We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay breakfast but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ebb Tide Restaurant

Ebb Tide Restaurant
43 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1826
207-633-5692
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Topsham, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Okay breakfast but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had to ask a few times to get certain items we ordered. The Eggs Benedict was only one egg on one half of the English muffin, the second half of the English muffin was plain. Most places serve on both halves of the muffin. The wrapped pad of butter was covered with the hollandaise sauce so a bit messy. The food wasn't very hot either. The waitress didn't refill coffee without being asked and we were the only customers in the restaurant so she wasn't busy. We were surprised with the lack of quality because this restaurant was recommended by the inn at which we stayed. I would try to find another breakfast option during future visits.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feel good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It gives you the feeling that you're eating something prepare with care and attention. They know how to keep good values in prices and food. Keeps you coming back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Local Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a small local casual cafe with great food. Inside are old, wooden booths. Lots of character. The service is exceptional and the staff is extremely pleasant. Fast service, clean restaurant, affordable prices, and friendly, efficient wait staff. Highly recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issue
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff but overall not as great as Fodor's says”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

OK not great. Very surprised Fodor's gave rave review and yet did not bother to review some others in the area. Food was fine but not extraordinary. Staff, however, WAS extraordinary. Server was extremely pleasant and working her tail off doing-it-all: taking all orders, serving all food, cleaning tables and working the cash register. A very tiny place. It's old, which I don't mind at all, but I do mind things being sticky. Avoid restrooms.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for day in Boothbay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stumbled onto this wonderful place by accident after parking the car right in front of it. While my mother was parking, I looked at the menu and decided we had to go in. Not only is the menu filled with all sorts of yummy food, including many main and seafood specialties, but the prices are very reasonable. Meanwhile we really enjoyed the casual atmosphere and decor, which I can only describe as like a diner except with pine paneling. I had a delicious lunch of steamed mussels and my mother had a bagel sandwich. We both had the peach shortcake, which absolutely must be tasted to be believed. I have never tasted peaches that good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebb Tide Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ebb Tide Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ebb Tide Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.