We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the decor when you walk in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant

The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant
12 By-Way, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538
(207) 633-0400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ansonia, CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the decor when you walk in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in we were both taken aback by the decor, being a bistro we were expecting it to be a bit more upscale but don't be fooled by this! The hostess came over and told us there is a second floor partially open to the elements and a third floor open air deck. We chose the second floor bar area. The menu is very extensive offering appetizers, tapas, and full entrees. I ordered the hangar steak with a peppercorn sauce, broccoli, and potatoes. It came exactly as prepared and was very good. The fingerling potatoes could have used a but of butter but later on I realized there was enough sauce from the steak for them. My partner had the seafood risotto and he said it was very good. We both enjoyed this place, it's very unpretentious and laid back but with great food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    249
    106
    28
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tasty and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food was really flavorful and the bartender was really helpful. The views from the roof are spectacular of the entire harbor

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Relaxing and Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A well liked restaurant in the middle of Boothbay shopping area. The third floor has rooftop dinning which allows one to easily overlook the beauty of the harbor. The food is delicious and reasonably priced in comparison to the rest of the market pricing for that area. A large variety of cuisine from seafood to steak. The salads are very delicious and worth checking out. The service is polite and the selections varied. A good dining experience that would draw me back if given the chance. You can't go wrong with this choice!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church Va
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Peach sangria to celebrate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ordered too much and ate it all anyway. Not sure I'd do the deep fried avocado on the salad again but the empanadas were good although the dough could have been a bit thinner. The tiramisu was not my favorite as it was mostly whipped cream.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sat on the top floor outside, looking out to the bay. Had many beers and some great food. Chef knows what she is doing. Spanish inspired orzo dish was wonderful. Charcuterie plate was good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine

Been to The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.