We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, attentive service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gray's Wharf

Gray's Wharf
Pier 1, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
(207) 633-5629
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Bangor, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great view, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This was one of our favorite stops dispite the reviews. We had a corner table on the deck and our server was young but very attentive. All the food was edible, my caprese sandwich was missing basil, but that was the only thing that was wrong. The beer was cold and the view was great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    7
    1
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disrespected, endangered, and grossed out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I brought my family to this restaurant for the nice view for lunch.
Regarding the food: The lobster roll had about 1/4 of a lobster on a greasy bun, the summer salad was also lacking in lobster quantity and the lobster on the salad was slimy and perhaps bad. The pecans were not actually candied as the menu stated and it was completely flavorless.
Regarding the cost: We paid $16 for the lobster roll and the salad with lobster (each) and, when put together, they still contained less meat than one whole lobster. Very over-priced for the unflavorful food.
Regarding the service: The waitress never checked on us or asked how our food was, we waited a long time for the things we needed. She was young and horribly under-trained.
Regarding the management: While sitting outside and dining, the umbrella to our table flew out and almost hit my baby nephew in the face, had my sister not caught it in time. The manager then sat inside (while drinking at the bar) watching me struggle to grab the umbrella while it was blowing in the wind. We spoke politely to him about our food and our scare with the umbrella and the baby's face. He responded by saying "I have a problem with people who are trying to get free things." My sister excused herself after he was completely rude and patronizing stating "Well congratulations" when she told him that she caught his umbrella and stopped it from hitting her baby. He then got red in the face and raised his voice at me in the middle of the restaurant, stated that I was lying about the umbrella and speaking very rudely to me. He had been drinking and smelled of booze.
Overall experience, I was demeaned in front of the other customers after being fed a horribly lacking and flavorless meal and watching my nephew nearly take an umbrella to the face. In the end, they scrapped the salad and we still had to pay for the rest of the awful food including the gross lobster roll. We left hungry and left with a scare after being treated horribly. DO NOT EAT HERE!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy Garlic Steamers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stopped by for steamers and beer. Great spot to relax, enjoy the harbor view, and soak up the sun and ambience. Excellent wait staff. I recommend it for mid-day break.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Burnt food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

It's a shame that a restaurant with a great setting (harbour views) appears to be run by surly teenagers. The food was over cooked (burnt) and when I pointed this out the waitress used her fingers to snap my daughters chicken in two and explain how perfectly cooked it was. The broken pieces were then placed back on my daughters plate (very appetising!). So not only did we not get replacement food for the burnt stuff,but were expected to eat it after it was manhandled. My children ended up eating my pasta as it was the only dish that was edible and they were hungry. NEVER AGAIN!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great views of the harbor with a great bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a very laid back bar with a great view of the harbor & pool tables for a little extra fun. They have live music on a regular basis & serve a basic menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray's Wharf also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Gray's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.