We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but was disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn

Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn
31 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad but was disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This restaurant seems to try to present itself as a nice, semi upscale place but fails completely. The service was untrained and the food was mediocre at best. The lobster was served as though we were at a lobster pound --- 1lb in a bowl, uncracked with no sides---- which is fine if that's where we choose to dine! But we were in a "fancy" dining room with a piano player. You expect a little something more. Our server also brought us the check before even asking if we wanted dessert or coffee. Okay, I guess we are done?
It wasn't horrible but with all of the options to choose from, we would not go back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate outside next to the harbor - loved it!! Food was excellent and nice portions. Service was really good too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Restaurant had a beautiful view of the sunset over Boothbay Harbor. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient. The Lobster roil was full of meat and my wife loved the crab cakes. They had had a lovely wild Maine blueberry pie served warm with vanilla ice cream that was to die for. They had a piano bar that played very enjoyable dinner music in the background.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Evening Dining-Inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We also stayed at the Boothbay Harbor Inn, so, on our last night there we treated ourselves. Little did we know what Elegant fine dining this would be. The waiting staff catered to every one of our needs with politeness and friendliness. Hats off to Chef Patrick for the wonderful experience we had with Food, Wine and Dessert. We will never forget that Night while we looked out of the restaurant window, through the outdoor fire pit, at the Bay. I can just picture it now.How beautiful it was. What a Fantastic way to end our vacation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I only ordered seafood while I was here and it was cooked to perfection (it was never overcooked which is common for seafood). Also the choices were different and delicious. The wait staff and manager were super friendly and anxious to please.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.