We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Tired rooms. Enthusiastic and accommodating staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fisherman's Wharf Inn to your Saves list
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location. Tired rooms. Enthusiastic and accommodating staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My sister wanted to stay at Fisherman's Wharf for our two-nights in Boothbay since she had been to an impressive wedding reception there several years ago. We had come by boat in the years past and always stayed at Brown's Wharf Marina on the other side of the harbor, so this was our big "car" adventure. We booked a waterfront room and the "Cabbage Island" package. I really didn't know what the Cabbage Island Package was except that it was a clambake. It turned out to be a marvelous trip to a family-owned island with a boat tour on the way out. The whole 4-hour adventure was very relaxed and the meal was served with precision. In addition to the clambake our package also included a (surprise to us) two-hour sunset b.y.o.b. sail on the boat that was docked right under our window! The waitstaff in the Inn's restaurant couldn't have been nicer. The views were great, the traditional food was good, but the decor again was dated. Our room was clean, but very simple. There was no mini-fridge in the room until we asked for one, which they found and brought to us. We had to get our own ice from the bar.

Room Tip: There are waterfront rooms v.s. waterview rooms that are set back over the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    107
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
71
149
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed at Fisherman's for several years now and were disheartened after this year's stay for a few reasons:
1. Our king room is smaller than a 2-queen room, yet this year they were the same price- not quite sure how that is justified.
2. Our bathroom has been modernized but the room has not- too much old furniture for a small space.
3. The room next door has been updated in terms of furniture, but their bathroom is extremely out of date with a toilet so small it looks built for a child- not easy for an elderly person to use without help.
4. Last year there was a lavish buffet breakfast- this year was very limited and basically the same variety of food every day. We finally ended up going elsewhere for breakfast.
5. There used to be a complimentary harbor tour included in the price of the room, but this year, even though the room rate had increased, there was no complimentary tour.

We go to Boothbay Harbor every year, and at this point are starting to look elsewhere for our stay next summer due to the lack of consistent upgrades and constant changing of what is included in the price of the room. It is a true shame, because the location is perfect but the lack of consistency is frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the outer harbor have fantastic views- very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Fisherman 's Wharf Inn for ourselves(parents of the groom) and 2 additional rooms for family members for our son's wedding. We were very pleased overall with the setting, staff, and restaurant services. I would have rated it 5 stars except for one thing. When we arrived we were given room 231 with king bed and had been told this room was a discounted upgrade due to our son's wedding event discount and for also scheduling the rehearsal dinner at Fisherman's Wharf. This first room was a big disappointment, not only because it was totally in need of updating, with a small bathroom with tiny sink, but it had water damage with the carpet soaked in a 3X4 area right in the center of the room and musty smell throughout. (Also, this room was more expensive than the second floor double queen bed rooms my sons had which were roomy with nice views and updated in comparison.) We reported the water problem right away and the staff was very attentive, inspected the area, gave us towels to get us by temporarily until another room was made available. Later in the evening we were offered to be moved to another room. However the new room was described to us as a downgrade, not as nice as this one!! (No thanks). However, the next day Mrs. Honey, the event manager, had us moved to room 102 which was just beautiful! I can't say enough good about Mrs. Honey. She provided us with excellent service and was easy to work with in planning our rehearsal dinner event, having to do the planning long distance with no prior visit to the establishment . Everything at the event was top notch including the menu, décor, seating area near the harbor windows and service. Thank you again, Mrs. Honey for making our stay and our dinner event memorable. We certainly plan to return to Fisherman's Wharf whenever we visit Boothbay!

Room Tip: Ask for updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The property is dated and long overdue for upgrade. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location in downtown Boothbay Harbor. Valet parking is not a problem. The rooms were clean, but....mattress old, carpeting is older. water pressure in shower is best I have ever had anywhere. Wifi worked great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the second floor. It is a bit like staying at an eldely aunt's house - the furniture is old and a bit worn, but it sure is clean. The view was great, right over the harbor action. Our room had a new flat screen TV in it. The location is fabulous - there was a ton of stuff to walk to so we didn't need the car after leaving it with the valet. We had drinks in the hotel restaurant - the prices were quite reasonable during happy hour. The breakfast was pretty good. Not gourmet fabulous, but certainly serviceable and convenient. The front desk staff was terrific, helping me out with getting some documents scanned and really going above and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our sister-in-law did an great job in setting up the trip itinerary and being tour director. :) She knows the area well and was able to take us on side trips on the way back to their home in Mass.The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very clean any problems were taken care of immediately. The food was good and it is a great location. We enjoyed the indoor and outdoor dining. The whale watch was great as well as the trip on the schooner Fairwind. Hopefully we can comeback at some point because we're from the midwest but enjoy New England very much. Matthews family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have to qualify my title....this is a hotel..... But there are many fabulous B&B's quite close.If mobility is a problem, this is the place to stay however. Free parking (at a premium during high season) and steps from shopping,restaurants, general store & sightseeing harbour trips.
You do pay for the location however. The rooms are huge, bathrooms very roomy but a musty smell prevails. No fridge or micro & the TV is a bit small for the room, but that's not what you're there for I hope!The rooms have been "renovated" but the tacky plastic chairs outside on the outside walkway (balcony) just didn't fit w/ the experience. Request a Harbour view room on the 2nd floor. It has an overhang in case of inclement weather & sun! Rooms 234-6 are good.
If you're adventurous seek out Travis at the Tidal Transit Kayak Co. Excellent equipment & such pleasant & knowledgeable employees. Quite reasonable prices too.
We've been tempted w/ the B&B's in the area but always end up here because of the location.

This year a buffet bfast is included (potatoes,scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes & fruit & toast) and it never varied the 4 days we were there, a bit of a dissapointment.

Room Tip: Second floor harbor view rooms 234-237. Great views and an overhang in case of inclement weather.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisherman's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Wharf Inn

Address: 22 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fisherman's Wharf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of downtown Boothbay Harbor, the Fisherman's Wharf Inn has been a Maine summer tradition since 1946. We offer 54 guest rooms with harbor views, exquisite waterfront dining, and a central location convenient to all the harbor's shopping, dining and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fisherman's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Fisherman's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Wharf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.