We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good lobster or yankee potroast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn

Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn
31 Atlantic Ave., Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Augustine Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not good lobster or yankee potroast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I went here for a special night. It turned out to be bad for both of us. My lobsters were not very good and the slaw was almost missing. Hard to find the small amount they gave me. The potroast was way over cooked and the gravey had no flavor. My wife left hungry for some good food. We had to go somewhere else to get a follow up on the meal. Wish they would have been better on the service also. Had to get my onwn refil of water. The waitress was too busy talking with the bartender. They both seemed to be more interested in other things. For value, go to some other place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSS59, Manager at Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your restaurant experience was not up to par. Our pot roast and our lobsters are normally 2 of our most popular items, so we do apologize that your dinners were not satisfactory on this night. We appreciate the feedback regarding both the food and the service, and we hope that you may give us another try at some point in the future. We are certain we can provide a good experience another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“OK food, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Boothbay Harbor Inn and went to a late dinner at the Windows on the Harbor restuarant. The service was SLOW but friendly. The food was OK. Nothing exceptional.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rock
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was not a highlighted meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a sit down restaurant and came across this one. Our meal was ok. There was no real taste and certainly one that we would not come back for. The waitress was wonderful but the food was ok.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset view & great food taboot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here several times and I have not been disappointed. Friendly staff, soothing baby grand being played by a very talented young man, amazing views of the sun setting over the harbor, and a menu of fine food you won't find at any other location in the harbor. They have everything from lobster run down to jerk chicken skewers to Yankee pot roast and of course steamed lobster! They have a lighter fair menu that is perfect for a table shared app or add a side and make it a full dinner. The main decor of the dining room IS the harbor. The name says it all Windows on the Harbor. You've got to try it for yourself.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little known gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Many people avoid restaurants in hotels,do not avoid this one,great views and interesting menu

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.