We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A NICE DINING EXPERIENCE BY THE BAY!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
47 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1826
207-633-1011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ports of Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A NICE DINING EXPERIENCE BY THE BAY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A delightful Italian restaurant in the middle of sea food country in Boothbay Harbor, Maine. The owner is a very friendly man who made it a point to say hello when we entered. The restaurant is well liked and respected by the locals and does a very heavy dinner service. Reservations are highly recommended. The food is good but somewhat under seasoned. The service adequate and the atmosphere charming. I personally found the food to be a bit pricey but probably quite normal for the experience in a small fishing village highly traveled by tourists. The dining experience was comfortable, enjoyable but somewhat shy on the "WOW" factor; however this establishment is highly prized by locals both verbally and in resent write ups in well respected magazines. Ask anyone on the street and they will probably recommend this establishment without reservation. Stop in for a dinner service. You won't be disappointed, but perhaps not overly impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    84
    30
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food, one of best in Booth Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We made a 6:30 res. We arrived a little early so we sat at the bar while we waited. Nice bar tender, bar seats available, we both got a glass of wine. We were seated within 15 minutes, and the bar tender nicely carried our tab to the server. Our waitress was sweet and professional. Our wooden booth was cozy and romantic, and the lighting was nice, however the drop ceiling and decor are out dated and a bit "low rent". The evoo with olives was fantastic, but I was surprised the bread wasn't heated or at least better. My husband got the "meats and cheese" to start, followed by a side of pasta and finally the pork. None of which was fantastic, but the pasta being the best. I had the caesar which was so garlicky it was all you could taste. I was totally unimpressed with the salad. We really wanted to try the gnocchi so we got a side to share. It was out of this world! For an entree I got the eggplant which was quit good, sauce was nice. No doubt the homemade pasta they do well. In comparison to other restaurants we went to in Booth Bay this was one of the best for sure. However, it wouldn't stand up to the better restaurants in Portland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Finally, a really good restaurant in Boothbay Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went with a group of five couples and were unable to find any really well rated restaurants in this beautiful seaport town, except this one. None of us had ever been there before, but decided to give it a try. This is real Italian food - not just another spaghetti joint. The service was slow but the waitress was terrific and made the meal a pleasure, despite the slowness. Among us, our favorite dishes were the Cioppino, the seafood appetizer, lobster stew and the baked salmon filet. We were all glad we could satisfy our seafood hankering, even though it was an Italian restaurant. It was crowded and loud, but we were in a festive mood and so it didn't matter.

We'll all go back there next time we're in town, for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Misleading menu description; incredibly rude and condescending service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am writing this review to highlight the incredibly rude service we received at this restaurant during our recent trip to mid-coast Maine.

Having had lobster previously on this trip, both freshly cooked live lobster and lobster rolls, we were looking forward to trying some Italian recipes. Being familiar with lobster sizes and weights, we decided to share a lobster risotto and a fettucine with chicken.

We were unsure whether to laugh or be furious at what was brought out. I am attaching a photo of the lobster risotto we received since it is worth a thousand words. According to the menu, the risotto should include a whole 1-1/4 lb lobster. We have had 1-1/4 lb lobsters previously and even after shucking it and discarding the shell, the amount of meat that came in this dish was about half a lobster, certainly nowhere near the amount of meat that would be expected from a 1-1/4 lb crustacean.

We first brought this to the attention of our server, who, unsurprisingly (since he didn't cook it), brought out first the manager and then the owner himself (an Italian gentleman who had formerly worked at a NYC pizzeria). The owner proceeded to berate us, in a very condescending manner, for not knowing that a "1-1/4 lb" lobster referred to the entire being, not the meat. Thanks, but we are very familiar with that basic culinary fact, having had freshly cooked whole lobsters, and pointed that out to him. He then told us that the lobster meat in this risotto (again, see attached photo) was, in fact, from a 1-1/4 lb specimen, that he had been cooking lobster for years and was, therefore, right. No offer to take it back or bring us a replacement dish.

And, by the way, the tiny amount of lobster in the risotto was very underwhelming and did not compare to the several other lobsters we had in Maine. I'm sure my wife's chicken fettucine tasted better, but after the owner's rude and condescending attitude towards us, we left hastily without ordering anything else, but made sure to tip our server generously since none of this was his fault.

I hate to use the term, but this restaurant is a classic "tourist trap." There is virtually no other Italian restaurant in mid-coast Maine, so this restaurant rakes it in. If you're from any big city, however, I guarantee you'll find better Italian food and service there. There is no need to seek it out in Maine. Avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevett, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once again the Ports of Italy lives up to my memories. It is consistently the best restaurant in Boothbay Harbor. Excellent service, food cooked perfectly, a great sense of hospitality, it is almost like bringing Boothbay Harbor to Italy. The food is fresh and takes advantage of local seafood while remembering its Italian origins.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ports of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.