We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian food, personable service and ocean views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
47 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1826
207-633-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ports of Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food, personable service and ocean views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were greeted cheerfully and seated at an inside table with a view of the harbor. Our waiter, Josh, was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We began with an appetizer plate of prosciutto, salami, capicolla, goat cheese and olives, and that set the tone for the rest of the excellent meal. Each dish was beautifully presented, but unpretentious - as if a superb chef were preparing dinner for friends. This is not nose-in-the-air stuffy; the attitude is more "we're so glad you dropped in". We dined on rolled veal with sausage and porcini mushrooms in an Italian marsala reduction, and the Catch of the Day, which was branzino, boned tableside by the owner. The veal melted in your mouth and the fish was crisp on the outside, done to perfection and wonderfully flavorful. Ice cream and a lovely fruit tart finished the meal with something sweet, but light.
We visit Boothbay Harbor every summer, and it's easy to see why Ports of Italy rates #3 on Trip Advisor (with the coveted #1 spot going to the local homemade ice cream parlor).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    92
    33
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Ehhhhh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Maybe it was a bad night. All attitude from the moment we walked in and it never really got better. Owner and waiter acted like they were doing us a favor. Food was OK but couldn't get past the weird ambiance and lackluster waiter. Have had good experiences here before, but will not return. Disappointing overall, especially when you're spending that kind of money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We come to Ports every year for a special without the kids meal. Food is priced nicely, the owner is walking around checking on everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are seasoned travelers and we have eaten in numerous Italian Restaurants during our travels... This is, by a landslide, one of the very, very best we've encountered. Folks all over Boothbay had recommended the place but we figured that it would just be another "run of the mill Italian place", but boy were we wrong. Ports of Italy is a true gem in a seafood mecca, one not to be missed, and what impressed me just as much, it was not a stuffy upscale restaurant, you can feel free to "come as you are" no need to throw on the "coat and tie" if you're not in the mood. Definitely a five star establishment not to be overlooked.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Even though it seems expected to go to a seafood restaurant and have lobster while on the coast of Maine, we couldn't help notice the menu posted outside, it looked great so we went for dinner, it was wonderful and we went back again for dinner the following evening. Homemade pasta, salad with fennel and oranges, port roast with rosemary. The service was terrific. I recommend it highly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.