shopping, dining and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fisherman's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Fisherman's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.