We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant

The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant
12 By-Way, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
(207) 633-0400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
APEX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Was told by a local this is her favorite restaurant and that she's enjoyed everything she's had there. After visiting this place for dinner I'm not surprised! It was difficult to choose an entree because so many looked good. I had the saffron cream lobster tail and my husband had the Maine seafood stew. Both were excellent. Waitstaff was very attentive and easily accommodated my special request (I wanted the lobster over risotto instead of with potatoes). Good selection of local beers on draft.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    238
    100
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in Boothbay Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Food, service, and location are all fantastic. The menu is filled with traditional Maine fare with lots of excellent fresh seafood options, but often with a subtle twist that makes the dish really stand out. Just one example: the crab cakes we tried were savory and fresh tasting, and would have been great on their own. But the coconut cream sauce that accompanied them really put the flavor level over the top.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner in the air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love this place. It is always the place we go for a "fancy" dinner every year while we are in Boothbay. We especially like to be on the top deck.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very good and unusual restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You can enjoy several of the different tappas or you can have a standard entre--both were very good. Actually for Boothbay, I would classify this restaurant as more upscale and the change is a little refreshing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Took me back to the 80s, in a good way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I started the meal with a Lobster bisque, that must have had at least half a lobster in the serve, and it was only a cup size serve, it was very good. The other appetiser that was ordered was a sausage sampler, (stick to seafood) the sausages were dry and let the evening down a little. We decided to share a lobster Thermidor a throwback from the 80s. It was also very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.